Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 10, 2015 - 11:04 p.m.
"ikea jars" or "favor flop"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up and had an outline of a plan for our day but we weren't really sure of anything and we also didn't know what time we would be doing anything even if our outline played out!

The first order of business was to get some breakfast and we stuck with that plan pretty well. We went to Blvds in Nesconset to get some bagels. I got the egg/sausage platter. My mom was going to meet us there and get breakfast also, but then she realized that she had already eaten oatmeal earlier in the morning. (I know.... I don't really understand!) She did, however, still meet us there and gave us a coupon.

After that we came back to eat our breakfast and my mom wanted to show us the dress she picked out at Macy's for the wedding. It looks really nice and she was surprised at how quickly she found something so perfect.

My Grandpa was home but my Grandma was at church. We ate and then I tried to get some of the things done that were on my Grandma's list of things for me to do. I saw that she wanted me to pull out the refrigerator so I did that and then vacuumed behind it for her. There was a little dust and a few papers.

Then, the other items on the list needed her.... first she wanted me to fix the shelf in one of the kitchen cabinets but she had one of the little nibs that holds up the shelf and nobody knew where it was. The next item was about the printer, but my Aunt was sleeping upstairs so I couldn't get in there to check it out. Finally, she wanted to me to show her to to use the DVD player, but since she wasn't home I couldn't do that, either.

We were getting ready to leave and, for some reason, we were all standing down by the mailbox. Me, my Grandpa, Dan, and my mom. Just then, my Grandma got back from church and pulled into the driveway. Someone said something to my Grandpa about moving out of the way so she didn't hit him with the car and he said, "She wouldn't hit me with the car.... she knows where the checks come from!"

That was at about 11:45 and we were just about to leave. Now that my Grandma was home, she asked me to do the other things on her list. We did the shelf and the DVD player and then my mom had to leave to go to lunch with her old college roommate.

When my mom left, she noticed that my Aunt had woken up and departed, so now I went up and figured out the printer issue.

As I finished that, my Grandma said she wanted to talk to me/us about the wedding! Awkward!! You know I don't like confrontation and I didn't want to get into it....so I would just as well have had no conversation! I was looking for Dan but, conveniently, he was nowhere to be found!

We went into the kitchen and she started telling me how it was a very difficult decision to make and that she doesn't believe the same things we do but that she prayed about everything and that she decided to come to support us because she loves us. I mean, it was a long conversation but it started out a little awkwardly and then got better. In the end I was telling her all about the menu and the things we're planning to do, and finding a DJ and a photographer, and all that.

We talked for a while and, in the end, I think it was a good thing that we had this talk because she got to say her piece to us, but we also got to say our piece to her. We got to tell how important this is to us and why it's important and what it means for us!

I had told Linda that we would pick her up around 12:30 and we actually didn't leave until 1:00! We had to get going because I felt bad that we were going to be so late.

We got to Linda's house at about 1:45 and hung out there for about 15 minutes. Cameron had a birthday party to go to this afternoon from 2-5 and Dan took her to her party and Cameron stayed home with them.

Dan, Linda, and I went out to Ikea! Dan and I wanted to check out these little jars to get some personalized M&Ms as favors for the wedding. We were really excited about the idea and found the perfect jars! We wound up buying 96 of them and I really think they would have been great -- except we hit a little snag in our plan which I will explain later.

We did the usual Ikea tour and stopped at the cafe to get some Swedish meatballs!

After that we went to Michael's and tried to come up with some centerpiece ideas and favor ideas. Linda had a lot of good ideas but, again, we couldn't decide on anything because we have so many different things to do and we want them all to look like they go together, and it's all overwhelming! Dan likes the "rustic" look but thinks it wouldn't look good in the room that our reception is going to be in. I don't really know if I agree with that, but we looked at some candles, so candle holders, and all sorts of stuff. Now we have a million ideas swirling around in our heads but no direction!

I was getting a little wimpy at this point because we had been shopping all day and it was now after 5:00 and I was hungry and tired and the sun was shining in my eyes! lol Really wimpy.

We went to Bed, Bath, and Beyond to look for colored candles but didn't see anything that we liked. We also looked for single-color M&Ms to supplement with personalized ones... Linda thought she had seen them there, but they didn't have them anymore.

We were all pretty hungry by the time we left there so we went to Applebee's for dinner. Dan brought Connor and Cameron and we met up there! We were seated before they arrived and our waitress asked us if we wanted separate checks and we confused her so much by trying to explain how it was going to be split! Then, once they arrived Linda and I decided to get the two for $20 and so we told her to forget the separate checks -- what a disaster! lol

It was a fun time.... now that I think back on it, Connor didn't have his iPod and he was actually really well behaved. Cameron told us about her birthday party and said she had a fun time.

When we were done eating we parted ways and headed home. I was getting really tired and so was Dan! On the way back, we stopped at Target to get some M&Ms because we wanted to test out how much fit in each jar so we could see how many bags we'd need to order.

That's where the bad news comes in -- we came home with a rather large bag and it only filled two and a half jars! Using that info, we calculated how much we would need to order and then went to the website to check out the price. If we did 1/2 printed, and 1/2 plain M&Ms, the price would be over $6 per person which is not doable! BLAST!

Now, if we don't do that -- we have to return all the glass jars to Ikea! What a mess!

Dan watched some sporting events on TV for the rest of the night and I did some laundry because I was completely out of undershirts! I showered up and then we watched the Muppets in between some of the games.

I am hoping that we can get to bed soon because we're going to Relish for breakfast tomorrow morning and I want to get a good night's sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com