Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 06, 2015 - 1:54 a.m.
"christmas tree" or "spectre"

Hey Journal!

This morning Dan and I had planned to get up at about 9:30 to bring my car for its 15,000 mile checkup and to go out to breakfast with Kristen. I got up earlier, though, so I went downstairs and started moving some of the food from the old refrigerator to the new refrigerator.

We had a thermometer in our old refrigerator and I moved it over to the new one to see when it was ready! I got a log of stuff moved over and we did some more later in the afternoon.

When Dan got up around 9:30, we got ready and then went to the Toyota place to drop off my car. I was expecting it to be pretty quick -- just go in, give my keys, and leave, however that was not the case. There was this one guy checking in everyone's cars and then two ladies sitting at the counter. Only one of them was actually helping people, though. That wasn't really that big of a deal, though, because before you went to the counter, the guy had to give you the slip with your car's mileage and everything on it and he was so slow. He looked like he was hustling and trying to get things done quickly but he was failing at it!

Anyway, I got the car checked in and we left to go pick up Kristen! We had decided to go to the bagel place to visit Norm but we were all going through Relish withdrawal! We really really wanted to go to Relish but we hadn't seen Norm since the wedding so we figured we would go there and show our faces!

We arrived just as he was starting his break and the line was so ridiculously long. I can't understand why that bagel place has such a long line. It makes no sense. It's even worse than BLVD's line!

Anyway, we got our food and had a nice breakfast. I always feel hungry after getting my egg/bagel platter so this time I also got French Toast sticks! They were really good, actually.

We listened to some of Norm's songs and then we departed. Dan and I had a ton of things to get done today so we needed to get started as soon as possible!

We dropped Kristen off at her apartment and then we went to Home Depot to pick out a Christmas Tree. It was soooo warm out that it was really nice not to be bundled up trying to find a tree in the freezing cold! We looked at a few and opened up one. The one we opened looked like the perfect shape and, really, you can make any tree work!

We brought it over to the guy to cut the bottom and wrap it back up for us. He suggested taking some branches off of the bottom of the tree and we told him to go ahead. In retrospect, I think he should have left them and let us decide if we wanted to cut them off when we got home because, for the second year in a row, our tree looks really high from the floor. We're going to fill the space with our fake presents again!

So, once we had the tree we loaded it onto the roof of the car and a guy from Home Depot helped us tie it up. He was really nice and did a good job.

When we got home we brought it inside, still wrapped up, and put it into the stand. It was actually a pretty smooth process. We didn't have any problems at all! We watered it right away with some boiling water and then I cut the plastic wrapping off of it and we left it to settle.

It drank a lot of water in the first few hours. I measured it right when we put the water in and then again later this evening and it's gone down quite a bit!

Dan went outside to rake the front yard and I did some stuff inside. I think I did more with the refrigerator and then I watched an episode of Judge Judy.

I showered up and then at about 3:30 we left to go pick up my car. As I mentioned, it was just in for its 15,000 mile checkup and it was free! Wahoo. I have two more free ones before they start charging me up the wazoo! Luckily I have "Free Inspections 4Life" to help offset the cost! Yes, it says 4Life on the paperwork.

After picking up the car, Dan and I had to return some stuff at American Eagle so we were going to park my car in the medical office parking lot across the street and take Dan's car. When we got there, Dan realized he was low on gas, so we took my car instead.

We got to the mall and found an excellent parking spot and just as we pulled into the spot I realized that Dan had left the bag of things to return IN HIS CAR! Ahhhhhh. So, we had to go back. As we were leaving, Re called me and was telling me all of the crazy stuff that has happened with her bedbug situation. She said that she went back to the apartment today and found tons of dead ones all over the place so whatever the woman did worked! She said that she is contemplating breaking her lease and getting out of there. It's really sad but I can totally see why she would feel like that!

