Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 21, 2015 - 9:31 p.m.
"the NEW chris moyles show"

Hey Journal!

Well, after three long years and two long weeks it's official... The Chris Moyles Show is back! What a momentous day. You know, I take it back... It seems like these last three years have FLOWN by. I feel like it was just a few months ago that I was listening to the final show on Radio 1.

Anyway, it's BACK and I have listened to about '3/4 of today's show so far. Here are my thoughts:

First and foremost, It's amazing to have Chris Moyles back on the radio and I'm so excited to see what's coming next. I burned the first hour of the show to a CD and hopped in my car this morning and listened as I drove to work. My mouth was literally hanging open when I heard the pips and then that familiar jingle started to play. I was shocked that they were using the same jingle music but super excited by it. Of course, that turne dout not to be the case....after about 10 seconds it broke into the NEW show theme and then the show kicked off.

I have mixed feeling about that... I mean, I loved the old jingles and old music so I was really happy to hear it and a bit disappointed it's not coming back but at the same time, if they had to change it, I feel like this was a way to pay tribute to it, to acknowledge it, and to transition the show into what it is going to be now.

Of course, Dom is back and so is Pippa, the producer. I love them both and I'm so happy that they are here for the new show. At the same time, I really miss Dave, Aled, and Tina. Dave was really funny....and I think he will be hard to replace but more than him, I used to like Aled and Tina for their very different personalities to Chris. I mean, I think that's why I loved the show to begin with... they all had very unique personalities and they truly seemed like a family and somehow you got to be a part of it by listening every day.

No, I am not crazy....please don't think I'm nuts.

I don't know what to make of this new guy who also is named Dave. He may be a great guy but on some level it just feels like he doesn't belong with the people I already know.

Today's show was just a lot of getting-to-know-you type of stuff and probably more along the lines of getting to know Radio X! There were some really funny moments and I like that Chris has no idea how to work the advertisements. Meanwhile, between songs and adverts, I hope he gets to talk as much as usual. I would rather them not play ANY songs and just play the adverts to take breaks and stuff. I can listen to music anytime... I'm here for Moyles.

Then there's always a part of me that feels like what they had three years ago can't be duplicated and can't be replaced and I worry that that time and place are gone. I hope I'm not right about that... I hope it can be all that it was. The american announcer is back, and I do hope they bring back some of the old features, too. People loved what they did.

Anyway... With this new era comes an old struggle for me -- figuring out HOW to listen every day. I have to record the show and then transfer it to my phone or a CD to listen in the car and that's a bit of a hassle. I will make it work -- just like I did three years ago! Who ever thought I would be doing all this again!?

And now that I'm so into the Scott Mills Daily, I have to figure out how to share the time.

Sometimes I think I was meant to work in radio. I would so love that. I would love it so much. Not on the air -- behind the scenes. But that's -- not happening at this point.

So, back to my morning -- I got up and headed off to work and arrived at about 8:00. I went down to my office, got my papers, and then headed to the court. I got there around 9:15 and hurried in. I was supposed to be there at 9 but I knew it wouldn't be a problem because they always wait to get started.

Nassau court is very different than Suffolk and despite the dilapidated building, everything else makes so much more sense. First, they check people in as they arrive instead of making everyone wait and wait. It just makes things flow so much smoother. Then, they tell you the judgement THAT DAY! Just like Judge Judy. There's no wait for the decision to come in the mail BS!

Long story short, I was case number 24, the other guy never showed up which didn't surprise me, and I got to go up and have an "inquest." I told my story, the judge looked at the invoice, and he found in our favor! Wahoo! I can't wait to send this judgement for collections!

One of my other favorite cases of the day was a guy who whose driveway was damaged by a tow truck company. Here's why it was so crazy.... A woman who was coming to visit this man's neighbor accidentally turned into his driveway by mistake. Her car then broke down and wouldn't start. She had to call for a tow and when the truck arrived he told them he couldn't do it because his equipment would damage the man's new driveway. The woman called a second tow truck to come and this one did the job but ruined the driveway! So, he was suing the tow truck company for not paying to repair the damages! The judge was like, "This all happened because a stranger accidentally pulled into your driveway."

I was out of there by about 12:00 and I had paid the parking meter until 2:15. When I got to my car I saw a woman pull into a spot right across from me. In a move very atypical of my normal introverted personality, I went over to her car, knocked on her door, and then asked explain that I was about to leave and she could have my pre-paid spot if she liked. She was very thankful and asked me how much it had cost me because she wanted to pay me for the time. I told her not to worry about it, I just didn't want it to go to waste and was happy that someone would be able to get to use it.

That happened to Dan and I once in Germany and I think that it's such a nice thing to do. I feel like it would make my day if that happened to me and it's something so little. Plus, why should the parking lot people make all that money for double-selling spots. I'm not interested in that! So, I gave her my paid ticket and then I pulled out and she pulled into my spot. Good deed for the day sorted.

I got to work around 12:30, I think, and the day was pretty calm. I had a few phone messages and some random papers on my desk but for a Monday morning coming in late, I was pleased with the peace.

Dan's Dad and Steve were busy with Greg and the new sod so I was pretty much able to concentrate on what I needed to do and get it done.

In other news, the cardboard recycling company that we've been trying to get rid of for almost a full year is FINALLY gone. They came this sometime this weekend and picked up their dumpster! YES! Now we can finally sign a new contract with a new company that will charge is WAY less per month. Can't wait!

The day went by quickly and since I had gotten an earlier than usual start to my work day I left at 4:00.

I got home, listened to more of the Chris Moyles show and then I watched some news. Dan got home, we put the robot into the pool and then we planned to shock it tonight. I think we made a mistake in not closing the pool much earlier. Next year -- beginning of September.

Dan went to the gym, I did things around the house and watched World News which premiered today with brand new graphics. I like them for the most part -- it looks a lot more crisp and clean than the old packages. I there there are a few things that need to be tweaked but hopefully someone's responsible for that!

Dan got home and we were going to go for our walk but my throat was bothering me. I decided to take it easy. I showered up and had some chicken for dinner.

Now I am going to take the magic elixir and hopefully I'll get a night night's sleep and feel better in the morning. I can't get sick before my birthday weekend! I can't believe my birthday is Sunday, btw. Wow.

Before bed, another episode of Batman!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com