Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 28, 2015 - 11:03 p.m.
"suited up"

Hey Journal!

What an unexpectedly rainy day! I dunno... maybe some people expected it but I certainly didn't! It was rainy and gross when I woke up and it's pretty much the same way out still.

Work was pretty quiet today. I guess that's the new normal. It's so much calmer than in the summer and I'm loving it right now. I had plenty of time to work on the random stuff I needed to get done and I'm trying out this new app to help me keep track of all the tasks I have to complete. I don't know if it's really a good thing to use long-term, but I'm giving it a shot.

Steve wasn't in today, so that made it even quieter. At lunch time I met Dan at this suit place on 110 called Karako. Dan found a nice-fitting suit there and wanted me to see it. I did like it but we didn't buy it because we wanted to go to the mall and see if they had anything nicer. The place is kinda weird, too... it's like a grungy run-down little warehouse-style building. The whole place is a little shady and they charge a ridiculous amount to make alterations to the suits.

I just had a thought -- If you were in the suit business and charged all this extra money to make alterations to suits people purchase, what would the incentive be to have perfect-fitting suits on the rack? They can mark the prices of the suits down but have them manufactured so that the majority of people need alterations to them. I think the better model for the consumer is that alterations should be included when you buy a suit (obviously not if you come in with an old suit or something) but if you buy a new one, you get it altered to your needs for free.

Anyway, I have too many things to do right now... I can't reform the shady suit operation.

We went back to work and I did some random stuff this afternoon. It was raining pretty hard when I went out this afternoon and then when it was time to leave at 5:00 it was POURING.

I got soaked on my walk to the car. When I got home, I watched a little bit of the news and did some laundry. Dan went to Macy's in Commack on his way home to check out the suits there. He wound up finding a really nice Calvin Klein suit there that fit him absolutely perfectly. It was about $50 more than the one he had looked at this afternoon but -- here's the kicker -- it needed NO alterations whatsoever. The shoulders fit perfectly, the pants were perfect. He would have spent AT LEAST $50 on alterations at Karakos, so it was a great deal.

But wait...there's more... He wanted a vest and they didn't have it in stock at the store. I went online, found it, they had a better sale on the suit online AND I found a better coupon...we wound up paying 1 dollar more and getting the suit, pants, and vest. So now Dan has to return the original suit back to the store, but this was a great find.

When Dan got home we went to JCPenney to get a shirt. They didn't have his size so I ordered it online to ship to the store. It's ABSURD that they charge a shipping fee for "Ship to Store." No matter, I ordered a pair of pants to put us over the threshold. ;) Weirdly, the mall did not show up as a ship-to location so it's being sent to the random JCP home store down the street.

Anyway, we came home after that and Dan went to the gym. He watched the beginning of Game 2 of the World Series there.

While Dan was at the gym I watched last night's episode of SHIELD. I wanted to wait to watch it with Dan but tomorrow we have a ton of shows to watch and I didn't want to wait any longer. It was a very very unusual episode. I mean, really, one of the strangest they've ever had. It started out a little slow but I thought it got pretty interesting as it went on. I can't believe Simmons would get close to someone else like that! What happened to Fitz Fitz Fitz! I know, I know, she was stranded on a random planet for a four months... but still!! I get that she wants to save him but I don't like the idea that she may want to be with him (instead of Fitz!)

The World Series tonight is a joke! The Mets might as well just give up and let them keep running around the bases tonight because then, MAYBE, Kansas City will have sore legs on Friday and it'll give the Mets an edge!

Oh wait... I forgot...any account of this game without express written consent of Major League Baseball is prohibited! So I'll just leave it there.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com