When we got back to the mall, we went to American Eagle and I tried on the XS of the sweaters I had recently purchased online. When I got them, I figured the small would be good and even though they fit nicely when I tried them on, it seemed like there might be a little extra material. I was planning to do an exchange but they didn't have the exact same styles in the store. Of course. So, I tried on a different sweater in XS and S to compare them. The XS was much better so now I'm going to re-order from the website and then return the smalls after the new ones arrive!

When we were done, we went to Panera to get something to hold us over until we had pizza with Julio later. While Dan was out raking, Julio called and asked us if we wanted to go to the movies tonight to see Spectre. We planned to get pizza, hang out, and then go to the movies.

So, when we were done at Panera we went to Target in Commack. We walked around and then we got some candy to bring with us to the movies. I got Raisinettes, Dan got Sour Patch Kids, and Julio said he wanted Sweedish Fish!

On the way home from Target we stopped to get gas. We had both of our cars and we had saved up enough rewards points to get .50 off per gallon! It was very exciting. We wanted to make the most of it so we both went at the same time. We pulled our cars up to the pump so that you could reach both of them with the hose. We wanted to get the max benefit! So, we wound up putting in just over 17 gallons combined so we saved about $8.50.

We got home and did a little more Christmas decorating. I wanted to finish putting out most of the decorations and then tomorrow we can do the lights and the ornaments!

Julio came over a little after 8:00 and Dan went out to get the pizza just before he arrived. Dan got back exactly as Julio was pulling up so it was perfect timing. We ate our pizza and hung out for a while and then I helped Julio wrap his presents for his mom, sister, and niece. He had gone shopping this afternoon and claimed not to be good at wrapping. I told him I'm a fairly good gift wrapper so I volunteered my skills to help him! He brought over wrapping paper and stuff and I got to work!

He also had some gift boxes but they were really bad! They were nice... but there was some sort of defect -- when you tried to open them they ripped in the corners! I did it first and just taped it back together. I didn't say anything about it, and then like 2 minutes later Julio ripped another one! Woops! It wasn't bad though, we just had to tape the corners to make it work.

At about 9:30 we left to go to the movie. The movie time was 10:30. We weren't sure which theater we wanted to go to -- Deer Park or Ronkonkoma. I had heard that Ronkonkoma was recently renovated and that the seats were amazing. We decided on Ronkonkoma because I wanted to see what it was like and also because we figured it would be less crowded if there was even a chance that it would be sold out.

On the way to the theater I drove with Julio and these was this stupid car driving down Main Street with a personalized plate that said MEALPLAN! It was absurd. They were driving like a fool and Julio was so annoyed by them! When we got to the movies, Dan was talking about them, too.

Dan and I had our Regal gift certificates and for some reason there was a 1.50 surcharge so we had to pay $3. I guess that's not too bad. Those were the last two tickets we had left. We had won a package of movie tickets at one of Dan's work holiday parties several years ago and there were a bunch of free tickets to AMC and Regal! We haven't paid for a movie in soooo long! (I just looked it up -- he won them in 2010! We got five years worth of free movies! Not bad at all!)

So, we got into the movie theater and I was not expecting these kind of seats! They were huge reclining chairs that are controlled by a button to make them recline! It was wild. We were really impressed. There are a lot less seats though in each row so I'm not sure how they make as much money. I mean, maybe the $1.50 per seat surcharge offsets that.

I haven't seen a James Bond movie in a long time and to be honest I can't even remember the last one I saw although I think I have seen one before. It may have been on TV years and years ago so it may have been an older one. Anyway, the movie was good -- I enjoyed it, but it's so ridiculous at the same time. I mean, the helicopter stuff, him flying the plane chasing those cars... it was absurd! I did like it, though!

A few times during the movie I started to doze off! I had to fight to keep my eyes open but it came in waves. I'd be wide awake and then it would hit me again!

We had a fun night and the movie was over around 1:30. We headed home after that and now we're going to watch another segment of Shark Tank before bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com