Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 12, 2016 - 10:46 p.m.
"carnival magic: day 6 - fun day at sea"

February 12, 2016 10:46 p.m. CST
February 12, 2016 11:46 p.m. EST

Hey Journal!

I'm happy to say that I'm feeling much better today! When I woke up, I still didn't have much of an appetite but as the day went by I got better and better.

Dan and I went to have breakfast in the Lido Marketplace and I just had some cereal, bread, and apple juice.

When we were done, we came back to the room and Dan got ready to sit out in the sun. I wasn't interested in getting all sunscreened so I sat on the deck, in a deck chair, in a shady area. It was nice. I just relaxed and enjoyed the view of the water.

The water looked so amazing today. While we were eating breakfast we sat by the window and watched the water go by. It was so perfect and blue. It was a very quintessential cruise moment.... I can always remember at least once on each cruise sitting there in the restaurant and looking out at that view!

After sitting outside for a while, we weren't down to the Seaside Barbecue. Dan wanted to get some pulled pork. I still wasn't hungry but I came along for the ride.

We walked around some more and sat outside in the same spot where I had been sitting earlier. We watched the ice carving demonstration and there was this woman doing line dancing all by herself. She was wild.

We played a little Jackpot Party at some point in there, too. We started the day $15 up for the trip and we lost a lot but then hit the party. We managed to make it all back but walked away still $15 ahead for the cruise!

After that, we went to the Lido Marketplace because Dan wanted to get some ice cream. It wasn't really ready yet and it came out like a big mush and flopped onto the floor!

While we were there, we noticed that a section of the dining room had been closed off and they hung big sheets up from the lamps. They were literally bed sheets tied together and then draped over the light fixtures. There were a lot of ship officers over there and a something was definitely going on.

The rumor going around the place was that someone was choking on something but, later, we also heard that someone fell -- so there was no real answer.

We, along with a bunch of other people, got seats in the restaurant and stayed put to see what happened. It was so obvious that that's what everyone else was going, too, because nobody had any food... They were just all sitting and waiting for something to happen.

Eventually they wheeled a woman out in a wheelchair and I have no idea why it took that long. Why didn't they do that right away? Even the ship's doctor was there. It was a big production.

After that was over, we noticed this old woman talking to one of the crew members. She was touching him on the shoulder and rubbing his shoulder and we thought it looked a little strange. Dan was watching intently, and so was I. I didn't think she saw us, but maybe she did. When she finished talking to him, she came over to us and started talking to us.

She asked if we cruised often and we said that we have been on several. She said that she is the mother of Carnival's ships. She went into a whole explanation of how she goes on cruises all the time and is basically the mother of all the crew members. She gives them hugs and let's them talk to her when they need a little pick-me-up, basically. She was talking about Carnival using the word "we" which made it sound like she was basically the CEO of the company. She also mentioned that she has a name tag but that she doesn't wear it because she doesn't want other guests to give her complaints about the ships. (But why was she revealing all of this to us anyway?)

She also said she pays for all of her cruises even though they have offered her free cruises because she was blessed with money and also doesn't want to crew to think she only loves them because she gets free cruises.

So, I want to preface this by saying that she was a really nice lady and seemed very warm and friendly. She also had a really coordinated outfit, eating, and a necklace of a Carnival Cruise ship. BUT, as she was talking to us, I couldn't help but think -- She is either related to the founder of this company OR she's absolutely nuts and everything she's saying it total lunacy!

Well, neither appear to be true. I Googled her (we saw her name when she showed us her ship card) and there was an article written about her back in 2002 (14 years ago) saying that she basically has been on over 100 Carnival Cruises and goes on about 5 per year! Wow.

So, why she does this? Not sure. She doesn't actually WORK for Carnival, but she's on the ships enough to be a fixture. I'd bet she's their most frequent guest and she must have the money to do it!

So, in short, we don't know why she came over to us in the first place or why she divulged all of the information but it was a really cool experience meeting her and it's very impressive that she's been on so many cruises and is sparingly the mother of the ships!

After that, we came back to the room and I took a little afternoon nap. Dan went up to lay out in the sun. When I got up, I watched World News and Dan went to the gym.

I took a shower and got ready for dinner and when Dan got back he did the same.

At dinner tonight our table friends did not join us for the third night in a row. I guess now it's confirmed. They don't like us! Today was one of their birthday's, too.

Dinner was good, I didn't like any of the appetizers so I got two entrees. I got the filet mignon / short rib combo and the chicken. For dessert I had the melting cake.

After dinner we walked around the ship a bit and then we went to the 10:15 comedy show. It was the adults only show and the comedian was an older woman.

I really thought I was going to like it because I do like old women, after all, but it was TERRIBLE. She was not funny at all, her stores weren't funny AND - this is a big one - they say it's adult only and they curse like there's no tomorrow, but that doesn't make a not-funny person funny. Like, Ellen is funny. She can do a great comedy routine and make people crack up. If she threw a couple of shits and fucks in there, it might make the story even funnier. I could see that. BUT You can't tell a non-funny story and just say curses every other word and think it's going to make people laugh. She was horrible.

We left about halfway though and decided to check out the "Love & Marriage" show in the theater. The couples were funny and the old couple one, of course. The young newlywed couple, the girl said she was sick yesterday in her cabin. Sounds like what I had - she seems to have recovered as well. Weird. I wonder if it's going around the ship!

Anyway, after that we did some laps around Deck 5 and 10 and now we're back in the room and ready for bed!

Tomorrow is our last full day on the ship - a sea day. I have to do my tour of the ship at night.... I need something to keep my YouTube views up!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com