Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 17, 2015 - 11:58 p.m.
"spooky walk 2015" or "the giant duck"

Hey Journal!

Wow! Today was a non-stop, jam-packed day. We barely had any time to relax, although I guess that's better than having nothing to do all day. It's even better because tomorrow we have no plans at all which means we'll be able to recoup from the week all day!

This morning I woke up when my mom called me to see if we wanted to go out to breakfast. I appreciate that she wanted to take us out to breakfast but this is the second weekend recently that she's woken me up too early by calling while I'm still sleeping!

In retrospect, it was good that we got started when we did because we never would have fit in all that we wanted to do.

We met my om at Relish at 10:45 and we had to wait about 10 minutes for a table. My mom was going to get there early to put our name down but she didn't make it in time and we actually got there first. We had Tyler as our waiter today and he was very enthusiastic this morning... much more so than he has been other times when he's been our sever.

I got the usual Egg Special. It's my favorite. Dan got the special pumpkin pancakes.

When we were done eating, we headed out to the Oyster Festival in Oyster Bay. Now, back in 2008 we went to this because Dan had a free parking pass from work and it's basically a larger Smithtown Day and there isn't much for us to do there. This year, however, I had to attend to see the GIANT DUCK! Back in 2013, on World News, Diane Sawyer had reported about this giant duck that was in Hong Kong and that it would be making its way to other cities around the world. I loved it. I even tweeted about it! I said that I MUST go see it when it comes to NY.

So now, two and a half years later, I heard that it was coming to Oyster Bay! That's so random because it's been all over the world to these big cities... From Hong Kong to a bunch of major world cities and then Oyster Bay! Whatever the reasoning behind it, I knew I had to go see it in person.

We made our way there and I used Google Maps to find an alternate route around all the traffic. We made excellent time getting to the town but finding a parking spot was a little trickier. We wound up in a municipal lot and just waited for someone to leave. When they did, we snagged their spot. We walked down to the water, and there it was!

It was amazing. I loved everything about it. It was a little windy and it kept blowing forward, so we had to wait for it to tip back to get a good shot!

After we were done taking photos, we went back to the car and then headed to Lindenhurst to meet with the DJ for our wedding. We had planned to meet him at 4:00 but he called to say that we could come earlier. We got there around 2:45, I think. We met at his house and sat at his dining room table to go over everything.

He seems like a really nice guy and I got a good feeling about him. He seems like he's very happy to do whatever we want and was very clear that if there's anything we'd like him to do at the ceremony, just let him know. He offered us water and eventually we accepted. He also brought us some Entenmann's donuts which we consumed. Dan's eye started watering like crazy while we were going over everything so he kicked his son out of the bathroom so Dan could flush his eye out!

When we left, I felt very confident that he'll do a good job and I think we made a good decision going with him. We went over all the things that we need to figure out and now we can put together lists of songs we like, don't like, and we have a little more direction. Basically that's what we get every time we have a wedding meeting with any vendor... I feel like we get so much more direction.

Next we went to Michael's in Bay Shore. We were in search of more of those lanterns. We had called ahead and the person who helped us on the phone said they only had two left. One had broken glass and the other was fine. He put it on hold for us. When we walked in, I saw about 6 of them on the shelf. Most of them were broken but one was fine. So, between that one and the one he had already put on hold for us, we had the two that we needed to replace the two broken ones my mom got last week.

We got home and had a little time to kill before the next scheduled activity of the day. We tried to get some more TV shows caught up. we watched Heroes and then The Muppets. I really like Heroes this season... I just feel like I can't appreciate all of the shows that we're watching because there are so many of them, and between all the TV shows, radio shows, and planning this wedding, it's like time crunch overload.

At 6:00 we left to go to Spooky Walk with Linda! I had to break out all of my cold weather gear. This is by far the coldest it's been at Spooky Walk in several years. I remember a few years ago we were so warm! Tonight I had my long underwear under my pants and on the top I had an undershirt, a long sleeve tee, a thermal, and a hoodie. I also had my earwarmer and took two of those hand heater things for my inside my gloves!

$15 this year... I think it was the same as last year. There was a little bit of a line but not bad. It was good, but I definitely wouldn't say it was the best year ever. I liked Club Boogie, as always. The pirate area was a little weak this year.... they didn't have the cannon and they also had this giant video screen which was unnecessary. It took away from the fact that it's on the actual water and made it look cheap.

So, as I mentioned, we went with Linda and some of her friends who were visiting to go to a dress fitting for her wedding tomorrow.

It was about 45 minutes long although I forgot to time it like I usually do. I am planning to go again next weekend with Liz, so I'll have to let you know how it compares!

Afterwards, we went to Applebee's. I didn't get anything to eat but I did get two frozen strawberry margaritas. The first one was really good and the second one tasted terrible. I have no idea why! It was kinda weird. Our waitress was nice and very attentive. She was REALLY overly friendly. It wasn't a bad thing, just a thing.

We got home at 11:50 and now we're just going to watch another TV show before bed. We figured we'd catch up on Scandal!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com