Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 24, 2015 - 1:35 a.m.
"spooky walk week 2"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed off to work. It was a quiet day in the office so, as I often find myself doing on quiet days, I started developing a new program. I got really into it. It checks our member's addresses with the USPS for validation before we send a mailing. That way, we won't get as many returned to us for stupid things like the street name being wrong or the zip code being wrong. Surprisingly, we did have a bunch of ones that weren't correct!

I spent almost the entire day working on that because one I get started on something like that, I just can't stop until it works properly. In some ways, I later find myself frustrated because, ideally, I'd like to just put it aside and come back to it another day because I've been spending so much time staring at the screen and looking at the same code over and over, but I just can't pull myself away!

For lunch I had the French Dip. I got it but Kathleen informed me that it has been taken off the menu! I don't believe it. Jackie just made up a new menu and OF COURSE something I liked was taken off. It always happens. Whenever there's something that I like, she takes it away. There was the chicken parm, the lamb lollipops, the chicken noodle soup, and now the french dip! What the heck!

Anyway, I left work at 5:00 and headed home. I had plans to go to Spooky Walk with Liz tonight and I was really looking forward to it. I had gotten a text from Re as I was driving home that said her birthday dinner would be at 7:30. I had a little meltdown because I was so confused and worried that I had gotten the date wrong and that now I had to scramble to figure out what was going on! I looked back in my texts and saw that Re had asked us to reserve Saturday for her birthday dinner...so I was so confused.

I thought I was going crazy and I was so pissed that I had double booked my plans tonight! I called Re, and she said that she was just sending the text out to let everyone know about tomorrow! Phew! Everything was fine.

At 7:15, I went over to Liz's house and she drove us out to Spooky Walk! We arrived a little after 8:00 and we got a parking spot on the road just across from that little wooded area with the pathway by the lake.

We paid, and this time was the first time that I paid by credit card! They've taken credit cards for the past few years but this was the first time I did it. She used the Square thing and, just like when we paid Voila, she had to swipe it about 10 times before it properly read it!

So, tonight there was ABSOLUTELY NO LINE to get inside. I was shocked because it seemed more crowded than last week. We just walked right up to the entrance and went inside!

Liz had told me that her sister had told her that she had heard that they had less volunteers this week and they did last week. I would definitely say that was true based on what I remember from last Saturday.

Other comparisons to last week....

It was actually a lot warmer today! Last week I had a bunch of layers on and I was still freezing. I was also using those hand warmer things and they weren't helping that much. Today I had no problem at all. I still wore a few layers but it was much more comfortable.

The little jamaican band area near the playground was there tonight, but it wasn't there last week!

There was a guy standing in a cauldron outside of Club Boogie and he wasn't there last week.

The houses were really good tonight -- I don't know why, but it might have been because it wasn't as crowded so there was more space between us and the group in front of us.

This year, as in almost every other year, Liz and I said that we really should volunteer next year! I think it would be so much fun. We just have to remember to look into it a few months in advance. Maybe I should set a reminder in my phone!

As we were walking through the woods part, I noticed that two people ahead of us was my cousin Mikey and Theresa! How random! What are the chances that we'd both be there on the same day at the same time and wind up just two people apart! I went up behind them and said, "Boo!"

We forgot to time the walk but I had checked in on Swarm just as we were starting so I looked back and did the math... it was 45 minutes.

When we left, we stopped over by the lake to look up and the stars. We were trying to figure out what all the constellations were. I had gotten this Skyview app for free from Starbucks and I JUST deleted it a few days ago since I had never used it. So, I redownloaded it and gave it a shot. After calibrating it with the moon, I was able to figure out what we were looking at.

After that, Liz and I went to Friendly's! We weren't sure where we wanted to go but as we drove past, we both said we were in the mood for Friendly's! I got the grilled cheese with chicken noodle soup! Wahoo! Both Liz and I got the Conehead for dessert!

We hung out there for a while. There were several other tables of young kids and they looked way too young to have driven there themselves but they were all alone. We were trying to figure out what the deal was.

Just before we left, Liz went to the bathroom and I was playing with my Snapchat. I was trying to see the new effects they had, and it said "Raise your eyebrows," so I was trying to make whatever was going to happen happen!

The waitress looked over at me and said, "are you doing Snapchat?" I was like "yeah...." and she said "I looked over and you were just raising your eyebrows....it was cute!" lol

After we left Friendly's we headed home. My car was at Liz's house, so we got back there and I headed home. I was a little annoyed because they closed 25A over by the fire department in St. James. How rude! I had to turn around and got back the long way.

I got home around 12:30 and watched some TV. I watched last night's Judge Judy and then just hung around for a bit. Now I'm getting ready for bed and will probably get to sleep soon.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com