Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 30, 2016 - 12:52 a.m.
"hibachi and bowling"

Hey Journal!

Today was a really busy day at work! We got a LOT of payments in for the dues today -- the most of any day this month so far! I got to work around 9:00 and the morning was a little less crazy but I still had a lot to get done.

When Steve got in he wanted to do some more letter writing for a social membership packet but I REALLY couldn't do it today because not only were the dues coming in like crazy but I also had to do a bunch of other random stuff including going to the bank to get change for Jackie.

I had a member who was planning to come by to make a payment around 3:00 so I went to the bank at about 2. While I was out, I got a text from Jackie that ANOTHER member had stopped by to make a payment and that he was PISSED that I wasn't there!

It was so weird. I told Jackie to just take his payment and ring it up to his in-house account and then, when I got back, I just moved it over to his dues. It was so stupid, though, because why would he expect that I would be there waiting for him when he never called to say he was coming by! He's a really grumpy member and he's known for his nasty attitude so it wasn't really that surprising.

When I got back, I called him up and his wife answered. She wanted to make another payment on the website with her credit card and she couldn't log in. I gave her all the details of her account and also provided her with her password. The password contained three ZEROS which I pronounced "zero" not, "oh." This whole time I was like the perfect tech support person. I was so chipper and wasn't at all annoyed with her or nasty. She tried several times and couldn't get in and told me, really nastily, that this would be her LAST attempt! As she was typing I had this thought run through my head and I told her just to be certain that she was entering ZEROS instead of the letter O! Would you believe it... THAT was the problem!

She got in, made her payment, and BAM. We were all set. I told her to have a great day and that I hoped to see her and her husband soon! She was like, "Okay."

Steve left around 2:30, just before I got back from the bank and Jackie and Lauren left around 3:30. I was there until 5:00 today because I was soooo busy. I really want to get all the little mundane stuff cleaned up before I go away and I have a week to get it all done.

When I got home, I was a little irritated because Dan left work 30 minutes late. He said he wanted to finish stuff up before his work trip next week BUT what I don't like is that he's basically working 24/7 next week -- doesn't get to come home, and of course doesn't get paid anything extra -- and that's okay -- that's what a business trip is, but now on top of all that he has to stay late several nights this week and doesn't get compensated for that, either.

Anyway, we had lans to go to dinner with Jimmy at 8:00 and, as a result, Dan had to move them back to 8:30. He went to the gym when he got home, I showered up, and then as soon as he got home we got ready to go.

We went to the Hibachi place in Bay Shore that we had gone to once before.... about two years ago! It was hard to find a parking spot... the lot was full but luckily we found an empty spot not TOO far away. Jimmy was looking for a spot as Dan and I were walking in and he found on near where we had parked.

Tonight we met his NEW girlfriend Alyssa. He started seeing very shortly after our wedding because, of curse, Chelsea had come with him to the wedding. AWKWARD!

Anyway, we had reservations and our table was a little CRAMMED in. The four of us were sitting on the side of a table that REALLY should have only had three people. All of the other tables had two or three people and Jimmy was basically behind the chef!

The food was okay and I enjoyed the meal but it's really not as good as Gasho. Gasho is really dumpy and run down but their food is great. This place, the atmosphere is better but the soup was watery, the fried rice didn't have a good flavor, and the steak was just so-so. I think maybe in the future I have to go with Gasho and just pretend I'm somewhere else while enjoying their food!

After dinner we decided to go bowling! We went to Commack and they had a special tonight... after 10pm (which is just when we arrived) it was just $12 for unlimited bowling! Shoes were not included but, of course, we come prepared with our 12-year-old bowling shoes that are still in excellent condition because we only use them about once a year! In fact, I think the last time we went bowling was last January with Doug... but I could be wrong...

We bowled two games with Jimmy and Alyssa and, Jimmy won both times but as a team, Dan and I won the first time and they won the second time. After the second game, they were getting tired and wanted to head home so we said goodbye and Dan and I stayed and played another two games!

In one of them I did REALLY well. I got a 144 and almost made a new high score! I can't remember EXACTLY what my high score was but I think it's somewhere around 150. (I just looked back - it's 154!) It had been in the 130s for a long time and then I beat that last year!

When we started bowling there was this REALLY trashy group of people next to us. It was mostly kids but they were all wild and you could tell they were a little trashy. Then, the parents... or whoever the adults with them were, were completely low class. The kids were wild and acting like idiots, the parents were scuzzy looking... I don't know... it was a mess. One of the kids kept walking down the bowling lane almost to the pins and they just laughed at him instead of telling him that's not appropriate!! He did it like 5 times!! Luckily, just as Jimmy and Alyssa were leaving they left too! Maybe that's why I was able to get such a good score!

Anyway, after the second game we decided to head home. I wasn't really tired but it was starting to get REALLY HOT in the bowling alley. I was getting uncomfortable and we decided to head home and watch some TV.

We just watched Beyond the Tank and now we're off to bed! We have breakfast with Re in the morning at IHOP! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com