Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 11, 2016 - 10:45 p.m.
"carnival magic: day 5 - isla roatan"

February 11, 2016 10:45 p.m. CST
February 11, 2016 11:45 p.m. EST

Hey Journal!

Well, today was a little bit of an odd day because I wasn't feeling too great! This is the first time I've ever been on a cruise ship and feeling a little under the weather.

However, we didn't let it stop us from having fun and I don't think that we really missed much as a result.

We arrived in Isla Roatan, Honduras and this morning Dan had breakfast in bed. He ordered it last night and I didn't want any. I was planning to get breakfast on the Lido deck.

Over the night, I woke up several times not feeling so great. My stomach was bothering me and it wasn't a seasick feeling.

Dan ate and I just wasn't feeling like getting out of bed. When he was finished, he got dressed and went out on the deck for a little while.

While he was gone, they were performing a crew safety drill. They made a bunch of announcements in the cabins and it really prevented me from resting up and getting myself back on track!

One of my favorite parts of the drill was when this guy with an Italian accent came on and just said, "Abandon ship. Abandon ship. Abandon ship. Abandon ship." It was incredible. About 10 seconds after that the Cruise Director got on to let everyone know it was ONLY a drill! I really wish I had been able to record that one!

Dan came back to the room and I mustered the energy to get out of bed and get dressed. We got off the boat and walked a round by the port.

I've noticed that more than in the past, Carnival owns these little shopping areas by the ports and you're in a protected, friendly environment when you get off the boat. It's really nice. For example, in Cozumel, we had a nice place to sit on the water with lounge chairs (they looked like the old deck chairs!) without anyone pestering you to pay for them!

Anyway, here, we walked down this short pathway to a nice beach. Like I said, I wasn't feeling the greatest so I sat in a chair and just enjoyed the view. Dan sat there for a while and then took a walk around the beach before we headed back up to the ship.

I got back on the boat and Dan wanted to check out the stores.

I came back to the cabin and took a nap. I was feeling really funky. I had the chills and my stomach still wasn't right. I hadn't eaten breakfast or lunch and I just felt like I needed to sleep.

I slept for a while. Dan came back for a bit and took a nap and then, before long, it was time to get up and get ready for dinner!

I got up and took a shower and got dressed and I was starting to feel better. Before dinner I had some bread and ice cream in the dining room. I know, I have no idea why I was in the mood for ice cream, but I was!

The captain made an announcement around 5:00 that we would not be leaving Isla Roatan on time because one of the passengers had a medical emergency and we were awaiting the arrival of an air ambulance to take them away. He said we would probably departed around 6:30.

Immediately following that announcement, the Cruise Director got on and did the SAME exact announcement. This is not the first time he's done that and it's really weird. What is the point of the captain making an address and then having the Cruise Director gets on and just repeat it. Weird!

We hung out on the Lido deck and above for a while waiting to see what we could see when the ambulance arrived. It came around 7:00 and there really wasn't much to see. It just backed up down the dock and then we couldn't see anything because the life boats were blocking the view.

We arrived at the dining room shortly before 8:15 and, would you believe it, our table friends did not come for the second day in a row! To be honest, I was kinda happy about that because I wasn't in the mood to make conversation since I wasn't feeling hot.

I had beef barley soup for dinner along with the chicken breast. I didn't eat too much of it because I still wasn't feeling myself.

Right after dinner I came back to the room and now I am going to get to sleep.

So, in a nutshell, I slept a lot today, I got off the boat and saw a little bit of Isla Roatan, but I also feel like I did what there was to do and I didn't miss much. I would have liked to have been outside of the cabin more, but I also heard that it rained for a few hours in the afternoon so I missed that and got to catch up on my sleep.

I am feeling better now but I'm not 100%. I'm hoping after tonight I'll wake up refreshed and ready for a fun day at sea tomorrow!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com