Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 12, 2016 - 11:23 a.m.
"another cold crisis"

Hey Journal!

What a weird Monday! I actually didn't have time to write my journal last night because I had to run back to work avoid another crisis like we had two years ago.... but I'll get to that and more in just a minute.

I got up on Monday morning at 8:00 and took my time getting ready for work. I was the only one working today so I wasn't in any rush to get there right at 9:00. For all that, I wound up arriving at 9:30 so I wasn't even THAT late!

It was quiet for the entire day and I was really productive! I got a lot of bills paid, things done, and months closed. Closing months is super-important because as you close each month, older transactions are archived. When you close a register, all of the archived transactions are searched and the larger the database, the longer it takes. So, since we had several unclosed months, it was taking almost 5 minutes to close out a cash drawer.... now, it should be just seconds!

I saw the mailman when he came, and then a little later in the day my mom stopped by because she wanted to me to help her look something up online. For lunch I brought a microwaveable Chunky Soup bowl with me and I ate at the bar.

The day went by quickly and before I knew it it was time to head home. I started to leave at 4:00 and as I was walking out I noticed it was FREEZING COLD in the kitchen. I know that we turn the heat down on Mondays when nobody is in but it felt colder than it should be so I checked the thermostat. It was reading 48 and was set at 60! Ugh.

I called the heating/ac people and they said they would come by first thing tomorrow morning. In the meantime, I figured I'd leave the kitchen doors open to let the warm air from the bar make its way in. I put the bar temperature up high and left.

On the way home from work I went to this place in Huntington to buy a can of gel stain for our kitchen cabinets. I had done a lot of research online and from what I found this one brand seemed to be highly recommended. They don't sell it at a lot of places and the only place around here was a little antique store.

I made my way there and they were nice but a little weird. They asked me my name, phone number, and all sorts of stuff just to buy one can of paint. The lady asked me how I found them and I told her I was looking online to find somewhere that sold this particular paint. Then she went off telling me about how they carry another type of paint - a special paint from England. I was like "oh, Okay..." Then she started telling me that they have art studios on the second floor and rent out space and that there was "a lot of inspiration" there. I really just came in to get a can of gel stain. But thanks!

Next I went down the road and stopped at the Huntington Home Depot to get some more items I needed for this project.

Before diving into this project, Dan and I wanted to do a little sample. So, when I got home I took off one of the kitchen cabinet doors. I took off a small one that's above where the refrigerator used to be. I took it outside and stained the inside of the door. (This way, if we don't like it... I can put it back and nobody will ever see it.)

They say you have to do three coats and on on YouTube video I watched, the guy said it would loek terrible after the first coat and that you shouldn't be discouraged. It doesn't look great right now but I'm taking his advice and will put the second coat on tomorrow afternoon. It's annoying doing just one little cabinet piece because I feel like it's wasting the supplies and the stain but I guess we have no choice. We have to see how this comes out before we go all in!

Anyway, when Dan got home he got ready for the gym and while he was there I started boxing up some of our Christmas decorations. I put away the rattan snowman, the tinsel santa, tinsel buck, and pere noel.

I watched World News while doing that and then showered up. When Dan got home we put away the tinsel pig and, after his shower, we carefully boxed up the manger.

There's still a lot left to do but I guess we'll get to it little by little over the next week or so!

We watched some TV and were getting ready for bed when I got a notification on my phone that the temperature in the kitchen at work had dropped under 45 degrees! Ugh! I looked at the other temperatures and the bar was really cold as well! That wa surprising because I had left it pumping. I figured either it wasn't able to keep up or it was broken, too!

After considering my options I decided to go out and check things out. It was already almost 10:00 (and almost our bed time) but Dan and I went up to the golf course. It was really cold in the kitchen and bar area and I could tell that the bar unit wasn't working, either.

Dan and I turned on the stove burners and boiled some pots of water to get the temperature up. We also turned on and ran the dishwasher a few times and the steam was coming out like crazy! Anything to raise the temperature a few more degrees!

We were there until about 11:00 and, quite surprisingly, we were able to bring the temperature up to 65 degrees! We left and headed home and when we got in, I checked the temperatures again. It was down to 61! All that work just going disappearing. However, it was still good to raise the temperature for a while to keep it from being crazy cold for too long.

We got home around 11:30 and went right to bed! I was exhausted. This morning, I am happy to say, everything was fine the rest of the night! Tune in tomorrow for more exciting adventures....

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com