Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 15, 2015 - 11:20 p.m.
"really lazy susan" or "instagram ads" or "photo fail"

Hey Journal!

As I am sitting here now writing this, my fingers are SO COLD! I feel like I'm having trouble hitting the correct keys because they are like ice cubes. THey really weird part about this is that the rest of me isn't cold at all! It's a little cool in the house but nothing extreme and my arms and my face are exposed and feel absolutely fine. What the heck is going on?!

Okay, so it took me forever to write type that last paragraph because I had to keep going back and fixing mistakes! I just got up and went to the bathroom to run my hands under hot water. It's a little better....

Anyway, I woke up and listened to the beginning of The Chris Moyles Show with Dan. He was leaving from here to go straight to the airport so he didn't have to leave as early as usual.

My day at work was good, and the biggest part of my day was setting up Instagram ads. I had tried to do this a few weeks ago and I wasn't able to because it was slowly being rolled out to users. Today, we got the green light and I had to connect our Facebook and Instagram accounts and then go through a bunch of processes to make it work.

I figure, the sooner we get on Instagram, the better. As more and more ads start creeping in there, they will be less and less effective. Hopefully we can reach some interested parties. I have everything in place to track conversions for this so I hope we see some results.

For lunch today I had two sausages. There were two different kinds...one was a normal grey-colored sausage and the other was a red colored one. Kathleen urged me to try the red one but I didn't like it. I really enjoyed the other one, so I had two of those.

I spent a little time in the afternoon making a sign for my mom. She took off from work today to finish the process of changing her name officially. She wanted me to take a photo of her and she is going to send out postcards to people to announce the big news. Dan had a great idea of using a "Hello My Name Is" sticker and Kristen suggested blowing it up and having her hold it!

It really came out nice and I mounted it on a piece of poster board to give it a nice look!

When I left work, we planned to meet at the bluff to take the photo. At first, we couldn't think of where to do it but then the idea of the bluff hit me! It was such a nice location with a beautiful backdrop. I hurried home and got my camera and we arrived at the same time.

My mom went out and I started taking some pictures. There was this WILD woman in her car... she was like this trashy lady with long hair and she was smoking. She was insane. She kept yelling things out at my mom and being super nutty. She was nice, but just nutty. My mom was laughing at the stuff she was saying and I think that made for EXCELLENT expressions on her face!

After I had taken a ton of photos there, we moved to another location as suggested by the wild woman from the car. I got some good ones, but not as good as the first ones.

We came back to try the other lens and then I realized -- I HAD NO CARD IN THE CAMERA! I couldn't believe it! I was in shock. First off, I have no idea how it took that long to realize it! I was so upset because we had taken some excellent shots and I was really looking forward to seeing how they came out. What a disaster.

It was a waste, but at the same time it was a little bit of a proof of concept. I know what I'm doing now and tomorrow we are going to meet there again, right after work, and get some more good shots. I have to make my mom laugh again, though.... who knows... maybe that lady goes there every night to watch the sun set!

When I got home I was feeling pretty bummed about my mistake. It would have been so nice to have had that all completed!

I watched the news and tried to forget about it. Linda called because she was at Michael's looking for the lanterns we need for our wedding. She couldn't find them! She even went to two stores and neither of them had them in stock. It's ridiculous because every store we went to had them BEFORE we decided to buy them and then all of a sudden they're sold out!

We'll be okay, though... we have one broken one that we can use if we can't find another good one.

Next up, I showered and then did some laundry. I had to clean a shirt to wear for work because I have only a few shirts that are long sleeved for this cooler weather. The majority of my long sleeved work-appropriate shirts are sweaters for the winter!

For dinner I made myself two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches followed by one microwave cheese sandwich. I haven't had a microwave cheese sandwich in a long time but it tasted just how I remembered. Next up, I made myself a bowl of frozen vegetables in the microwave. They came out good!

I was getting something out of the cabinet and I was really frustrated with the lazy susan! When we first moved in, it glided around with no problem but now it always gets stuck and is really hard to get it to stop exactly on or get it past the little nib that makes it stay in one place. It's hard to explain, but it's really annoying. I decided that I would be productive and solve this problem.

My first idea was to spray the little nib with WD-40. I figured maybe it had gotten tight and reducing the friction would make it move more freely. I applied the WD-40 and it did improve greatly. I would say it was about 50% better, but there were still some issues.

Upon closer examination, it looks like the two parts to the system were rubbing together. It seemed worse when there were items on the shelves because it gave it a little more weight. I took the whole contraption out of the cabinet and figure out what had to be done. I had to raise the bottom shelf by about 1/8 of an inch!

(I just went to type 1/8 and Google Docs KEPT changing it to a 1/8 symbol instead of just the text. I was pretty sure I had turned that feature off a long time ago but I went into the preferences and found that everything... 1/2,1/3,1/4,1/5, & 1/6 were turned off but for whatever reason 1/8 was still set to be replace. Sheesh!)

So, I raised the shelf and put the thing back in place. I loaded all of our goods back in and it works PERFECTLY now! It's so amazing. I had forgotten just how nice it is to actually be able to spin the lazy susan the way it was intended!

I watched the most recent episode of Girl Meets World and then I called Dan, brushed my teeth, and now here I am getting ready for bed.

Dan will be coming home tomorrow night... it's a pretty quick trip. He won't be home until late, though...so I'll be all on my own tomorrow night.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com