Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 29, 2015 - 11:35 p.m.
"trivia time" or "12 years"

Hey Journal!

Well, today is a VERY SPECIAL DAY! Today, Dan and I are celebrating our 12th Anniversary! I know, I know, I can't believe it's been twelve years! It seems like just yesterday and it also seems like 20 years ago all at the same time!

We decided to be spontaneous and come up with something random to do to celebrate so we headed up to Worcester, Massachusetts!! I know! That is pretty spontaneous and random! Dan had off all week from work and I left work at 1:30! We decided to come up here to go to a trivia game at a local restaurant. We like trivia games and heard that this one was pretty good, so we figured we'd make a day out of it.

Anyway, I got to work this morning and had a bunch of random things to finish up. I wanted to get as much done as possible to try to clean my desk off before the end of the year. At 12:00, I was supposed to be taking a prospective member on a tour of the course but he called earlier in the morning and said he wanted to cancel because it was raining out. I asked him if he wanted to come another day and he said he would just ask some questions over the phone. Of course, his first question was about Weekday membership and we don't have that anymore! I think he was only interested in weekday, sadly!

So, Dan came by around 12:00 and we had lunch at the bar. He got one of the daily specials and I got the Tuscan no Tuscan. It tasted kinda crappy today, though. The chicken was chewy and weird. I didn't like it.

We hit the road at 1:30 and made our way up to Massachusetts! Trivia started at 7 so we planned to get to the hotel, check in, and then take an Uber to our destination! We made excellent time and it took about 3.5 hours. We only hit a little bit of traffic just outside of Worcester because of an accident.

It was much colder up there than it's been here lately! In fact, they just had a snowstorm last night so the ground was covered and the roads were still pretty bad when we got there. We went inside the hotel and, just our luck, there was a guy in front of us on line checking in a whole sports team with about 10 rooms! We waited patiently and then, after about 5 minutes of waiting, these other two people come in and another guy behind the desk says, "Checking in? She can help you over there...." to them! We were like... NO WAY... so we just made our move before those other people had a chance to go over. Like, why did that guy stand there the whole time and not offer us to go get checked in! He made eye contact with us several times, too. Dan and I thought he MIGHT have thought we were with the large group but it didn't make sense because we didn't come in at the same time AND everyone else in the group was wearing the same black athletic shirt. We didn't look at all like we were with them!

We headed up to our room and got settled in. I took a quick shower and then got ready to go. At 6:00, we called an Uber. I love Uber... the whole concept is so great. There's one thing that's a little funny, though... somehow when I registered it had my language set as Arabic! I went to request the car and an error message came up in Arabic! It was telling me that my card was expired but I wasn't able to figure that out at first. Finally, I entered the new details but my receipt and all were in a completely unreadable language!

Our driver was named Dilli. He picked us up and got us to our destination! We arrived around 6:20, perfect timing. The restaurant is in the building of a former car service center garage and it's all car/automotive-themed. Dan and I got a table near the Trivia and ordered some drinks and food! We were both super-hungry.

The quiz is hosted by a guy named Dan who is about our age and works at a library. He made a few library references and I couldn't help but remember my amazing times working at the library... I loved that job and worked with some really fun people. Oh, and by the way, "library reference" is funny because ... library.... reference... GET IT!? Oh boy.

So, we told him we wanted to play and he gave us a trivia sheet and a little packet with all the papers we needed for our answers. Dan got a pizza and I got a meatball hero although it wasn't called that -- it had some car-related name and from the description I wasn't 100% sure if it was going to be a hero, but it was.

Trivia started promptly at 7:00 and it was really fun. Apparently this was a different style than they usually do. This was the "year-in-review" so there were a lot of current events questions which is good because Dan and I are pretty up on our current events. It was fun and the questions were good, too. I feel like it was a lot better than Quiz Time with Angela.... I just felt like the questions were more fun and it wasn't as stuffy as Angela's... not that hers is really stuffy... it just is a little less exciting.

We did pretty well and we came in 4th place out of 9 teams. I was a little bummed out that we didn't get to 3rd.... I felt like that would have really be great considering we were a team of two people and almost every other team had 4, 5,or 6 players! It would have been nice to get a prize, too! We should have gotten a prize for the farthest travel to attend!

So, trivia was over around 9:00 and we hung out for about 20 minutes or so. We played "Keno" which is their lotto version of our QuickDraw! We invested $5 in it and left with $4 so we only lost a dollar.

When it was time to go back, Dan called the Uber with his phone. The guy arrived in about 3 minutes. He was nice but he had a car seat in the back of his car so Dan had to sit in front. This guy was friendlier than the first guy, not that the first one was bad, but this one was better.

We got back to the hotel around 10:00 and now we're just getting ready for bed. It's so weird to think that it's only 11:30 and we're in Massachusetts, I went to work today, and I'm going to work tomorrow! What a whirlwind!

I'm glad we had a fun little getaway night to celebrate our anniversary... it was well worth it!

So yeah, tomorrow morning we're getting up at about 7:00, packing up, and hitting the road. I'm hoping there won't be much traffic... I mean, it will be early and also traffic has been really light this week... I want to be at work by about 11:00!

I'd better get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com