Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 25, 2016 - 10:55 p.m.
"three cameras brought back to life"

Hey Journal!

Today I got up at the usual time for work, 8:00, got ready and then left the house at 8:45.

Before work today I had to pick up Dan's brother before work to bring him and Jessica to the airport for their flight to Florida. They were supposed to fly out on Saturday afternoon but, obviously, that didn't happen because of the storm. They changed their flight ahead of time and, I just found out today, that they had to pay two hundred dollars each way more! They should've just waited and once their flight was cancelled they could have been rebooked!

Anyway, I picked them up at 9 and we were at the airport at 9:30. We got stuck for every red light along the way.... it was so annoying! When we got there, I was really surprised that we were the only car at the drop-off area! I would have expected it to be much busier since so mny lights were cancelled this weekend!

After I dropped them off I went right to work. I wanted to get there by 10 because Jackie had scheduled the carpet cleaners to come in today. I didn't make it in time but I called the mechanic and he let them in when they arrived. I got there around 10:05.

The roads were all pretty good with the exception of a few smaller ones. People were driving annoyingly slow, though.

Work was good and I think I got a lot of stuff done today. I spent the first two hours working on the cameras. I may have mentioned that last week I was trying to find out why I wasn't getting a signal from any of the basement room cameras. I know they haven't been used since before I started working at the golf course but I connected every single power wire and every random video feed and I didn't get any signal! I later found that I wasn't getting power to the cameras and I still couldn't figure out why!

Today, I popped a ceiling tile in the hallway to see if I could follow the power wire and I was surprised to see it didn't seem to show up anywhere on the other side of the wall. I went up and pulled the wire back and IT WAS FAKE. It was just shoved into the wall. What's really weird is that there were actual wires there also tucked into the wall. I hook THAT up to the cameras and BAM -- they came on.

What really confuses me is that, while I understand that they wanted to abandon recording on those cameras but also wanted to leave them as a deterrent, why would you not have cut the power on the other end OR just LEFT the power. Why make fake power cords and tuck them into the wall!?

Oh well, the end result is that now I have all three basement cams up and running and I can swap them for HD when the new unit comes in later this week! BAM!

I worked on that for about two hours and then the rest of the day I did daily closes, bank stuff, dues stuff, and all sorts of random things.

I brought myself soup for lunch and I heated it up in the microwave around 1:30. I had so much to do that, even though I planned to leave earlier, I wound up heading home at 4:45!

When I got home I had some bills to pay and random stuff to do around the house. Dan got home from work and headed to the gym and I went to take a shower.

Dan got chinese food for dinner on his way home from the gym and we watched World News while we ate. As soon as we were done eating it was time to get to work on our PUZZLE!!

We really cracked down on it and we watched Wheel of Fortune, Jeopardy!, and then most of the Democratic Debate on CNN!

I am happy to say that we COMPLETED the Puzzle... it was called "Gingernut Valley!"

At about 10:00, we switched over and watched a little bit of Judge Judy before bed!

Now it's time to get some sleep! Steve may or may not be coming in to work tomorrow. I know he was planning on it but I have no idea if he made it back as planned with the storm over the weekend! I guess I'll find out when I find out!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com