Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 30, 2015 - 10:32 p.m.
"from worcester to work"

Hey Journal!

Wow! I'm exhausted and I can hardly believe that this morning I woke up in Worcester, Massachusetts!

And while I'm thinking about it-- I can't wrap my head around the pronunciation of Worcester. Having driven around England there are lots of places, like Gloucester, that are pronounced differently than my first inkling as an American. I used to pronounce it as Glou-Chester. But when you really look at it, there's no H. So, the "cester" is pronounced "ster" and you say Glou-ster. Okay, that makes some sense.

Following that same logic, Worcester would be pronounced "Wor-ster" not "Wooster!" Maybe if you say it fast? I don't know... it's just so weird to me!


Alas, we woke up at 7:00am and despite having had a LOT to drink last night and waking up several times throughout the night, I felt like I got a really good night's sleep and woke up well rested and ready to go! We did get to bed at a reasonable time, too...I'm sure that helped.

Dan showered up and I got ready and packed and we hit the road a little before 8. The car was covered in ice and Dan had to scrape the windshield before we left. We made excellent time... there was no traffic at all. I was a little surprised at that because we were driving for part of the rush hour time but I suppose it was a combination of the direction we were heading and that a lot of people have off the week between Christmas and New Year's Day.

We stopped to get breakfast at a McDonald's just off the highway and then we stopped one more time to get some gas. Connecticut gas is expensive so we put in just enough to get us home.

Dan dropped me off at the golf course at 10:50! We made great time and I really didn't miss much at work today at all. I mean, nothing at all happened before I got there. It was a really quick trip but I had a lot of fun and I'm glad we went.

I got changed in the locker room... I left my work pants and shoes up there yesterday and just put them right back on when I got in!

The day was slow at work... I spent some time trying to sort out the craziness on my desk. I REALLY want to start the new year off with a clean desk! I need to continue that project tomorrow.

For lunch I had chicken from the funeral luncheon that the bereft had not finished. Scavenging.

I left work around 4:30 today because I was the only one left and I figured I'd head home before dark. Dan was home all day, he just took it easy and recovered from all the driving he had done.

It's hard to believe that tomorrow is the last day of the year!! It doesn't feel like that, either. We're not doing anything too intense... just sitting home and watching the ball drop and, of course, some Anderson Cooper.

When I got home, we watched the news, I took a shower, we had some leftovers and stuff around the house for dinner, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com