Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 03, 2016 - 10:23 p.m.
"turkey soup"

Hey Journal!

Here we are, this nice three day weekend is coming to a close and tomorrow it's back to work!

I got up this morning around 10:00 and Dan was already downstairs watching TV. I came down and watched a little bit of This Week and then we started the last episode of The Leftovers. I thought it was a good episode and I was happy with the way it ended but there are just so many thing about this show that make no sense at all and I know we aren't going to ever get answers. It's just such a frustrating show for that reason. There are these little things that happen and you have no idea why or what really went on and you assume it will be made clear sooner or later but then the story moves on and you realize they aren't going back to fill you in.

Anyway, Dan reports that they are doing one more season of the show, third and final.

After that we got ready and went out to ShopRite to get the ingredients we needed to make turkey soup! I wanted to make it the same as my Grandma makes chicken soup. She gave me her recipe but she makes the broth from scratch and we couldn't do that because we had already cooked the turkey. We had done this once before several years ago but I don't remember how I did it then.

I looked back here to see if I had mentioned anything about how I made the soup last time but sadly, I did not. In fact, I said that I had made it without using a recipe! WHAT!? How did I do that? Anyway, this time I am going to describe exactly what I did so that if, in the future, I need to look back and find this... I will find a little more help than last time!

We bought a package of "soup greens" because it had all of the things my Grandma said she uses and they were much cheaper to buy together. We also got tomato sauce and chicken broth. While we were there we also stocked up on pasta! They had a great sale... all of the Ronzoni pasta was .69 per box! It was also the famous "Can Can Sale!" The chicken broth was really cheap, too!

Before we had gone shopping I put the laundry in and when I got home it was ready for the dryer. Dan went to the gym and I got to work making this soup and taking care of the laundry.

So, here's what I did for the soup. I used 5 cans of chicken broth and then filled the rest of the pot up with water. I chopped up the carrots and celery and put them in, then added parsley. Later I added a lot more parsley. Next time I'd like to remember to go heavy on the parsley. I also added salt and pepper which I had to add more of later, too. Go heavy on that. I added turnips and onion and of course, the turkey! I put the Acini de Pepe in before I started and my only regret is that it got too soft. For future reference I would do everything else first, cook it for about 20 minutes and then put the Acini de Pepe in for the last 20 minutes of cooking. Lesson learned!

When Dan got home from the gym the soup was almost finished and Dan showered up and then we ate. It came out really good and it was really tasty. Like I said, my only regret was that the Pepe was too soft. Even so, it turned out great and we really enjoyed it.

While we ate, we watched the Barbara Walters 10 Most Fascinating People show. It was okay, we fast forwarded through a few of the people who we didn't even know!

At about 4:00, Dan and I tackled the Christmas Tree. It was getting dry and needles were starting to fall everywhere. I would have liked to keep it up for another week but by then it would have been an even bigger mess. We took all the decorations off and then carefully removed the lights. Once we had everything down we carefully inspected the tree to make sure we didn't forget any ornaments! That's my biggest fear!

We used the giant bag we got to cover it up and then I unscrewed it from the base and Dan took it to the curb. It's funny, we are the only people who put the tree in a bag! We were driving around today and saw a lot of trees out at the vurb and were talking about how I don't think we've ever seen anyone have theirs in a bag like we do!

We only started doing it because when we took our tree out we would always get a trail of needles through the house and a trail of needles all the way to wherever we left it. It was just easier to bag it up so that they didn't go all over the place and make a huge mess. Now it's not a really far walk through the house to get to the door but still, it definitely saves us some headache.

It was sad to take down the tree but we're going to keep the rest of the decorations up for another week or so. No reason to rush it... we have a while dreary winter ahead of us, we might as well keep the festive stuff up a little longer!

Next up we went to to Home Depot and Target. At Home Depot we wound up getting a shelving unit for the basement. Dan really wanted to get something to organize the stuff we have down there. He's really big into organizing what he perceives as clutter and wants to try to make the basement more presentable (even though nobody goes down there.)

We stopped at Target on the way back and got a couple of things we needed and paid our Target bill.

At 8:00 we watched the show Galavant.... it's a weird show that we watched last season and it's back now for a second season. It's really weird that THIS is back and other shows that are so much better get cancelled all the time... but whatever, it's a weird show and we do enjoy it, so we watched!

Before that, I took a quick shower and then when I got out, Dan made two frozen pizzas which we shared for dinner. We made on Price Club one and a Target one. They were both good but they have very different tastes.

Alas, now it's time for bed! Work tomorrow.... I'm not really sure what's happening tomorrow at all. I don't know if Steve is planning to come in tomorrow -- I know he's going to be in this week but he may think Monday will be too quiet. I guess I'll just see what happens!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com