Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 04, 2015 - 11:35 p.m.
"copier craziness" or "two for one margaritas"

Hey Journal!

HAPPY FRIDAY!

Today was a really quiet day in the office. Steve went to Bermuda for the weekend and Dan's dad went hunting and even Dan's mom decided not to come in today so I really had the place to myself.

I started the day by working on that VOIP unit. I had gotten new configuration files from the manufacturer to try out but they didn't really do anything different than the original files. I was trying to get the remote unite to power the system phones and the guy said it was possible but now I'm getting conflicting information.

Basically, the rest of the day was spent on the copy machine. I'm still going back and forth over which one to get when our current lease ends! It's so crazy. At about 10:45 I went over to visit Dan at work and he showed me the copier I'm thinking of getting so I could try it out.

What a crazy experience. Dan added me to the visitor's log and when I got to the front gate I told the guy that I had a 10:45 appointment. He asked me for my licence, I gave it to him, and then he went back into his little booth to check to make sure I was on the list. After that he came out to write down my licence plate number. Really!? I mean, I'm all for security but isn't that a little excessive. I mean, I have an appointment -- for what reason do they need to keep a log of licence plates, too!

Anyway, I got in and I parked in the visitor parking lot. I got the closest spot to the building because I parked in the "Hybrid/Alternative Fuel Vehicle" reserved spot! Yesssss!

When I walked through the big glass doors, I walked into the vast empty lobby. On the complete opposite side were three receptionist girls who were all super-friendly but it was so awkward because it was just me walking towards them in this giant open space!

They looked me up, needed my licence again, of course, and then alerted Dan that I had arrived. They gave me a guest pass and then sent me to the waiting area. The waiting area had a TV, some refreshments, and a guard who just stood in the hallway with his back to me the whole time. What a weird job that must be. Stand there all day long and don't really do anything at all.

I sat and waited for Dan and when he came we went to the showroom to see my prospective copy machine. We were between two and I tried both. I decided to focus on the one Dan had recommended. I really liked the look of it and the interface is great, too.

Dan showed me all of the feature and cool stuff that it does and then, just before I left, I got the idea to try a little test. Dan printed out a fake real estate brochure thing as a sample and I took some of the paper they had (because it was a little glossy) back to work with me to print the same thing. I also printed out our golf outings flyer from the website.

I was there for about 45 minutes playing with all the features of the machine and trying out different stuff.

When I got back to work the rest of the day went by very quickly. The first thing I did was print the outings flyer AND the real estate brochure on our current printer. I took both samples upstairs with me and asked for Jackie, Kathleen, and Elvis to pick their favorites. I asked them to compare the colors, the clarity, and sharpness of the pictures, and also the text.

Everyone picked our current copy machine over the one we were considering. Yikes!! The whole reason I did the test was because I was having that same feeling but having three more people compare it really really solidified it for me! Now I'm thinking we may not be making the switch afterall.

With that in mind, I e-mailed the guy who had given us the original quote and told him what had been happening. I told him that we had looked into another place and that they had much better pricing. I said that I'd like to continue with them but they would need to really come down in price to be more in line with the other ones! It's not a bad position to be in -- even if we don't switch to Dan's copy machine, we can still use this whole situation to our advantage. If they can't do anything -- at least we tried... but I'm sure we'll get something out of this.

I spent a little time in the afternoon working on some CPC stuff. I had a bunch of contracts that had been returned so I figured it would be good to get them processed and sent over to the cemetery. This way when they all start calling to ask where their deeds are, I can blame someone else!

I left work at 5:00 and headed home. Dan went right to the gym and we had plans to go to Chili's for dinner with Kristen. When Dan got home, he showered up and then Kristen arrived at 7:30 to pick us up. We went to the Chili's in Northport and they had about a 20 minute wait so we decided to kill some time by walking over to Barnes and Noble.

We went to peruse the books and I checked out this one about "Dan and Phil" who I only know from hearing on Radio 1. It was a very strange book but I liked it.

Kristen purchased "If You Give a Moose a Muffin" and there were a bunch of Nuns roaming the store. They were in full garb....dressed like Mother Superior! I loved it. At first I only saw one on the line and then I saw that there were two, and later we saw two more! It must have been a field trip from the convent!

Some girl who was on line came over and took a shameless photo of them! She held her phone up so sneakily but it was obvious that she was talking a picture! Dan and Kristen decided to just go for it. Kristen soot there holding her book and Dan snapped a picture of her with the nuns in the background!

We took a walk over to Sears but then Dan got a text that our table was ready! We hurried back over to Chili's and we were really really hungry!

I got the original chicken crispers, as usual. They were good and I liked the mashed potatoes and corn on the cob, too. Kristen was not happy with the food but I don't think it was as bad as she was making it out to be! We also got our standard frozen margaritas!!

We had a fun time and got home around 11:15 or so. I wasn't feeling that tired while we were out but as soon as we got home I was EXHAUSTED!

I could barely keep my eyes open but Dan wanted to watch a little of tonight's Shark Tank. We're going to watch one or two segments and then we're off to bed!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com