Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 31, 2015 - 11:54 p.m.
"halloween antics"

Hey Journal!

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

This morning Dan and I had planned to get up early, get breakfast ast BLVDs, and then go over to show the seating chart for the wedding to my Grandma to get some opinions on what to do with their really small table!

We got up at about 8:45 and got ready to go. We made it to BLVDs at about 9:15 and my mom met us there. The line was absolutely ridiculous and there's no doubt that it would have taken over 30 minutes just to place our order.

We wound up leaving because we just didn't have the time. I don't think any bagel is worth waiting that long and while I do like their bagels, there are plenty of other places around here that are just as good and you don't have to wait a million years. They need to get off their high horse and hire more help. It's kinda ridiculous.

Since Dan had to go over to his parents' house at 10:00, we went right over to show my Grandma the seating arrangements. She saw the dilemma but we think the best solution is to put my Grandma, Grandpa, my mom, and my uncle with my cousins. It will be a little bit of a big table but it's the only thing that makes sense!

At about 9:50, Dan left and I hung around. I showed my Grandma the menus and stuff for the wedding and then my mom and I went out to get breakfast at IHOP by the mall.

The host at IHOP had a prison outfit on and was wearing handcuffs. I thought, by far, he had the best costume of all the employees there and it was due, in large part, to the face that he actually had the handcuffs on both of his wrists and was working that way! When we gave our name...he wrote it on the list with both hands and he carried the menus with both hands, and it was really impressive. I feel like he really committed to his costume and I hope he won!

After that, my mom brought me home but we had to stop at Dan's parents' house on the way. See, last night we went to Target to get some Halloween candy for today but they had absolutely NOTHING left on the shelves. Not even the crappy candy! However, since Dan's parents' had already bought a bag of candy and since they were not going to be home since they went to the Mets game, they left the candy for me to pick up!

I got the bag and then my mom and I headed back here. I put the candy into a little ghost bucket and I was all set to greet some Trick-or-Treaters.

The baseball game didn't start until 8:00 but they arrived there at about 11am. It was kinda unnecessary and Dan said they were first in line for the parking lot!

My mom and I hung out for a while waiting for some trick-or-treaters to come by. We saw some groups of kids come down the street with their parents but they were all on the other side of the street!

Now, I get a little anxiety about giving out candy... I don't know why... I don't like answering the door. Last year we only got a few but Dan gave out the candy.

My mom wanted to join Facebook so I helped her set up her account. It took a while but we picked out some nice pictures for her to post and then she went through the daunting process of deciding who to add as a friend!

I kept waiting for someone to knock on the door -- in fact, we left the door open so that people would know someone was home! At one point I heard some footsteps on the porch and we jumped up, got the bucket, and I was excited to give out some candy.... but nobody ever knocked and when I got to the door, there wasn't anyone there. Then I looked down the driveway and saw the mailman walking away! Sheesh! Are you serious!?

My mom left shortly after that and I hung out here for another hour or so. Not one person came... but I kept seeing more and more kids on the other side of the street! I just don't get it!

I left here around 2:30 and headed out to Linda's to go trick-or-treating with Connor and Cameron. I met them at Linda's parents' house and then we went back to Linda's to hit their neighborhood.

Connor was at a party so in the beginning it was just Cameron. She was a vampire for Halloween and Connor was an FBII agent! (Yes, with two Is!)

One of the first houses we went to had this weird black rose sitting on the lawn and Cameron claimed it as part of her costume. Then, a few houses later was "haunted" (or just abandoned!) It had vines growing all over the front door, it looked like it was falling apart, and it had weird metal ice trays on the porch. Cameron stood on the porch holding her black rose and I got a great photo of her standing there looking creepy! It was great!

We up and down a few streets and I was surprised at how many houses had bowls of candy sitting on the porch. I know I've always seen that but not too many people do it and they bowls usually wind up empty! I was impressed they they all still had a lot of candy AND that Cameron was completely down with taking only one!

A little later on, Connor returned home and met us out on the trick-or-treating route. Cameron's friend Amber came over, too, and everyone went door to door. At one point, just Connor, me, and Dan went to a few houses because everyone else went back to use the bathroom. IT was here that we learned some really good trick-or-treating tips.

The first house Connor went to had an Amazon package on the front steps. This lesson is that you should never have packages delivered on Halloween. The next house had a newspaper sitting at the bottom of the walkway up to the house, so Connor brought it up and gave it to the guy. He thanked Connor and gave him EXTRA candy for his good deed!

The third house, Connor walked up to the door and FOUND keys hanging out of the lock! Lesson 1: Do not leave your keys in the door, especially on Halloween. Lesson 2: Connor got EXTRA candy for telling the guy his keys were in the door!

Connor kept a watchful eye out for anything that could score him some extra candy for the rest of the night and later on, he found mail in someone's mailbox, handed it to them, and then ASKED if he could have some extra candy when none was readily offered! Fair play.

One house had pumpkin buckets hanging from high up next to their porch. Nobody was home but Connor and Cameron were CONVINCED that there was candy inside but they were just too short to reach it!

Along the way I was pretty hungry and Connor kept offering me his pretzels because he doesn't like pretzels. I was happy to take them off his hands.

When we got back to the house, we sorted the candy. Connor dumped his out on the table and I asked him which was his favorite, and which was his least favorite. They were Crunch bars and Milky Ways, respectively. I put them at opposite ends of the table and asked him to line up the rest somewhere in between based on how much he liked them!

Later, Linda gave him a card which contained a $10 bill from her mom. I asked him where that went, and he put it in front of the crunch bars! Priorities.

For dinner we went to Pietro's. A Halloween tradition! I got a meatball hero. It was good, but I think I don't really like their meatballs that much... they have an odd consistency. They are good, but a little weird. I think that's why I didn't like the spaghetti with meatballs last time we went. I will make a mental note that meatballs are to be avoided there.

They had the Mets game on so we watched a little of that and then after we finished eating, I headed home. I think it was about 10:00.

I came home and washed my clothes. I needed to do a load of whites because I was out of undershirts! (I actually might not have been because I found a few mixed in with other clothes.)

I took a shower, the Mets lost, and Dan must be on his way home soon. There's probably a lot of traffic, though.

I'm gonna go to bed soon unless we watch a show when Dan gets back!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com