Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 02, 2016 - 1:15 a.m.
"happy new year 2016" or "it's the first day"

Hey Journal!

Happy New Year, cause it's the first day!

Wow! I can't believe 2015 is officially finished and here we are in 2016. As I do every year, I think of the words of Taz, a waitress we had at the St. James Diner, who greeted us with "Happy New Year....cause it's the first day..." many years ago.

It's really weird how a woman who I would otherwise not have remembered at all could have an effect on us so many years later and have no idea. She has shaped all of my New Year's Days since she first greeted us and I have no idea who she is or where she is now. I wonder if our paths will ever cross?

Last night we had a fun time ringing in the new year right here at home. We had Kristen over and made a turkey pot pie for dinner. It came out great and was 100% delicious! Kristen came over around 6 and we finished cooking our pot pie, hung out, had some drinks, and then after we ate we made sugar cookies!

Kristen made the dough from scratch this morning and then we rolled it out, cookie cuttered it, and baked them up. There were some great shapes but my favorites were the mitten, the bear, and the owl.

At 8:00 we turned on CNN to tune in to the spectacle that is Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin on NYE. It's amazing... every year it never fails to get me. It's one of the weirdest things you'll see on TV the entire year and the fact that it's on CNN and that CNN continues to do it is unreal. As usual, I loved everything about their banter and shenanigans all night long. What I did not like, however, was anything having to do with Don Lemon and that annoying woman he was with. Don Lemon is a disgusting asshole. They could have done without that whole thing.

The ball dropped at midnight and Dan celebrated by running around with his pot and a wooden spoon, banging it like a lunatic! It was really something else!

Earlier, I had gone out to get a new blender because our old one conked out on us this summer while we were making frozen drinks! This new one was on sale at Target and I'm hoping it will be better. It's hard to get a good blender that will chop ice for frozen drinks and also not overheat and die.

So, we rang in the new year and Kristen left at about 12:15. Dan and I watched some random TV and then got to bed around 1:30 or so.

We got up this morning and my mom texted me to see if we wanted to go out to breakfast. We met at Relish at 10:15 and had to wait about 5 minutes for a table. What better way to start 2016 than to have breakfast at Relish!

I got the Egg Special and our food took a really long time to come out today. It wasn't a big deal because we were just hanging out and talking but it took much longer than usual.

After breakfast Dan and I went to Home Depot to return a gift we had gotten for Christmas and we also needed to get some stuff for the house. We needed a new flusher thing for our downstairs toilet because twice in the past few days it hasn't stopped running. That's kinda annoying because we had to wait to make sure it would stop every time.

Next we went to Target and the Christmas goods were now 70% off! Just yesterday they were 50! Wahoo. We found a few good things to add to our collection of decorations.

We came home after that and watched a few episodes of The Leftovers. Dan was going to go to the gym but we couldn't figure out if they were open or not. We thought they SHOULD be since people like to start their resolutions of joining a gym on the first day of the year... but Dan recalled hearing it would be closed... and then we got conflicting reports from my mom. We weren't sure and we never actually found out.

My Grandma invited us over for dinner at 4:00 so we headed over there. She made pork chops and my mom got PFR to go with it. We ate and then we left to go to Macy's. There was a pair of pajamas that I really really wanted to get and, unfortunately, they were out of stock online. As it turned out, they didn't have the pajamas in the store, either, but I would up finding a bunch of cool stuff I needed to buy!

I got these amazing Christmas themed pajama bottoms with elf prints on them! At first I couldn't find them in my size but the Macy's App said they had it, so I kept searching and eventually located them. The Macy's at the mall was an absolute disaster area. I also found a cool sweatshirt and I wanted to get it... although the Macy's app said my size was in stock, we couldn't find it. We looked everywhere.

We gave up since everything was so disorganized and we went to the Macy's in Commack. They had a much smaller selection, and didn't have the pants I had gotten at the mall, but they did have the sweatshirt I wanted and I also got a cool hoodie thing with a large neck.

After that Dan texted Alec to see if he wanted to go out and get something to eat. He was up for it so we came home, dropped off our goods, and then headed back out.

We got to Valley Stream around 9:45 and picked Alec up. He didn't have his car because his brother was using it. We went to a diner nearby and I had french toast. It was okay but it wasn't great french toast. It was nice to see Alec during his break -- this is his last one... Dan told him to enjoy it because it may very well be the last four consecutive weeks he has off - with no work and nothing to do - for a LONG time! He filled us in on all of the happenings in his life, school, work, and we hung out at the diner for a while.

When we were done, we dropped him off back at home and then Dan and I headed back and watched another episode of The Leftovers.

Now it's late and we're off to bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)

1:15am


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com