Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 18, 2015 - 10:02 p.m.
"dentist day"

Hey Journal!

This morning I was excited because I got to sleep a little later than usual! Instead of getting up at 8, I got up at 9! I watched a little TV and ate some leftover stew for breakfast. I was really hungry for some reason!

I brushed my teeth really well for my dentist appointment and then I headed out around 9:40. My appointment was at 10:00 and I got there a few minutes early. The office was on 111 over by the Wendy's. I thought that it was in the same building that my doctor used to be in when I was little but it turns out it's not.

Sad face... I was kinda looking forward to going back in there. I always remember that his office was on the top floor and we always took the stairs because my mom never wanted to take the elevator.

Anyway, I checked in and the lady at the front desk was really nice. She was friendly and fun and stuff. She asked me to fill out a bunch of papers and I always think it's so crazy how they have a list of a ton of ailments you could have! I never check any of them, thankfully! Then, when they review it, they check to make sure I didn't skip or miss that section! I have the explain that I don't take any medications or anything!

When they called me in, I went to this room at the end of a long hallway. The girl told me to sit in the chair and she was going to do the cleaning. She was the hygienist. She was really nice, too, and said that the doctor "is a really great guy." I guess that's a nice thing to say but it was so random. I don't know why she said it, and it sounded a little creepy!

The doctor, I actually didn't see him for more than about 5 minutes. He only came in quickly to look at my x-rays and talk to me briefly at the end.

The hygienist girl started by taking the aforementioned x-rays and then she started the cleaning. She asked me if I wanted cherry or mint toothpaste. I went mint. I've never really liked cherry!

She told me to let her know if anything hurt of bothered me while she was going to the cleaning and scraping of the plaque. A couple of time she said "this spot's probably going to be sensitive," and it wasn't. There was only one time I get a real zing and that was on one of the bottom teeth. Not one of the ones she warned me about.... It wasn't terrible, though.

When she was done with all over her scraping and stuff I had to rinse my mouth out and then she had to measure my gums with this poking instrument. It was really annoying. It felt like she was sticking little needles up my gums and it was not pleasant!

I got a little goodie bag after that with a toothbrush, some toothpaste, and a few other items.

After that, we went across the hall and another woman took a full x-ray of my face. It was just like the one I had done at the orthodontist except this was a lot faster and this machine looked a lot newer.

I went into another room after that and waited for the dentist to ome in. While I was waiting, my x-ray was on the screen so I took the opportunity to take a picture of it. A teeth selfie.

When he came in he said that everything looks good except that there's a tooth in the back of my mouth that has a filling that was done improperly. I don't know when I got it but my best guess would be some time in middle school!

Anyway, he said that the filling was done improperly and it's hanging over into my gums. Like, the filling isn't flush with the tooth like it's supposed to be. He wants me to come back in January and get it fixed up. I guess I'm going to do it.

I left there around 11:15 and headed off to work. It was nice, the Northern State was completely empty.

People always say they like the way their teeth feel when they leave the dentist after a cleaning -- that they feel so clean and fresh. Mine always feel gritty and sharp and it bothers me. They felt like that all day until I brushed my teeth just now. They feel a little more normal now.

I got to work around 11:45 and the first thing I saw was the cleaning lady standing on the front porch engaged in some phone call! She was having it out with the person on the phone and I purposely went in through the front door to let her know I was on to her. I told Jackie when I went inside and she went to tell her to go behind the kitchen if she needs to make a phone call -- however, she was gone. Not sure where she went.

About 30 minutes later, Dan's Dad called her to the office so we could give her her Christmas bonus. She came in and before we could say anything she sang like a canary -- "I know...I was on my phone on the porch I'm so sorry....blah blah blah" Pete was like, "Oh, I didn't know about that." (He really did, I had told him...) Anyway, we told her this was about her bonus.

Today was a really boring day at work. There was so little to be done and even though I was only there for a half day, I still was bored! Steve left at 12:00 because he had to go to a luncheon across the street and I tried to keep myself occupied until it was time to go home.

I would up leaving at 4:30. I took the projector screen home with me for the weekend because we're going to use it to show the wedding pictures at our breakfast on Sunday morning!

When Dan got home from the gym we cleaned up the house a little for our breakfast. We always have so much stuff that we don't know what to do with. I mean, we just cleaned up and had everything perfect for Thanksgiving and then somehow between then and now the house turns into a disaster area and it's not easy to get back in control! Ugh!

We opened the mail today and got three Christmas cards. Unfortunately, all three of them were GLITTER cards. I can't stand glitter cards -- it gets everywhere and you find it for months. We trashed them immediately. Sorry. I really would have loved to display them with our other cards but they broke the cardinal rule of card giving and I just can't take the risk!

Once we had the house looking relatively presentable we went out to get something to eat at Panera. I am really starting to get turned off from that place. I have always liked their soups and sandwiches but the sandwiches keep getting smaller and smaller! It's absurd. Dan and I got the you pick two and paid almost $23 for the both of us. For that amount of money we could get a full meal with an appetizer from the 2 for $20 menu at Applebee's! (Or pretty much any other restaurant we go to!) My sandwich was so small it was disgusting.

Also, this annoys me to no end. EVERY SINGLE TIME I got to Panera, no matter what location, I order my sandwich plain but WITH salt and pepper. They have a salt and pepper shaker in the back and they usually put that on the sandwich. I look at the receipt every time I order and the cashier ALWAYS puts "+ SALT & PEPPER." Then, I get the sandwich and it's never there. I don't get the problem because they have it on the order- why is it so hard for them to see that and do it? I'm perplexed.

They don't have the survey on the receipt anymore but they do have a thing that says "accuracy matters..." and basically says that if they make a mistake you get a free "treat." So, we got a free cookie for our troubles (and to help make the $23 charge more stomachable.) I just can't figure out why they can't make it correctly.

We have a few $5 off coupons that we need to use there after January 1st and then I think I'm going to phase out eating there. It's a real ripoff.

Alas, on the way out there was a man sitting in the restaurant who looked very much like the Toymaster! I was excited and tried to get a picture of him.

Then we went over to ShopRite to get some more things we needed for our breakfast. We got bacon. Mmmm.

We just got home and now we're going to watch episode IV of Star Wars! We're gonna try to get to bed early since we have to be up early for our breakfast!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com