Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 12, 2015 - 11:52 p.m.
"bottle deposit crusade" or "no rings"

Hey Journal!

Today I had the day off from work and I slept until about 10:00. I got up and watched some TV and then did a few random things around the house. I had taken off to get things done for the wedding but it seems like everything is pretty much taken care of.

My real mission today was to get water bottles from Price Club to make the rest of our favors!

I kept putting it off because I wanted to clean up and do stuff at home but I eventually made my way there. I also brought with me some bottles to return. I had a little run-in with the lady at the customer service desk because, after handing my membership card and getting the money back for my bottles, I asked them if you needed to be a member to redeem your bottles there. Of course, I know that the legal answer is "no." I e-mailed the NY State DEC and they sent me a copy of the bottle redemption law and then explained to me that there is no provision requiring a person to be a member to redeem bottles. The woman told me, "Yes." I had a whole talk with her about how it's illegal to refuse bottle redemption to a non-member. Later on, I asked the person at the front of the lines -- She said No, but then called to clarify and spoke with the crazy woman. I talked to her again and told her that I wanted to make sure they were following the law.

Basically, she told me that their cash register can't be used without entering a member's number. I don't really believe that but if it's true that's systematic disregard for the law. Any place in NY state selling a particular bottle is required to redeem that bottle without regard to who is returning it. I don't go around advocating for things on the regular but, for example, if a homeless person collected bottles, I have no doubt he would be turned down when trying to redeem them at Costco.

So anyway, that was my fight for justice for the day.

Dan got home from work at about 6:00. He left late and I was slightly annoyed because we had so much to do tonight! We wanted to prepare our water bottles and then go out to look for rings. When he got home, we put the glue on the back of the labels and then got them all set. We put the water bottles into a nice plastic tub and we're ready to take them to the Watermill tomorrow morning.

Next we went in search of rings. Again, we had planned all along not to do rings but the other day Dan started to have second thoughts. We went to Kay Jewelers over by the mall and the guy sized our fingers. Dan was a 9.5 and I was a 6.5. I could barely get the tester thing off my finger which is another reason I hate rings. That moment of panic every time you try to take it off and it sticks at your knuckle.

I have big knuckles by the way. In comparison to finger width. It doesn't look weird, but my fingers are thin but I still need the "large" ball holes when we go bowling!

Anyway, the only rings we considered were the darker colored ones... we didn't like the shiny gold or silver. Of course, those ones can only be ordered on demand and they don't keep them in stock. They had size 10, but nothing else.

So, our next stop was Kohl's. Surprisingly they had a good variety of the type we liked but they didn't have any small enough for me.

After that, we gave up. We figured it wasn't even worth trying any more and that we would proceed with the ceremony as planned!

When we got home, Dan went to the gym and when he got back we watched Heroes, Scandal, AND HTGAWM! Thankfully we both took off from work tomorrow so we were able to stay up late to fit them all in. I hate being behind on my TV shows.

We are actually behind on Major Crimes because we don't get TNT anymore. I'll have to figure that one out soon, too!

Anyway... that's all for tonight... Only one day to go!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com