Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 08, 2016 - 11:55 p.m.
"anonymous christmas card" or "old street turkey"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed to work. I stopped at Staples along the way because I needed to pick up desk calendars. I would have ordered them online but at Staples.com they were 8.99 each, on our special contract pricing website they were just 2.30! I couldn't order them from there, though, because there's a $50 order minimum so I stopped by and picked them up.

It was a pretty quiet morning and I had some time to work on random stuff. I had to get Karen's final invoice of 2015 processed and when the mail came, I got a package. It was a new lock to replace the crappy one that used to be on the locker room key box. This new one will have a code instead of a key and I think that will be more appropriate. I opened the box and I was surprised to find that many of the parts were missing.

I had ordered the lock a few days ago on Amazon and they had an offer to purchase an "open box" item for a $20 discount. It said that the items was in "like new" condition and that the original packaging may have been damaged. I didn't card about the box or packaging so I placed the order. On the Amazon product description it listed all of the things included and there were about 5 out of 7 items not in the box.

I returned it and re-bought a new one. Of course, this time I purchased a brand new one, not an open box special.

Steve came in around noon and today was his last day of work before going sailing in the Caribbean for a few weeks. I had a couple of things i wanted to go over with him to get some direction for the coming weeks. I proposed buying a new security camera system and Steve gave the okay. I bought it online and it should be arriving next week.

Around 1:00 we had a little tasting up in the restaurant. The chef is trying out some new items for the dinner menu in March and we sampled them today. There was a steak with an orange sauce on it, a stead with nice potato wedge things, and some fish and salads that I didn't try.

Next, he brought out a noodle bowl and I really enjoyed it. It was like a lo mein with broccoli. Very tasty! We said that we would put it on the menu plain like it was, and give the option to add shrimp or chicken for an additional charge. I think that will really help to upsell it, too. People will want the shrimp and it'll be less of a shock to see it on the menu with an add-on price.

After that, Steve went out on the course and I did some random stuff in the office. My food samples held me over so I didn't even have an actual lunch today.

At about 3:00 the day kinda grinded to a halt. I had work to do but I was kinda not in the mood and the day just had a really weird feeling to it. I hung around upstairs for a while and then, when the restaurant folk left at about 3:30, I went back downstairs and cranked out my work!

I left around 4:30 and headed home. I got home and did some stuff around the house and I had a mystery to solve.

I checked the mail and there was a Christmas card! I opened it up and I looked at it and I didn't recognize any of the people or any of the names on it! I seriously had no idea who these people were and I couldn't think of any way I would know them! I told Dan about it on the phone and he was confused, too. He didn't know the names but was trying to figure out the connection. At first I thought the card may have come here by mistake but upon closer inspection of the envelope...it was addressed to me, at our address! It wasn't addressed to Dan, so we were trying to figure that out, too. That made it seem like someone only I would know!

I looked on Facebook and found one of the six people on the card. (It was three sets of two people... possible grandparents, parents, and 20-ish year old children.) Surprisingly, we had a mutual friend but it wasn't someone we know very well and it's someone we haven't seen or spoken to in years! After a lot of thinking, I decided I would message our mutual friend to see if he could shed some light on the situation.

At the same time, Dan was getting home from work and we had planned to go to Old Street Pub for dinner. I was really craving the open-face turkey! Ahhhh. Anyway, I messaged Linda and asked if she wanted to join. She said that Connor and Dan were going to see Star Wars but that they'd meet us for dinner if we could go right away.

We said we'd meet at 6:30 at Old Street so Dan and I hurried to get ready and I didn't have time to write my message about the Christmas card!

When we got to Old Street, I was telling Linda more about how crazy it was and how I couldn't figure out the connection! When I told her that I was going to send a message... she came clean! It was her!

So here's what went down: Linda ordered Christmas cards at CVS to send out in December. When she went to pick them up, inside the envelope with all of her cards was THIS one random card from someone else's family! She thought it was weird and decided to send it to ME! She forgot about it and didn't mail it until a few days ago, and then it arrived here today! HAHAH! I was so confused. I really knew I didn't know those people but I was starting to go crazy!

Anyway, we sat in the bar area of Old Street because the dining room is too formal for the kind of the type of experience Old Street is supposed to be. We sat nearest the stage although there was nothing going on up there. Norm wasn't plaything there tonight... the sign in the bathroom said he would be in on January 30th!

I got my long-awaited turkey sandwich and enjoyed it thoroughly. We had dinner, and then after that Dan and Connor left to go to the movies. Linda, Cameron, Dan, and I went out to Target! Instead of going to Commack we decided to give Linda the Huntington experience since she had never been there before. We perused the goods and Linda got some good finds. Dan got coffee and I got more of those Up&Up plastic storage containers that we use all the time.

We were at Target for a while. When we left we went to Yogurtini to get some dessert. The place was surprisingly crowded for a winter night but it wasn't too cold out so maybe that's why!

Next we came back here for a little while. It was nice for someone to see our Christmas decorations since we'll probably be undecorating pretty soon.

The movie was over around 10:15 so we met Dan and Connor in the Price Club parking lot. While we waited, we parked in between the metal guards for the shopping carts! Amazing. I'll never get tired of parking inside those things! It's a perfect spot.

We were in there when Dan pulled up and, from the looks of it, Connor appreciated our antics.

Dan and I headed home after that and watched the rest of last night's Beyond the Tank and then watched tonight's SHark Tank.

Now we're just getting ready for bed! I'm exhausted. Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com