Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 08, 2015 - 10:54 p.m.
"marriage license"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed off to work as usual. The morning was quiet and it wasn't too busy of a day.

Dan called me around 10:00 and asked if I wanted to leave work early and he would take a half-day and we could go to get our marriage licence at Town Hall! We had actually planned to do this on Monday since I'm already off for Columbus Day but then we realized that they would be closed for the same reason!

We really have to get the monthly invoices out to the members but we've been really delayed this month because there's an error on the 18th of September and Bank of America has taken almost two weeks (and counting) to send me these check images. They promised we would have them today but I still haven't gotten them.

I did some closes, worked on some random stuff, and Steve is out of the office until next week.

I left work at 3 and surprisingly I hit traffic! I expected it to be smooth sailing at that time but I was stuck behind a really slow moving truck in Deer Park and then there was road work on Indian Head Road. Really?!

I got home at about 3:45 and as soon as I got home we got our birth certificates and headed to the Town Clerk's office. I had never been to the Town Clerk's office. It's located in Town Hall right on Main Street and although I've passed it a million times, I can't really remember ever being inside.

When we walked in, we walked right into the office and up to the counter. This woman came over and asked us what we needed and we told her we were there to get a marriage licence. She was really nice and congratulated us several times. She checked our birth certificates and driver's licences and then told us that we would go into the back of the office to meet with the clerk. It wasn't the actual "Town Clerk," but I assume she's like an assistant or something.

We had to wait a few minutes for her to get off the phone and then we got to go through the swinging door back to her area. We sat at her desk and I almost kicked the chair over as I attempted to get back there! She asked us some really basic questions like our addresses, phone numbers, and occupations. She also asked if our parents were born in the US. Then she looked at our birth certificates and entered some information into the computer. It's really weird that they print your occupation on your marriage licence. Why?!

That process took about 5 minutes and then she printed out our marriage licence! Wahoo! She put it on the table and asked us to look it over to make sure everything was correct. I scanned over it and checked for spelling and stuff and then she went up front to put the raised seal on it!

Voila! We're officially licenced to get married! She congratulated us again and then we headed out! The ladies in the front of the office were now all huddled around a computer. They looked up as we left and were all very nice. They seemed really surprised that we were done so quickly! I don't know why... I wonder what usually takes people so long! It was a really simple process.... If you have the two pieces of identification they require I can't imagine it taking any longer!

Only half-joking, I wonder if they were huddled around the computer checking to see which one of them had bet on when the next couple would come in to get a licence. If I worked there I would so start an office pool to guess when people would come in to get marriage licenses and then whoever was closest would win the prize!

So, the whole process was about ten minutes long. Realistically, their job is to check that you have presented the proper forms of identification and certify that you meet the state's requirements, then provide you with the form stating that you have.

Later, we took a photo outside of Town Hall holding our very own marriage license! Wahoo!

There's something about getting it from Smithtown Town Hall. It's so weird because we've both lived in Smithtown all of our lives and I have this intense Smithtown pride but at the same time... I don't think it really comes across in everyday life... I'm just a really big fan of our town. I know.. I'm weird.

We went to Best Buy in South Setauket and then to Target next door. We got milk and then headed home. On the way we decided to get Wendy's for dinner. We went inside and there was one person in front of us on line. When we got up to the counter they told us there was a 15 minute wait for food. WHAT? 15 minute wait at Wendy's??

We left and got a pizza instead. We went to Main Street, picked it up, and then went home.

We watched World News, ate our pizza, and then around 6:45 Kristen came to go on our neighborhood walk. I wasn't cold anywhere except for my ears! They were freezing. I wound up putting my jacket up over my ears and it was much better after that. I hate the cold weather!

Kristen and I requested a shorter walk and Dan completely ignored us. He took us on a 3.5 mile trek. It wasn't that bad but I wanted to get back because of my cold ears and Kristen had to go to the bathroom so we said let's head home, and instead of choosing the fastest path, Dan took us the most roundabout way and claimed it was the fastest!

When we arrived back at home we watched Heroes and then Scandal! We still have The Muppets and HTGAWM to catch up on!

Anyway, it's past time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com