Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 18, 2015 - 10:29 p.m.
"time for a new kitchen?"

Hey Journal!

Today was a much quieter day at work than yesterday. I spent some time getting caught up on work-related stuff and also had a few minutes to get my own things taken care of.

Dan's Dad was in only for a little while today and then went out to play golf in the afternoon. You know, I think the amount of work I get done in the office is directly linked to how much time he's out of the office for the day.

For lunch I had the steak sandwich and then I left at 4:30 because I wanted to stop at home Depot on the way home to get some stuff to clean our roof. While we were up on the roof on Monday setting up the Christmas lights, I noticed a lot of moss starting to grow on the shingles on the front of the house.

I read a bunch of articles online and there are some chemicals that are supposed to help remove it. I also now think that those weird black streaks on our roof are some kind of algae and not just a result of water flowing from the gutters and discoloring it. So, the remedy seems to be to spray a mixture of baking soda and water out onto the roof to raise the pH of the moss and kill it and also use this other spray from Home Depot to take care of the discolored areas.

We've already turned off the water outside so I am reluctant to turn it back on again. I did, however, buy a little adapter in Home Dept so that we can hook our garden hose up to the showerhead! So now I just have to set that all up and spray it all down. Of course, it was dark by the time I got home and we had a bunch of stuff to do tonight...so this will likely be a weekend project.

When I got home from work I started cleaning up the house. Dan got home shortly after me and helped with that before going to the gym. We had Neil, our husband of the woman I worked at the election with, coming over at 8:00 to give us some ideas for our kitchen and wanted the place to look presentable.

Dan went to the gym and I finished cleaning up and then watched World News. Dan got back from the gym around 7:20 and jumped in the shower and then Neil called me at 7:30! He said he was running early and was outside of our house! Yikes!

I asked him to give us about 5 minutes and Dan jumped out of the shower and got dressed quickly! I opened the front door -- the universal sign for "we're ready now!"

Neil was really nice and he came in, sized up the situation, and mentioned a couple of things he could do to redesign the kitchen. We told him what we were looking for, showed him our homeless refrigerator, and explained why we have it sitting in the middle of the kitchen. We said we wanted to get some more cabinet and counterspace and I felt like he really understood what we were looking to do!

We talked for a while and then he took some measurements and said he will draw up a plan and get us an estimate. I honestly have no idea what to expect and no idea what this is going to cost! I'm a little scared because he said he has to gut the kitchen down to the studs and then redo all the electrical work inside and basically do EVERYTHING from scratch. That just sounds expensive.

I also asked Dan, later in the evening, how much money he/we were willing to spend to redo the kitchen period. Like, regardless of what he comes back with, and regardless of if his price is a great deal for what has to be done.... how much money are we comfortable spending to have a new kitchen? What's our budget. We weren't really able to answer that so... I don't know.

Neil left around 9:00 and I went upstairs to take a shower. Dan started making some Mac and Cheese for dinner and when I was done I helped him finish it up. We watched tonight's episode of The Middle while we ate. It was that Thanksgiving episode.... I liked it a lot!

Then we watched last week's Major Crimes. I finally came up with a way to stream it from the TNT website to the Chromecast! We still had to endure the commercials but it was much better than trying to use AirPlay and having it mess up all the time!

Anyway, now it's time for bed! Very happy I have a four-day week this week and then a three day week next week! Wahoo! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com