Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 23, 2016 - 11:33 p.m.
"the blizzard of 2016"

Hey Journal!

So, we have braved the big blizzard! It did turn out to be quite the storm... I think we got less than I expected here based on last night's forecasts but out in Nassau and they city they got hit a lot harder. Even so, we still got a fair amount.

It literally snowed all day long and the wind was whipping so I think a lot of it got blown around. We had some really big snow drifts up against our back doors.... chest high... but at the same time, you'd look out the window and were able to actually SEE the deck!

We woke up around 10:00 and looked out the window to see what was going on. The snow was just picking up and there was already a good covering. Dan and I started the day by watching the news. We spent most of the day watching the news but it gets pretty repetitive after a while!

I had some cereal for breakfast and then we took some time to put away our Christmas decorations. Believe it or not, even after today's efforts, we still have some more to do! We've been really lazy this year with that. I mean, I love my Christmas decorations and I want to get the most out of them but we've waited so long that I feel like it's drawn out too much and I'm not even in the mood to do it anymore. If that makes any sense!

Later in the afternoon, Dan went out to shovel the driveway. He didn't want to go out too early because the wind was really blowing and any work he would have done would have just been blown back! Finally, he's coming to his senses! Last year he was out there doing his shoveling too early! While he was out there, one of our neighbors came over to help with their snowblower! I thought it was our neighbor to the right but it wasn't....when Dan got in he said it was someone else!

We brought the Christmas boxes down to the basement and while I was down there I started looking for my Pez dispensers.

Since we went to the Pez Visitor Center on our little road trip last weekend, I wanted to take stock of all the Pez I have in my collection. I found my box in the basement and I opened it up. I took all of my Pez out and set them up on the folding table in the dining room! We counted them and I had 176 dispensers. That doesn't count the giant ones that are in another box or the ones we got last weekend!

After I was done, I boxed them all up and brought them downstairs. I was looking through some more boxes and I found some latch-hook rugs! I probably bought them like 10 years ago and I never finished them. One isn't even started and the other one was about 1/4 of the way done. I brought that one upstairs and got to work on it! It was a perfect snowy day activity, I though!

I got pretty far with it but I've hit a problem. I made a mistake back when I originally started it and I used too many black yarns at the bottom of the rug! Now, I'm at the top and I've run out of black yarn!! AHH! I don't know what I'm going to do. I may have to remove it from the bottom but that's gonna be a pain and it's hard to do without getting it all frayed!

Dan went back out to shovel some more around 10:00 and the snow was pretty much winding down by then. Just a few flurries. He got the driveway looking good. I watched an old episode of Judge Judy. It's fine that they show repeats on the weekend but I have no idea why they would show one that's NOT in HD! Weird.

When Dan got back in I made Mac and Cheese. We ate and now we're going to watch the show Ray Donovan on HBO Go. Dan's mom said it's really good so we're gonna check it out and see!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com