Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 26, 2015 - 11:47 p.m.
"birthday-eve" or "pampas grass trimmer"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was a weird day because I woke up feeling better, and was okay for most of the morning but then I started to feel sick again a little later in the day!

We got up around 9:45 and we headed out shortly after that to get breakfast at McDonald's. I used my Watch to pay and the kid at the register had no idea what he was supposed to do to process the transaction. He must have been new because he didn't really know anything he was supposed to do!

I was kinda surprised at how many old people there were in McDonald's. Seriously everyone else in the place was elderly.

After that we went to Home Depot to get a hedge trimmer. We figured we would get a lot of use out of it with all the pampas grass we have to cut down in the yard. We got that and some grass seed. There are some thin spots and we've read that it's a good idea to overseed and now is the perfect time to do it.

Next we went over to Price Club to finally return that TFAL pan that we bought. We had bought a second one because the price went down so we had to return it and get our money back with the original receipt. While we were there we got some more of those breakfast shakes. We went over to the ghetto Target after that but we left empty handed because they didn't have any good summer clearance.

When we got home we got to work on some of the backyard work that needed to be done. We started by unboxing our new hedge trimmer and, surprisingly, having to take out four screws, attach the handles, and then put the screws back in. It seems like more work than expected to put together when purchasing a hedge trimmer. Anyway, we got that set up and then got to work.

We cut down about half of the pampas grasses in the back! It was quite the task. It started off a little rocky but after the first two bushes we figured out what to do. You just have to really go on the attack. You get under the bush and then trim the whole thing straight through..... you can't worry about it falling over or trying to do it a certain way...you just chop it off and let it fall all over.

This year, instead of bagging all this stuff (which was insane last year,) we layed rope down on the ground and then threw all the clipping on top of the rope. When we had a good amount, we tied it up into a big bail and then put it out by the curb! I was alittle worried that the town wouldn't pick it up like that but, why not?! They come around and pick up all kinds of tree branches and stuff at the curb so what's wrong with these. They're big bails and they're all neatly tied up. They come around with the big machine and just scoop them up anyway!

I was trimming one of the bushes in the back and JUST as I let my finger off the trigger, the extension cord dangled right over the blade and it happened in slow motion.... the cord got into the teeth of the trimmer and as the blade SLOWED to a stop, it chopped the extension cord! It was so close... it actually didn't finish cutting the whole way through...it was hanging by a thread!

That set us back a little because we had to go out to Home Depot to get a new cord.

I started to feel a little woozy and lightheaded as we went there. I was feeling much better this morning but then it started to hit me again in the afternoon.

When we got home, we did a little more work outside and I also trimmed some of the bushes around the pool -- especially the evergreens. They had gotten really out of shape this season... they had these weird bulges growing on the sides and so we chopped them down and made them even again!

I had to go inside after that because I really wasn't feeling well. I watched last week's episode of Girl Meets World while Dan finished up outside.

After the show I was feeling really weird.... I had a bad headache and my stomach started to hurt. I went upstairs and took a nap for about TWO HOURS! When I woke up I still wasn't feeling that great.

When I got up, we watched HTGAWM. I feel like the season premiere was good... It took me a while to remember what was going on last season and who had done what! That Bonnie is so weird. She's a little crazy.

We finished watching Season 3 of Batman and it's so strange how the show ended. I guess it wasn't really intended to be the last episode of the series and the show was cancelled. Later on we watched a couple of special features and they were pretty interesting. Then we started back at the beginning and watched the first two episodes.

Anyway, as you know TOMORROW is my 32nd birthday! Wow! Can you believe we've done this 32 times before and -- the 8th since I started writing this journal in October of 2002!

It's really weird because it totally DOESN'T feel like tomorrow should be my birthday. It doesn't even feel like it's that time of year! Maybe it's because once you hit 30 nothing really changes that much year-to-year and having another birthday just means you're getting older and older.... or maybe it's because I was sick all week and so the build-up got a little interrupted.

We're going to go out to breakfast with all of the friends tomorrow morning and then we're going out to lunch with my mom and my grandparents. Should be a fun day but it's so weird... I just don't feel like it's actually my birthday!

Meanwhile, as I'm sitting here writing this.... there's some sort of wild party going on around the corner from us. There's a house on the street around the corner and its backyard kinda backs up to ours and we can hear them having a crazy time. I wonder what's going on!! I want to go over and say hello! lol

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com