Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 12, 2015 - 10:41 p.m.
"columbus day productivity"

Hey Journal!

Happy Columbus Day! It was a happy one for me because I didn't have work and I really made the most of my day off. I slept until about 9:30 and then I got out of bed and got my day started.

I didn't watch TV or anything... I got right to cleaning up around the house. I put on this morning's Chris Moyles Show and listened to the whole thing...every link! It was really good. I could really imagine myself winning the lottery and being home every day. I would do stuff around the house while having time to listen to the entire show. It was really relaxing having the time for that today...usually I feel like I'm in a race to listen to as much of the show as possible in a very small amount of time!

So, I cleaned the kitchen, the living room, family room, and dining room. I vacuumed the floors and tried to straighten things up as much as I could. I also washed our sheets, pillowcases, and the mattress pad. When those were washed, I did the comforter.

I cleaned the upstairs bathroom and the whole bathtub is sparkling now!

I had some cereal for breakfast and I had planned to leave here around 12:00 but I was getting so much done and I wanted to wait until TCMSX was over, so I didn't actually leave until a little after 1:00.

My first stop was JC Penney. I wanted to get a white dress shirt that was the same size and style as the blue one I had gotten a couple of months ago. The app said that they had two of them in stock in my size so I got to work looking for them. Their dress shirt section is a complete disaster area and everything is thrown into giant heaps so you have to really scavenge for what you want. I wound up making my own piles so I could remember which ones I had already looked it!

I only found one of the two that were claimed to be in stock. It was already opened, but it was all I could find so I got it. The shirt was part of a "buy one, get one free" sale so I got another one in a different color. The only other color I really liked was the grey and the app said that there were three in my size. This was really hard to find. I made a huge pile of all the grey shirts I had checked and then FINALLY found one!

Last, but not least, I found this really nice checkered one that was on clearance for only $13! I really wanted it but I couldn't find my size anywhere. Again, the app claimed that one was in stock but I couldn't find it anywhere. The clearance table was even more of a mess than the regular one. I had to rummage through the whole thing and FINALLY found it.

Hey, at least I found all the things I was looking for!

When I got up to the register the guy found out that there were no tags on either of the two regularly priced ones. Luckily, I had looked them up in my app so I had the barcodes saved! I read them to him and he keyed them in. I think he really appreciated that he didn't have to go over and find them. I had a $10 off coupon but he didn't even make me show it... he just keyed it in. He always tried to give me an additional 20% off but the computer wouldn't let him! I guess it's the thought that counts?

Next I went over to Michael's to buy some more of the lanterns we're going to be using as our centerpieces. They had six of them but only three were not broken! Some had broken handles and others had broken glass! It was a mess. They're 60% off so I'm not sure that they'll be getting more in!

I got what I could, though and then headed off to my next activity of the day.

I got lunch at Wendy's in Hauppauge because I was pretty hungry by now. It was about 3:00 and I went inside, got 4 spicy nuggets and a baked potato. I also got a $50 gift card because BoA had a special to get 10% back at Wendy's. I always like to get the most for my money!

After lunch I went over to ShopRite to get some stuff for our dinner. I decided to make my famous Campbell's Chicken Casserole. Wait... is it MY famous or is it Campbell's famous? Oh well.

I got chicken and shake and bake. Wait... it is MY famous because the shake and bake on the chicken is my touch... it's not in the recipe.

For all of the other ingredients I went to Target. I had looked them up on the Target app and they were all cheaper at Target (and that's before the extra 5% RedCard savings!)

So, next up was Target... hurried over there, got what I needed, and then headed home. I got back here around 4:45 and I started making dinner.

On the way home from work, Dan stopped at Michael's in Commack to get more of the lanterns. He was able to get six. We still need one more but they had some broken ones, too.... so the selection was limited. My mom said she is going to try to get one at the Michael's in Huntington tomorrow after work.

Dinner was ready JUST as Dan got home and I made Stove Top to go with it. It turned out REALLY good. I thoroughly enjoyed it and we had a nice dinner.

After we ate we watched last night's Quantico and Homeland! Quantico is good, I like it... but tonight's episode wasn't as good as the past few. Homeland was good, but I can't believe that for any reason Saul OR Quinn would want to kill Carrie. It just hit me that maybe someone else replaced Saul's instructions... the same people who tried to kill Carrie in the explosion thing. Hmmmm!

Dan went to the gym after that and I took a shower and got ready for bed. When Dan got home we ate cookies and milk for dessert and now Dan is watching another baseball game and we're off to bed soon!

I'm sad about going to work tomorrow... I want to spend another day at home being productive. I feel like going to work makes me unproductive. At the same time, I'm glad to have had a nice three-day weekend and I feel like I was able to get a lot done today!

Oh, and I have a nice, short week to look forward to!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com