Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 30, 2015 - 11:04 p.m.
"kitchen stick shock" or "major crimes language"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed off to work. It was nice to be back after a long weekend. I was dreading coming in to find things piled all over my desk and a million phone message but that wasn't the case.

I don't know why there weren't more phone messages but I'm glad about that. As far as the reason there wasn't a bunch of crap on my desk.... that's probably because Dan's dad was off too. He tends to write me a million notes and stuff!

Steve didn't come in today... we don't know why... he didn't say he wasn't coming but as the day went on we figured he was a no show!

Aside from being closed it was an unusually slow day in the office. I was really thankful for that because I had a lot of things to catch up on from last week and a lot of things I needed to do for myself and I was dreading it. This worked out perfectly and I had the whole day to get things done.

For lunch Dan's dad made us omelettes. Mine was plain, of course, but it came out very nice!

We decided to leave a little early today since it was so quiet. I wrapped things up and departed a little before 4:00.

When I got home from work I brought in the mail and I was very happy to see that my check from the Board of Elections had arrived! Wahoo! It was totally worth it to make almost $250!

When Dan got home from work he got changed and then headed off to the gym. I watched the news and tonight was the annual tree lighting in Lincoln Center. It's so weird because that event really means nothing to me and I don't know much about it at all but it's on the news every year and while I try to watch the news every night, I do miss it sometimes but every year I seem to catch this event!

It's weird because, like I said, I'm not anticipating this or specifically watching for it but as I was sitting there watching it tonight I was thinking of how quickly time seems to have flown since last year and the year before! I can vividly remember getting home from work, sitting down watching the news, and seeing Sade flip the switch to light this tree right across from the Eyewitness News studio.

And that bring me to another story... tonight the tree didn't light! She did the countdown and then NOTHING happened! There was a little window of time until the awkwardness set in but when the tree STILL didn't light she styled it out! Oops! I guess out of all the years I've seen it I've never seen THAT. Keeping it fresh! lol

Anyway, Dan got home from the gym around 7:00 and showered up to be ready for when Neil came over at 7:30. He had drawn up plans for our kitchen and wanted to present them to us (along with the estimate!)

He showed us some samples of cabinet colors and wood types. We found a nice color that we liked and we were very excited to see what his plan was. He had drawn up a really nice idea for the kitchen. Lots of counter space, moving the stove to the other side of the room, more cabinets, a new floor, new lighting.... it was cool!

He likes to talk so we were hanging around for a little bit hearing about some of the other projects we he was working on and then it was time to get to the monies!

He took out his little rough estimate and when I saw the number I almost passed out. Over $45,000! I don't know where we would get the money for that so.... after I regained consciousness we just told him we would figure out our finances and get back to him. Unfortunately, our beautiful kitchen looks like it will remain a drawing on his paper. It would be nice, but it would also be a ridiculous financial burden!

After he left, I took a shower and then we got ready to watch our TV shows. We started with last night's Quantico and then watched Major Crimes!

So, between tonight and last week's episodes I noticed something new.... they are CURSING now! They said "asshole" on last week's show and "shit" and "bullshit" tonight! It wouldn't have been shocking if it wasn't for the fact that I've never heard them curse on this show before! Maybe it's because they're competing with all of those other cable shows and they want to seem a little more edgy!

Anyway, tonight's episode was enjoyable and after it was over I went downstairs to finish up Dan's laundry that I had started earlier. I put it in the washing machine while Dan was at the gym but I forgot to put it into the dryer when it was done. I quickly sorted it out and put some stuff on the drying racks and the rest into the dryer!

Now it's time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com