Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 25, 2016 - 10:59 p.m.
"a fancy, new imac"

Hey Journal!

Well, the exciting news of the day is that we got a brand new computer today! A new iMac. I can't believe I bought a new computer, actually -- I feel like these days there's not too much that you actually need a real computer for. I mean, I need on for work and I can take care of the personal stuff that isn't phone-compatible at work, too.

It's definitely the least impactful computer purchase I've ever made. I mean, I can think back about all my computers. My first one was an IBM that my Aunt gave me when they got a new one. It had four programs built in. CompuServe, a word processor, a file manager, and something else that I don't remember. I think it was a spreadsheet program, actually.

Next I got a computer from this no-name store with all Indian people. My cousin had gotten one there and I decided it was a good idea to do the same. It may not have been.

After that I got a Gateway! Who didn't have a gateway?! Next up, a Dell. I am still using that computer today. In fact, I'm typing my entry on it RIGHT NOW.

Then an iMac. All of these computers were big deals for me and I was so excited to get them set up and get all of my important software on it. AOL, AIM, all the other weird things that were so important back then.

Now, I got a new iMac and it's barely even phasing me. The real reason I needed it was my old iMac just wouldn't cooperate anymore. It was slow and the hard drive was FULL. I decided to spend the extra money this time and get a faster processor and larger hard drive to keep from having this same issue again.

Don't' get me wrong, I'm super excited about a new computer but I had to delivered to work so I could sign for it and it came during the day and I completely forgot about it.

I use the Mac for video editing and even though I don't do it that often and I didn't have a specific project in mind, when I want to do anything it always gives me grief and I'm so sick of it not working properly!

I'm very excited about this new purchase and already, my favorite thing is the NEW wireless keyboard that is RECHARGEABLE!! Those batteries were for the birds!

Anyway, I got up this morning and headed to work. I got in around 9:15 and on my drive in I listened to The Chris Moyles Show! I drove MY car to work because I'm just not 100% ready to say goodbye to it yet. I want to have a few more days with it. Just me and my Prius!

Oh, and by the way, last night I got a terrible night's sleep. It was so windy out and the power kept going on. The dan in the bedroom kept turning off which woke me up and then every time the power would come back on the Hue lights would turn on. What a mess. I woke up so many times and then had trouble getting back to sleep!

Early in the day, Amazon delivered a power supply that I had ordered for the camera system. We needed another 12 volt supply and so I installed that one as soon as it came. With the extra slots, I replaced another camera in the basement and then the one on the side of the building facing the kitchen door.

I was outside looking to see if I could reach it and Steve happened to be walking by. He said he had a better ladder at his shop and he brought it down. I was able to reach everything and, much to my surprise, the utility box that was mounted on the building actually came off easily. The one for the loop camera did not come off at all -- it wouldn't budge. This one was perfect.

Once we had it off, I connected the new camera and we were pretty much ready to go! I had only one problem -- one of the screws got stripped as I was installing it. Steve got a pair of pliers, removed the stripped screw, and then I got a new one.

The difference between the two cameras is night and day. These new ones are amazing. There are two more outside cameras that need to be replaced and we're going to do that as soon as we figure out how to reach them! They're the same height as the one I did today but they are really precariously placed over stairwells!

Today was also the last day that the auditors were visiting us. They were here since Monday and camped out in the golf shop pouring over our financial records.

For lunch today my mom brought me some Uncrustables and then In the afternoon I worked on some bank stuff. I got a deposit ready and then I left at 4:40.

When I got home I put the news on and started to set up the new computer! Since I didn't have time to clear off the desk, I just set it up on the table in the living room! Eventually, sooner rather than later, I have to get it into the proper place!

When Dan got home he went to the gym and I loaded Final Cut onto the computer. I wanted to edit my cruise video and get it online! I want to start making some $$ from it! I love giving cruise ship tours!

I took a shower and then made myself some Rice a Roni for dinner. It was supposed to be PART of my dinner but I just realized I never had anything else!

I finished the tour video and I already have 4 views and one like! I feel like that's pretty fast for something I just posted. I hope it gets a lot of views. I think what makes my cruise videos so good is that I take an actually walk around the ship. Other people post little clips of rooms and photos of their kids on the ship. Nobody wants to see that. If I book a cruise and search for a tour I want to get a feel for the ship. I don't care about your family vacation photos. I like to take a walk around the main areas of the ship so you can see how long it takes to get from one place to another, what it's like to be on a cruise ship, how big things are, and where things are in relation to eachother!

Dan and I watched World News and then the first episode of season 2 of The Walking Dead. Then we watched last night's American Crime. I liked it but it definitely wasn't as good as the past few episodes. I feel like the story has really fallen apart in that it's all over the place now. I know this show likes to tackle issues but it's really hitting every single one at once and that's a little overwhelming. It's dealing with race, black stuff, hispanic stuff, gays, class-- rich vs. poor, online dating, drugs, bullying, mental illness, rape! I'm sure I missed a few, too. I mean, really, how can this be ONE TV show!?

Alas, now we're ready for bed! Tomorrow is Friday. Dan has plans with his friends from work and I will be having dinner with Re!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com