Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 30, 2015 - 10:54 p.m.
"wedding showcase" or "pool closure"

Hey Journal!

Well, it's another late night so I'm going to try to make it quick. I have an excuse for being late tonight, though.

I had completely forgotten that TONIGHT was the night, but a few weeks ago Dan had signed us up for this wedding showcase and Linda and Dan were going to attend as well. Unfortunately, Dan had this last minute work trip come up, so he was unable to attend!

I had forgotten about it completely and then Linda texted me this morning to make plans for going!

I got up this morning at 8:00 and I tried to get some extra sleep until I realized that the pool guys had already arrived to close our pool. It was raining out so I was kinda surprised that they came! It stopped while they were in the middle of it so I guess that was a good thing. I didn't want to go outside but I did want to watch to see what they did to see if we can do this next year instead of shelling out $280 again!

They disconnected the filter, blew out all the lines, plugged up all the jets. I really think we could do this, we just need a shop vac or something to blow out the lines with. I could most likely buy one for less than $280 and use it year after year so I'm sure we would save money. Putting the cover on looks really easy, too. I'd just need to get this special pole that stretches the loops over the anchors that hold them in place. I kinda need that anyway because we already open the pool ourselves and this year we used a screwdriver but I think the tool would be much more efficient!

I didn't really want to interact with the pool people so I put the money under the front mat and then Dan told the guy that it was there!

For breakfast I had my leftover food from Monday night's dinner -- Chicken Parm! It's actually all I ate today until I got home from work.

When I got to work around 10:30, it was such a quiet day. It had rained all morning and even though it had stopped by the time I got to work, the golf course was dead as could be!

I spent the ENTIRE day today working on the new reservation program for the restaurant. I really just cranked it out. It took the entire time, too. I finished it up around 3:00 but then I showed Jackie and she had a couple of features she wanted to add, so I got that set up and finished just MINUTES before 5!

In a way it kinda bothered me because when I get that intense on a programming project I get so wrapped up in it, every distraction bothers me, and I leave with a headache and feel like my entire day was gobbled up!

I mean, I'm really proud of the program, glad it's finished, and happy I was able to find such a quiet day to work on it... but there are two sides to each coin!

Nothing else happened today at work at all.

I left at 5 and headed home and I watched the news while I waited for Linda to come pick me up for our big wedding showcase extravaganza. It started at 6:30 but Linda said we didn't need to be there on time and she was running a little late anyway.

She arrived at 6:30 and we got there around 6:45. We met my mom there and then we went in to see what this thing was all about.

We walked around, tried some of the food, and just explored the place. The food we tasted wasn't really that helpful for our wedding, and all of the vendors there were photographers or DJs and we don't need that, either, so I didn't take much away from the night. I DID, however, really enjoy checking the rooms out again. We had only seen them briefly when we booked and I had forgotten the size and exactly what they looked like. I think I liked them more tonight than I had remembered.

There was this crazy lady serving mashed potatoes at the buffet... we got them when we first arrived but then later we were walking past the table and she basically screamed "MASHED POTATOES" at us! She did this about 4 more times throughout the night. She was a little intense!

I had some chocolate mousse cake which was most enjoyable and we just kinda meandered around and took in everything. I got some centerpiece ideas. We saw these glass vases with water, rocks, and fake flowers inside that looked nice. Linda inquire about price and found that they were $125 per table! INSANE! There's no way we couldn't make that same thing for less than $20 a table.

Downstairs they had a raffle for door prizes but the woman doing the raffle was a little bit of a mess. She was the party planner who Dan and I had both pictured to be some 28 year old fashionable woman. She was like a 60. She had some trouble with the raffle because after drawing a few tickets she started reading the SAME numbers over again! Whaaaaat!? It was very strange. People in the room were yelling out, "You called that number already!"

Before we left, we stopped by the table of Rev. Deb to say hello! I explained that Dan was not there because he was travelling for work and we made a little small talk. I introduced Linda and my mom. I'm glad I went over to say hello.... I wanted to but wasn't sure if I should because... you know how I am uncomfortable talking to people. I think it went well but I'm awkward so who knows!

After that we departed and checked out the limos outside on the way home. Linda dropped me off just a few minutes before 9:00 and I got inside, took a shower, and then watched tonight's World News.

It was getting a little late but I wanted to unwind a little so I watched The Middle and then I called Dan. Now I am hurrying off to bed! Maybe tomorrow I can actually get everything done and get to bed at a reasonable time. Maybe!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com