Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 31, 2015 - 6:13 p.m.
"reflecting on 2015"

Hey Journal!

Well, here we are... New Year's Eve! 2015 is almost over and I wanted to make my last official entry before we ring in 2016.

I don't know how many time I've said this before but I always prefer odd numbered years to even numbered ones. It's not a superstitious thing or even that I think more good things have happened during odd years to me than even ones... It's just that I like the way odd numbers look. They're more inviting to me than even numbers.

Of course, 2015 was another fun year and I am going to try to think back to some of the exciting things that happened!

It all started last New Year's Eve with Kristen and Re over to watch the ball drop. In January, we watched Dan's big appearance on The Price is Right and made it through a really snowy and cold winter!

We did Escape the Room in NYC in February and successfully completed the challenge! There was Lion Dancing and, of course, the famous DRESS! Is it blue and black or white and gold!?

We took a roadtrip to Washington, DC with Linda and it was such a beautiful weekend that I got a really bad sunburn on my face and neck! Yikes!

In May we took an absolutely amazing trip to Europe that included a night in Munich, two nights in Salzburg, Austria to retrace the steps of the Sound of Music, and an incredible stay at a hotel literally on the side of a mountain! Our trip ended with a week in my favorite city, London!

We had a fun summer... our first with our pool... and we figured out how to keep it nice and blue!

In September we went to see Nick Jonas in the city and it was an amazing concert! Loved it! We also went managed to finally find a REALLY hard corn maze and were lost inside for hours. We visited Alec and Doug, and had a fun "college" night!

In October, I completed another goal that I've had for several years.... I got to see the giant rubber ducky when it set up shop in Oyster Bay! Usually it makes appearances in major world cities... why it washed up here...I have no idea... but I'm glad we got to see it!

In November we got married! Kinda a big deal! I also got to be an Election Inspector and we hosted our first Thanksgiving since moving in to our house!

In December we got into the Christmas spirit by going to Christmas in Hershey with Connor and Cameron! It was unseasonably warm and we had a great time! We just capped off our 2015 by taking a trip to Worcester, MA to enjoy a night of Trivia hosted by a major network reality show contestant!

With all of this excitement, it will be hard to top in 2016 but I know we will certainly try!!!

Today I had work and I left at about 2:30. The day was pretty busy for New Year's Eve. I think, if I remember correctly, that in the past we've had some pretty eventless days on December 31st, and this year was not that way at all. First, we got a new copier delivered for the office. That didn't take too long but I needed to get it set up. It took me about an hour to get all of our settings transferred over.

Re was in and she got everything ready for the bank and then paid some bills and finished off the guest sheets for 2015!

I went to the bank in the afternoon to make our deposit and I had a weird thing -- they now require you to show ID to make any cash deposit at the bank. That's really weird. I mean, why? I don't have to show ID to make a cash purchase at a store so why would I have to have ID to make a deposit at the bank.

We had lunch at the bar and today I got the steak sandwich. I left at 2:30 and got home a little after 3. I had to stop at the bank again to make another deposit on the way home but this time I went to the Kings Park branch!

I got home, showered up, and then went out to the store to get some things we needed for dinner and for our evening.

Tonight we are going to spent our New Year's Eve the way we have the past few years....at home watching Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin on CNN with Kristen! Should be a fun time, and to add some spice to the mix we're making a Turkey Pot Pie AND Sugar Cookies!! YES!

Here's to 2015! You were one great year!! Until next year....

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com