Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 02, 2015 - 10:23 p.m.
"walk wednesday"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed off to work. Today was the first day of school for a lot of districts around here and, just like every other year on the first day of school, the traffic heading to work today was TERRIBLE!

I spent the day working on random stuff. I had planned out my day pretty well but wound up doing things I hadn't planned on at all. Weird stuff just kept happening.

A lot of dues came in today which is great because, even though we were ahead of last year's numbers, I was a little nervous for some reason. More and more dues are coming in by credit card and while it sucks to lose that percentage, it's so much better for me because I don't have to entertain all of these phone calls (they use the website now) and I don't have to process AS many checks. Though, even with that, I still prefer the checks... They aren't that big of a deal. The big time consumer was the credit cards over the phone which I have managed to keep to a minimum.

Around 1:00 I went out to get gas in my car. It's much cheaper than last time. The price at the Speedway last time I got gas was 2.49, now it was 2.39 AND I get an extra $.10 off with my rewards card! Woo Hoo!

The station was really crowded when I got there and I had to wait about 2 minutes for a pump to open up. It was no big deal, but as I was leaving I noticed the Mobil station across the street was priced at 2.69! What the heck!? There was one lone car in their parking lot and I couldn't imagine why they would even be there. They probably didn't even realize that the station across the street was so much cheaper! I mean, on a 10 gallon fill-up that's a savings of $3.00 -- and with my rewards card, $4!

When I got back to work I had to work feverishly to create a program to facilitate e-mails about tournament updates. We've had a lot of problems lately with the Golf Shop not complying with the e-mail guidelines we have, not asking before sending e-mails, not showing them to us to get them proof-read. It's really a mess. I was planning to work on this in a few weeks but I just couldn't wait and started to throw together something this afternoon. I think it's ALMOST ready to use and I am really happy with how it turned out. I think what saved so much time was that I used some code I had written 6 years ago! This program fit right in with this old program and I think it will really make things work a lot more smoothly.

I left work at 5 and headed home. Dan went out to eat right after work with Jimmy. Jimmy started his new job a couple of weeks ago and, of course, is no longer part of the lunch posse! I wonder if, since he was a founding member of the posse, it was disbanded upon his departure...

Anyway, they went to Croxleys and had a great Groupon for dinner. At 6:00, my mom came over and picked me up and we went to Branchinelli's for dinner. There was a long line, as usual. I had the spaghetti and meatballs (4). This was strange -- Towards the end of the meal, my tongue felt strange. When I looked in the mirror I didn't SEE anything obvious BUT I could feel about 5 bumps in a line on the side of my tongue. I've never had that before, and we eat this food all the time, so I have no idea what it was!

It went away in about a half-hour, so I have no idea what caused it!

I got home around 7:30 and then at 8:00 we met up with Kristen for our WalkWednesday around her neighborhood. #WalkWednesday has been cancelled for next week because Dan and I will be seeing Nick Jonas in the city AND Kristen has a birthday party to attend, so we are all unavailable!

We did our walk and then headed home around 9:00. We showered up and then watched another episode of Batman before bed. It's such a weird show. I always have loved it, but watching it now, I really realize how foolish the stuff they did was, and how GREAT the people who made the show's sense of humor was! It's not one of those situations like old sitcoms where you watch them and say "how did they think this was NORMAL back in the 50s?" When this show was made in the 60s, they HAD to know EXACTLY what they were doing...and that's why it's amazing.

It was also weird because there were some random 20-something year old people in the background of one scene and Dan and I were like... Isn't it WEIRD to think that those people are now in their 70s!? Kinda scary.

And one last note on that subject -- it's one thing to be Adam West, the star of the show, and know that somewhere in the country (or world) there are probably some people watching your old show every day... but isn't it strange to be one of those random people in the background to be 70-something years old now and probably not even realize that tonight, someone watched that one episode they appeared in, and is seeing them in their 20s. Strange.

I mean, in a way it's kinda like how I was in the background of that ONE episode of Sabrina the Teenage Witch and, for all I know, that could be shown anywhere around the world in reruns or on DVD and somebody, at some random moment, could be watching ME on their TV. Odd.

Okay, enough deep thoughts for tonight.... Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com