Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 27, 2016 - 11:42 p.m.
"linda's shower"

Hey Journal!

What a day we've had today! We're pretty exhausted but I'm glad we had a lot of fun things to do to start out weekend off right!

This morning I got up at 9:15 when my alarm went off to get ready for Linda's shower! Before I get into the events of the day, I should probably fill in what happened last night.

As I mentioned yesterday, Dan had gone to the city last night with friends from work and I was going to pick them up at approximately 1:30am. I got home from Re's and watched some Match Game and other shows. I could barely keep my eyes open but I kept fighting it! At about 1:30, I hadn;t heard from Dan yet so I texted him to see if he had an updated ETA for his pickup! he never wrote back. I called at about 2:00 and ten by about 2:30 I couldn't stay up anymore. Dan FINALLY wrote back to me just as I was brushing my teeth and he told me they hadn't even left the city yet! I wish I had known this earlier because then I could have gone to bed and set my alarm to get up later - or waited for his call.

Because it was going to be so late and we had Linda's party to get up early for... I asked him if the person who was driving him to Melville could just drive him all the way home instead. He said he could, so I went to sleep!

Dan didn't get home until about 4:30 in the morning so I'm glad I went to bed when I did.

When I got up I watched one episode of Match Game and then we left for the shower at 10:30. I had wrapped all the presents beautifully with amazing bows and was very proud of my wrap job. We got to the place at about 11:30 and then we realized we had forgotten the photos we were supposed to bring for all the tables! UGH! Dan dropped me off and he ran home to get them. What a debacle.

Dan wasn't doing too well in the morning, he was still feeling the effects of last night but he really pulled it together to save the day with the pictures and then started feeling much better,

I helped set things up a little bit...there wasn't much for me to do btu I was happy to help with whatever I could. I met Linda's cousin Christine -- she thought this was our first time meeting... I guess she doesn't remember when Dan, me, and Julio crashed her birthday party a few years ago and drank all her alcohol! Perhaps it's for the best.

Linda was supposed to arrive around 12:30 and she wound up coming at 12:40. That was good, Dan got back just a minute or two after Linda arrived but he didn't miss much.... the surprise part wasn't very monumental. In fact, most of the people in the back just stood there so Dan didn't really felt like he missed anything.

As Linda was driving to the restaurant, I kept texting her about random things to throw her off the trail. I figured that she wouldn't think I was awaiting her arrival at her shower and texting her about stupid things!

I know she was suspicious about today but I hope she was a LITTLE surprised!

The shower was fun -- it was the first time I have ever attended a SHOWER so I didn't really know what to expect. The place was VERY nice. It was called Hudson's Mill. It was a cool place and the food was excellent. Dan and I both got the short ribs and I was soooo happy with my choice. They were delicious and the mashed potatoes and carrots were perfect, too! I wish I could have ordered a second helping!

The present opening situation was intense! Linda ripped through all the gifts in record time and it was a real whirlwind. She got so many things I can't imagine that she'll have room for them all in her house! It's nuts!

Dan took lots of good photos of the party and as the day wound to a close we all carried her loot out to some cars and packed them up to send it all home with her.

We hit the road at 4:15 and headed in the direction of home.

Dan wanted to stop by and show my Grandma the new car so we went over there and surprised them with the news. They were very excited and I think my Grandma likes the car more than I do!

We hung out there for a little while and then we came home around 6:00.

It was a short resting time before we had to be back out and about so we watched some TV and then at 7:15 we met Lau and Ryan for dinner at the Candlelight Diner in Commack!

I was really craving the Hot Open Turkey but it was $20 and seemed so unreasonably priced. I know it comes with lots of sides and stuff BUT their dinner specials are $13 and come with sides, appetizers, and desserts. I just can't justify turkey on white bread for $20!

I guess I will have to make a trip to Old Street again soon. Theirs is a no frills open turkey that's reasonably priced and delicious.

Anyway, I settled on the French Toast instead. It was very good and I was happy with my choice!

When we were done eating we went over to Target and walked around the store. Dan only got Rice Pudding which looks weird!

We headed home and watched What Would You Do? and then Shark Tank before calling it a night. Now we're just about ready for bed and I can't keep my eyes open! I'd like to sleep nice and late in the morning!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com