Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 17, 2015 - 10:46 p.m.
"weekend countdown" or "wireless reset"

Hey Journal!

I went to work today with the idea that it was going to be a really relaxing day. Well, at least half a day. Dan's dad was supposed to be coming in and then leaving early to go to Pennsylvania. When I got to work, it seemed like it was going to be pretty quiet, and then he called to say he wasn't going to come in at all. It REALLY looked like it was going to be a quiet day.

But then, it all got crazy again! Sitting here now, I can't even tell you why.... I just know that I had a million things going on and I was trying to juggle too much and I couldn't catch my breath all day! It's been like this all week and I need to get back to normal. It doesn't help that Re's not coming in anymore, either.

Once Steve got in, we spent a long time writing an e-mail that's going to be sent to the members tomorrow morning. Long story short, we're going to be a doing a lot of work on the golf course for the rest of the season!

For lunch today I had the steak special. It was a regular steak with some sort of peppercorn sauce.

I spent the rest of the afternoon trying to get everything done and, by about 4:45 I was ready to go! I departed and headed home and was happy to beat the traffic.

I watched the news a little before Dan got home and then after Dan left for the gym I had to reset and reconfigure our router. It was acting funky, always having a weak signal, and never showing the guest wifi network! It was weird. I tried resetting the router and loading our old settings from a backup but as soon as I reloaded the old settings the router started it's problems again.

After I reset it to factory defaults, I had to put all the settings in again. While doing that I realized that the way it was set up previously, it was preventing the Wireless N, apparently the faster router antenna, from working. Ever since we got our first router years and years ago, we've always used WEP and I never wanted to change that because it was always easier to just connect to the same wireless network ad not have to change our settings. Unfortunately, in order to fix this problem, I had to change the encryption and so I also had to go change the network settings on all of the devices we own!

First I did my phone, then the TiVo, AppleTV, and the Nest Thermostat. Later on, we had to do Dan's phone, all of the three Nest Protects, and my iMac. We still have to do the iPad and probably some other devices that we hadn't realized yet.

When Dan got back from the gym we had pizza for dinner and watched World News. After that, we took our nightly walk. Kristen was going to come join us but got stuck late at work and couldn't make it. We did 3 miles.

We got back and took a shower and then finished setting up the WiFi. It's surprisingly difficult to update the WiFi network on the Nest Protect. You have to reset the entire unit and remove it from your account, starting from scratch. Weird. I mean, I know it doesn't happen that frequently but it seems like it must happen often enough to warrant a better system!

After that we watched tonight's Wheel of Fortune. Someone I graduated from high school with was on it tonight. He was our class president. Dan saw it in the paper and alerted me that it was going to be on. He asked if I knew him and I said yes but I don't think I ever spoke to him. He was always nice, but I just never crossed paths with him.

Before bed we watched an episode of Batman. In tonight's episode they had these mechanical rats that they used little flutes to lure into the water. It was really something.

Alas, bed now!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com