Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 27, 2016 - 12:24 a.m.
"re's green eggs and ham"

Hey Journal!

Today was a pretty slow day at work and it worked out perfectly because I had a bunch of weird little things come up that took up a lot of my time. They weren't really stressful things, at least not for me, but it was nice to be able to deal with them without having a ton of other stuff to get done, too.

In the very beginning of the day, Jackie asked me to come in to her office and she was upset because of some of the things that have been going on lately. Unfortunately I can't get too detailed here but there's an issue that may be problematic and we're doing the best we can to make sure everything is taken care of but she was just a little overwhelmed with it all.

I was talking to her about it and, as if the timing couldn't have been more ridiculous, the ceiling started leaking! We scrambled to get towels and cover the desk but it turned out not to be a leak, thankfully. The cleaning lady had decided to mop and she put a lot of water on the floor which managed to find its way through some little cracks in the floor!

Once that was all resolved, I went back to my office and Dan's mom called. She had a question about something payroll related and then we wound up talking for 56 minutes! About all different things but it was crazy -- again, I'm glad I didn't have any real work planned for today and was able to have some extra time!

For lunch I had the beef brisket sandwich. It was good. I had to get it without all of the accessories. It was just the beef brisket on bread with mozzarella cheese.

I left work at 4:30 today and headed home. Dan went to the city with his friends from work and they left directly from Canon, so he didn't come home this evening.

I had plans to go out to dinner with Re at 7:15. When I got home from work, I had some time before I had to leave and I re-edited my Carnival Magic Tour that I had posted to YouTube last night.

Shortly after I posted the video yesterday, I got an e-mail from YouTube that some of the audio content in my video was matched to songs. I was irritated because the video was literally me walking around the cruise ship and the songs that it picked up were like 10 second clips as I walked past a certain room that playing it. I REALLY firmly believe that it's fair use. It was only matched automatically. They have an option to file a dispute but I didn't want to wait for that process so I just deleted the video and edited out the music as I walked by those rooms.

I took background noise from some other parts of the video and dropped them in at the time periods that YouTube had noted as being matched! What a ridiculous thing.

I left here around 6:45 and arrived at Re's apartment precisely at 7:15. She was still getting ready and had to finish cleaning the bathroom. I hadn't been over since she set up her bed, got her couch and TV and stuff so it was nice to see everything coming together.

Also, while there, I brought a special surprise. In Re's old apartment she had a frame and, on one of my visits, I took a photo of myself and put it inside the frame. I waited for her to notice! So, since she got rid of all of her old stuff, I got a new frame at Target and put my photo in it again! This time, I hid it in my jacket and while Re was finishing getting ready to go out, I put it on her desk!

As we were leaving, and then later on while we were in the apartment, I kept thinking she was going to notice that a frame had randomly appeared on her desk, but she did not! I am now waiting for the moment when she sees it! It's going to be great!

So, we headed out and searched for something to eat. We didn't know where we wanted to go but we decided to see if Meson Ole in Patchogue was still open. It's not. It's now a place called Don Quixote. We were going to give it a try but the parking lot was PACKED. There were no spots at all and I didn't want to park on Montauk Highway.

We decided to go to Bobbique instead. When we got there we had a hard time finding a spot but eventually got one over where Dan and I had parked when we went to the Meatball place with Jen B and Lisa.

I looked around to see if my cousin was working but she was not. I really have to say that I do not like the food at this restaurant. It's always kinda gross. The fries were weird, my chicken was weird, and you don't get nearly the proportions that you do at Smokin' Al's! Meanwhile, Al's tastes amazing and this tastes mediocre at best. I think I've thought this before but I wanted to give it another try. Last try. I'm telling myself I'm not going back there anymore!

When we were done with Dinner we headed back to Re's to work on a project -- making "Green Eggs and Ham" for her class. It was a representation made from a pretzel, chocolate, and M&Ms.

We had a bit of a problem melting the green chocolate. The white chocolate melted perfectly and turned into a really liquidy mix. The green just clumped up and then eventually burned and turned into a hot mess. Literally. When it burned it smelled EXACTLY like a Smores PopTart!

Eventually we made them with only the white chocolate and they came out pretty good. I'm not sure that they look like Green Eggs and Ham but the kids will have to use their imaginations!

After we finished that project, we watched the first episode of Fuller House! I was never a HUGE Full House fan but I did watch it a fair amount. I thought the first episode was good. It was funny -- very much a reunion show, and it was really wild seeing everyone back together again. It's amazing how good they all look. They've aged very gracefully in the 21 years since they were last on!

Now, after episode one, most of the cast is gone and we're left only with DJ, Stephanie, and Kimmy. Not terrible, but I'm not sure the rest of the show has legs. I really don't think I'll be watching any more of the episodes even though I did enjoy this one!

I left Re's around 12:00 and now I'm home and just relaxing a little. I'm pretty exhausted but I have to pick Dan and Joe up in Melville later. Someone from work is driving them back there and then I am going to take them home from there. It should be around 1:30 so I'm going to find something to do to kill some time!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com