Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 12, 2016 - 10:29 p.m.
"bag room reorganization" or "SOTU"

Hey Journal!

This morning I planned to go in to work late since I had gone up last night to check out the kitchen situation. Of course, it didn't really work out as planned. First, Dan woke me up while he was getting ready for work and I couldn't really get back to sleep. Then I rolled over to look at the time on my phone and saw that I had a text from the mechanic at work.

He was texting to say that he noticed it was unusually cold in the kitchen this morning. I know.

Anyway, I tried to get back to sleep but it didn't really work and I wound up laying in bed looking at stuff on my phone. When I finally got up it was about 9:00 and I got to work around 9:30.

The guy came to fix the heat shortly after I got in. He said it was really a simple fix -- the relay that controls the blower on the kitchen unit wasn't working so the unit was making heat but it wasn't getting blown into the ducts. While he was there, I asked him to take a look at the bar unit because I noticed it wasn't able to keep up last night when I was trying to use it to keep the kitchen warm.

He said there was some sort of blockage and he fixed it.

While he was doing that, I installed the new LED light strips on top of the bar. I think they look a lot nicer and a lot more fun on the bottom, but it doesn't hurt to have them up top, too. Lauren took down the Christmas decor from the top of the bar and then I put the strips up. I used two of them and went back and forth. I figured it would be good to have more light up there.

While I was up there, the heat started blasting out and it was literally about 90 degrees at the top of the bar. I was sweating!

Oh, and while I was standing up there -- and luckily this happened while nobody was around -- I looked at at my sleeve and noticed a line.... I HAD MY SHIRT ON INSIDE OUT!! How embarrassing. I quickly disrobed and put it back the right way... I can't believe I was walking around all morning with my shirt inside out! I hope nobody saw me...especially from behind. The tag would have been a dead giveaway!

Anyway, Bill was in today but he pretty much stayed in his office all day. I was working on a bunch of random stuff, paying bills, and working on a new program for the bag storage room.

This season, Mike painted over the old numbers on the racks and we re-numbered them. Originally the numbers went in order but now, because we had built more racks, the numbers got a little crazy and the order didn't make much sense.

What I'm doing now is making a cool piece of software to organize and locate member bags. I'm planning to use one of the Nextbook tablets that Dan won on TPIR and mounting it to the wall.

For lunch today I had the Lo Mein special (which I had tasted the other day) and I ate at the bar. When I was done, I got back to work on my program. You know how I get...when I code stuff -- I get so engrossed in it and I can't stop thinking about it until it's done and perfect.

You know, I always say I'm glad I don't have a job where I do coding all day long but the truth is, the real reason it's good that I don't have that job is that I would get fixated on the task and wouldn't want to stop until the program was 100% complete and if it was a giant project... that could be a long time. Plus, I'd be lying in bed trying to sleep running ideas through my head all night!

Anyway, I left work at 4:30 and I headed home. As soon as I got home I did the second coat of stain on our test cabinet door. It is starting to look much better but still needs another coat. When I got inside from that I got right to work on more of my coding project.

I know. I'm obsessed.

I worked on it for most of the time Dan was at the gym and then I took my shower before he got home. I also watched a little bit of Judge Judy to get my mind off it.

Dan brought food home from Branchinelli's for dinner and I enjoyed the Meatballs (4) from the comfort of home. Interestingly, I don't think it tasted quite as good as when I eat it in the restaurant. Maybe it's the decor that usually compliments the taste but I think something was a little off, too.

Tonight was the State of the Union.... Barack's last one! As usual, I watched the beginning but lost interest pretty shortly after that. It's just such a boring speech. As luck would have it, the state of the union is strong and our friend, the Energy Secretary, was there looking as colonial as ever.

So, now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com