Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 25, 2015 - 12:45 a.m.
"christmas eve 2015"

Hey Journal!

Merry Christmas Eve!

Last night I woke up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom and realized it was strangely quiet in our room. I also noticed that the light was on in the bedroom across the hall so I knew the power had flickered. It must not have been out for long because the clocks were fine but whenever the power goes off and then comes back on, our Hue lights turn on.

We got up around 9:00 when I got a text from Kristen asking if 9:45 was a good time to come for breakfast. We got up and did some things around the house and then at 9:45 Kristen arrived to collect us.

We went to Relish for breakfast and surprisingly it wasn't crowded at all. We got a spot in the parking lot and then headed inside. They tried to give us the dreaded table by the door! Ugh! We seem to always get that one. Dan asked if we could have a different one and they accommodated us. It's just that one table that's annoying because people keep coming in and out through the door and it's right by the bar so you get a double annoyance.

I decided to have the Egg Special for a change and I was very pleased with my decision. It was as good as always!

As we ate, we couldn't help but overhear some of the conversation of the people at the table behind us. At one point, all three of us overheard, "Oh, did I tell you...Bob died." and then that was it.... the conversation just went on and there was no reaction at all. It was so weird! Who says that as matter-of-factly as, "Oh, did I tell you Waldbaums in Commack is closing?" Just -- no big deal...Bob's dead.

We all burst out laughing and couldn't control ourselves. Luckily, Dan and I were facing in the opposite direction so they couldn't see us but Kristen was head on and had to get up to go to the bathroom to hide her feelings on the matter!

After breakfast we went across the street to the bakery to get a cake to bring over for Christmas at Dan's parents' house. The whole time we were eating breakfast we were looking over to the bakery and it was a madhouse! People kept pouring in and, surprisingly, few people came out! At one point the line was out the door! Lucky for us, by the time we made it over there it had died down a bit. It was still crazy inside but they had a ton of people working and the line wasn't long at all.

We picked out a cake and had them inscribe it, "Happy Birthday, Jesus." We didn't know if that was a THING or not, but the woman behind us on line ordered the same!

Next up we went to Bottle Bargains to get into the Christmas spirits. Ha. Get it?! Anyway, there was a woman there who was super nice and relentlessly offering us samples of mimosas and bloody Mary's! We declined several times.

We left with some Bailey's and some cider for Dan to bring over to my Aunt and Uncle's house tonight.

Kristen wanted to get her grandfather a gift certificate to Harbor Freight Tools so we went over there. As soon as we walked in, the smell of weird plastic overwhelmed me. The usual.

I was checking the Google Santa Tracker to see where Santa was at that very minute and the music they play this year is AMAZING. It was this great 35-ish second loop that just went over and over and over again and was the catchiest tune I've ever heard!

We made a video of us walking around the store to it, and later used it to video a bottle of grape jelly at Target. It's really a great tune. When we got home I made a ringtone out of it, of course.

So, after HFT, we went to Target and got a few random items. We picked up some cookie making supplies so that we could bring some with us tonight. We had one of my favorite cashiers, Dan. We haven't seen him in a long time -- I think he was away at college -- but he was just as friendly as ever today.

It was so warm out all day! It was amazing. When we were driving around with Kristen we had the windows down and we kept passing house after house with their front doors and windows open. It reached a high of 70 degrees AND as of a couple hours ago it was still around 65!

I know that every year I say that it doesn't feel like Christmas but this year it was for the same reasons as usual BUT with this added warmth it was even crazier!

Don't get me wrong -- I could get used to this it if it was like this every year. No problem at all! I only hope that the rest of the winter is mild and we don't get any major snowstorms. I'm in no mood for shoveling.

Anyway, when we got home I made my cookies! We were a little short on time but Dan went for a run instead of going to the gym and I got right to work. I made like three batches of 12 cookies. They came out really good.

After that I showered up and then we left at about 3:50 for Aunt Regina's house. On the way we had to make a few quick stops. First, we stopped at CVS in Smithtown to get a photo we had printed for Dan's parents. It was a 5x7 because Dan said his parents wouldn't want to display a big 8x10. Oh well! We also got some candy canes there and they were repulsive. We are going to return them.

We continued heading out to my Aunt's house but had one more stop to make. We got off the expressway at exit 64 and went to Target in Medford to get a gift certificate for my Grandma and Grandpa! I thought we had purchased one for them last night but when we went to write out our cards, I realized we hadn't!

We arrived around 5:20.... We were aiming to be there around 5:15 so it wasn't bad timing! We came in and said hello to everyone. My mom wasn't there yet but we talked to Christen for a while. When I was saying hello to my Aunt Regina, she asked me what had happened to my neck. At first I was confused... I didn't recall anything happening to my neck. Then I realized.... yesterday evening I was shaving and had gotten a small nick on my neck. It was bleeding a lot so I put a band-aid on it. When I woke up this morning... around 9:00, I took it off. It wasn't any big deal and, according to Dan, there was no problem all day.

Then, I guess after I took my shower this afternoon, the place where the sticky part of the band-aid had touched my neck was SO RED! It was ridiculous. I went in the bathroom to look at it and you could see the shape of the band-aid and the little square where the padding is! It looked so foolish!

I have no idea why it would have taken this long to show up... Christen said she's allergic to certain types of Band-Aid glue and, although I've never had anything like this before, maybe I am, too... at least on more sensitive areas like my neck.

For dinner we had the traditional lasagna and then we hung out and stuff. It was a relatively small crowd tonight. No Dan and Jackie or Mike and Theresa.

We played Catchphrase later in the evening and then Dan and I hit the road at about 11:00. We made it home by about 11:30 and then we watched Mickey's Christmas Carol! It was a nice to watch a movie before bed.

According to the Google Santa Tracker, we've already been visited by Santa but from the looks of it.... he didn't bring either of us any gifts! I guess we were on the naughty list this year!

Now it's time for bed! Excited that tomorrow is CHRISTMAS DAY!

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a Good Night!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com