Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 16, 2015 - 10:23 p.m.
"a nice monday off"

Hey Journal!

Today we had the day off from work and woke up around 10:00. It was a beautiful day out today -- not too cold, probably the best day of the week to have the day off!

We got up and watched some TV and then went out to get bagels for breakfast. We went to Bagel Maniac and, sadly, their griddle wasn't working so I wasn't able to get eggs. :(

Next, we went to the bank to make our big wedding gift deposit. I was going to use my phone but I figured it would take too long to take pictures of that many checks! We made the deposit at the ATM so that I could keep the copy of the check images that printed out!

Just now I was looking online because I was getting worried about the fact that we didn't BOTH sign the back of our checks. I signed all the ones that were made out to me alone, Dan signed all the ones that were made out to him, and then we just randomly signed the ones that were made out to both of us!

I didn't give it a second thought until this evening and then I started looking things up online that got me scared. I think it will be alright, though, because we deposited them into our joint account. Someone in some forum mentioned that if the names match, nobody even needs to sign them. I mean, that certainly is true of checks that have been made out to me. Sometimes I just write "for deposit only" and deposit them to the account...so why would the same not be true in this situation? I don't know. I'm a little nervous about it but whatever happens -- we'll get it sorted out. (Hopefully nothing will happen!)

When we opened the cards, many checks were made out to one of us, or just "Cash." I thought that was a little strange and wondered why people wouldn't make them out to both of us. From reading online, though, I think those people actually may have been doing it to save us any trouble. It seems like if you don't have a joint account, you'd both need to sign it... BUT even worse is when the people who get married change their name and the checks are written out to their new married name but that person doesn't technically exist yet and they don't have a joint back account yet! It looks like people have nightmare stories!

After the bank it was a beautiful day out and we spent some time sitting in the parking lot watching them put the big letters up on the new "Frizzles" restaurant. We watched the guy carry a giant letter "F" up a ladder and then affix it to the building.

Nobody seems to know exactly what Frizzles is going to be. We had a discussion at the election day thing about it and the consensus is that it's a fast food burger place but the prospect that they served ice cream was also thrown around. I tried to look up the website but I had no luck there, either.

We wanted to watch Homeland right away when we got home but it was so warm out that we decided to take down our halloween lights and put up our Christmas lights! I figure we don't have many more days that are THIS nice out and even if we do, the chances that they'll fall on a weekend aren't so great and on weekdays it's dark by the time we get home!

We did the porch first and it was very frustrating because we couldn't figure out how we had done it last year. It's hard to do the lights when you want them to be the same but can't remember how you did it. The second problem was that one strand had a section that wasn't lighting up! UGH! We put them up anyway. We only did two of the three strands because we needed a break.

At about 2:00 we went to Target to look for one of those detector things that tell you which light is out in a strand. We had tried to do it manually but weren't having much luck because Dan couldn't get the bulbs out! They didn't have what we were looking for so we left empty-handed.

I feel like lately I've either been using (or misusing) hyphens a lot. I've been hyphenating things I write more than I usually do.

Next we met Dan's mom and brother at Wendy's for lunch! I had some spicy nuggets, a chicken sandwich, and a baked potato! Afterwards, Dan's mom bought us all frosty's! Mmmmm.

When we got home, we played with the lights on the porch some more! I got them to come on, so I felt very accomplished. One of the LED light's connectors was snapped off. I don't know how that could have happened since they were sitting in the basement since we took them off and the part that was broken was all the way inside the housing.

We also went out on the roof and installed the lights on the top part of the house. It's a little scary going out there but not bad. I noticed some moss was growing on the roof and I don't really like that. I don't know what you're supposed to do about it though.

Dan went to the gym after that and I tried to clean up a little around the house. We had one more strand of lights that we are going to try to put on the front bushes and part of it wasn't going on so we didn't put them up. I did the same thing, taking out the bulbs one by one and found the culprit. The same thing had happened to it and I still don't know why/how.

I talked to Linda for a while on the phone to get the whole debrief of the wedding! I wanted to know what she thought about each part and I needed another perspective because I didn't really get to experience so many parts of it!

While we were on the phone we also picked a day for Christmas in Hershey. We're gonna do December 12th. I kinda wish it was sooner but I guess that'll be good! I'm super excited to go. Linda and Dan aren't going to come so Dan and I are taking Connor and Cameron! They seem to be very excited so it should be a fun time!

Dan got home from the gym, showered up, and then I got into the shower. We watched some TV, and now it's time for bed. It's back to work tomorrow... back to my normal routine!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com