Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 06, 2015 - 10:45 p.m.
"water line" or "decorating the tree"

Hey Journal!

This morning Dan got up at 9:30 because his mom and dad asked to come over to help them with their pool cover. For some unexplained reason the pool cover came undone a few days ago and needed to be fixed. The red cord thing that holds it into place was still locked and tightened so it's really confusing how that could even happen!

Anyway, I was still sleeping but woke up a little before 10:00. I finished moving the frozen stuff from our old freezer to the new one. Weirdly, even though I had left the old freezer turned on, I had turned OFF the refrigerator. That must have had some effect on the freezer because the few remaining items were starting to defrost. I only had a couple of turkey burgers and some frozen broccoli in there, but they were getting soft. Since the turkey burgers were already defrosting I decided to cook them today so there would be no problem.

I watched a little Judge Judy and then when Dan got home from his parents' house he went outside to rake the leaves in the backyard. I worked on the refrigerator situation and wanted to hook the water up to the new fridge. We didn't REALLY care about the water spigot thing but we did want the ice maker. We didn't want to have to make our own ice! It's so nice not have to think about that and always have ice ready and waiting.

I pulled out the old fridge and inspected the hookup. They way it was set up was great because I hate putting compression nuts on copper pipe. At the end of the copper they had already put the compression thing and then had a threaded hookup for a plastic hose. I loved it. I was hoping to just disconnect the end from the old fridge and hook it up to the new one but I couldn't because the plastic one was either directly connected to the old fridge or it was too far in for me to reach.

While Dan was still raking, I went out to Home Depot to get a new one. They had two kinds... one was a 6ft small little plastic tube (just like the one that was currently used in the old fridge) or a thicker, braided one that was 10ft. I liked the look of the smaller one better but I got both because I wanted to ask Dan his opinion. They were both about $10 and only a $.20 difference between them.

I got home and Dan was in the shower so when he got out I showed him the hoses and he thought we should use the longer, thicker one. The connections seemed more reliable and easier to install and the only benefit of the other one was that it looked sleeker but the 10 foot one was probably the better choice.

I went in the basement to find the fridge line and shut it off. It was easy to find but when I screwed it in to close it, water started spurting out from the fitting. Yikes! I'm sure it's not supposed to do that and I suppose we should have that looked at in the future. Since I didn't want water going all over the place in the basement I just turned off all of the water to the house.

We opened the sink faucet in the bathroom and the kitchen and let the water drain out and then we connected the new hose to both ends. We turned the water back on and everything worked perfectly.

We followed the directions and ran about three quarts of water through the refrigerator and dumped it out in the sink. Then we calibrated the water dispenser so it would dispense the correct amount of water. It's pretty cool... you can set it to dispense any amount of water in ounces, cups, and liters! I guess that could come in handy when you have recipes and you don't want to use a measuring cup -- the only thing that makes it not such a big deal is that if you were going to just use a measuring cup for water -- I'd just use it and put it back in the cabinet. It's not really saving me any trouble.

We turned on the ice machine and it started to make the first batch. The instructions say to discard the first three batches so we'll be doing that tomorrow.

Next we watched some TV.... Dan had recorded some parade in Chicago and it was TERRIBLE! We watched it briefly but wound up fast forwarding through it. It was so bad. No wonder they put it on in the middle of the afternoon on a Sunday!

After that we went back out to Home Depot to return the water line we didn't use and then purchased a larger sized P-clamp. The line has to be attached to the back of the refrigerator and the one that came with it is for the smaller sized one.

On the way there, Dan's cousin Alana called to talk to him about her plans to move to New York for a couple of months to take care of Dan's Grandma. She's currently living in Israel but planning to move in with her to help her get back on her feet and used to living on her own again. I think the plan was for her to be someone else in the house with her, someone to keep an eye out for her and to keep her company. Alana seems to want to really revamp her lifestyle and whip her into shape, changing her diet, her routine, and everything. I think there may be a little friction in this situation but luckily it doesn't involve Dan!

We finished up at Home Depot and then went to Target. This week they are having a great sale on the iPhone 6! We had been waiting for the price to drop for Dan to get his new phone and now looks like the perfect time. The 16GB is .01! Literally 1 cent! The 64GB is listed as 99.99 and that's the one Dan wanted. They didn't have it in stock at ANY of the Targets on Long Island.

We thought for a minute that they may have had it at the Sayville Target so we hurried over there but it turned out that they didn't. No worries, though... we did all of our shopping while we were there. I saw HB at the register while we were checking out but we were on a really long line and he was just finishing up so I didn't want to go running over!

Sadly the cell phone mission was unsuccessful but Dan thinks he will go back later in the week and get the 16GB. It's just too good of a deal to pass up!

When we got home we put away our items and then got to work decorating our tree! The first order of business was to get the lights on. Dan had done it last year but he refused to do it this year. He said it was too hard, so I did it! I think I did a good job and I tried to put them a little farther into the tree to make it look full! I think, as I went on, I realized we had more than enough lights so I went a little heaver. It came out great...don't get me wrong... but if I was going to do it over again I'd start heavier because the top always looks heavier anyway since the lights cover a smaller area but when I started I wasn't sure how much we would have and then there was no way I was taking it all off and starting again!

We started decorating around 6:30 and before we took out the ornaments and stuff I made some two cups of hot chocolate for us! :) We put on the Christmas music and got to work! I love decorating for Christmas...the most exciting thing is opening all the boxes of decorations and ornaments and remembering all of the things you have that you've forgotten over the past year!

I love all of my decorations and - weirdly, if you asked me the day before we did the tree to try to list all of the ornaments I have... I'm sure I could get many of my top favorites but I bet there would be a lot I missed! Next year I want to try that.

Anyway, we finished at about 8:15 and we took a step back to admire our work! The tree looked really nice and I think we did an excellent job, if I do say so myself!

There was a presidential address on tonight at 8:00 so that interrupted Once Upon a Time! I was wondering what they were going to do but just before the address they announced that they would show all of Once Upon a Time, B&O, and Quantico after the ABC News Special Report.

As a result it was all pushed back by 15 minutes. We knew we wouldn't be able to fit the whole thing in tonight so we recorded the news as well so we could catch the overage!

I took a quick shower and then we watched Once Upon a Time. It was the "Winter Finale." Ugh... You know how much I hate that phrase and all it stands for!

Alas, after it was over we watched Homeland and then we decided to call it a night. It would have been too late to watch the other two shows. We're saving them for tomorrow.

Now we're off to bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com