Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 28, 2016 - 11:03 p.m.
"to maple sugar or not to maple sugar"

Hey Journal!

This morning I had planned to sleep late but I woke up on my own at 7:30! I put my eye covering on and went back to sleep and then got up again. It was 8:30. Exactly one hour. So I went back to sleep and woke up AGAIN at 9:30! So weird. Especially weird because I didn't have to go to the bathroom or anything, I just kept waking up every hour. It was good though, each time it felt like I had gotten a LOT more sleep.

The last time I glanced over and I was sure Dan was in the bed. I figured I'd wait for him to get up so I just played on my phone a little. I went to roll over after about 20 minutes and I was stunned that he was gone! I got out of bed and asked him when he woke up. He said 9:20! Weird! I don't know why I thought I had seen him there!

Anyway, we spent the morning watching TV. We watched Scandal and we realized that we had somehow skipped a week! We missed the one from two weeks ago and the TiVo only had the most recent one. We had to watch it on the Apple TV which isn't bad except the commercials are grueling!

I also got some laundry done. I had a lot that had built up and so did Dan. Unfortunately, I didn't have time to do Dan's so I will have to get them done tomorrow.

We watched an episode of Match Game (greatest show in the history of television!) Then we realized that we had planned to go to Maple Sugaring. Last weekend we talked about it with Kristen and it was being held this year today, March 13th, and March 20th. We won't be here either of the other days so today was our only chance.

Last night Lau had mentioned that she was going to some open houses nearby and we told her to let us know which ones so that we could come along! Unfortunately, she texted us JUST after we confirmed that we were going to Maple Sugaring and the hopen house was at 1:00...right when we needed to leave! I was bummed out because I really wanted to go with them AND it turns out that they really liked the house! I hope it works out... it would be great to have them in the neighborhood!

Alas, we picked Kristen up at 1:10 and headed off to Hoyt Farm! It was really weird -- it was the perfect day for Maple Sugaring and, in past years, it's been FREEZING or MUDDY and today was the best possible day. It was pretty packed but after we walked up to the area we decided to skip it. I know, it makes no sense, but we just didn't feel like doing it for some reason. Maybe because of the crowds of people -- but we were all in agreement. We decided to take a walk instead.

We walked through the trails for a while and then, when we were done, we went over to find the goats. There were in the bigger penned in area -- not where they were last time. We came prepared, though. This time we had some carrots and a turnip! They goats loved the carrots and then we have them the coveted turnip!

It was really gross watching him eat the turnip. He chewed it up in his mouth for a long time and it started to look like mashed potato! I think he enjoyed it, though. I'll bet everyone brings them carrots and celery and this was a real delicacy!

When we left Hoyt Farm we were pretty hungry for lunch but couldn't decide where to go. After a little discussion we decided to go to Maria's in Nesconset. It's so weird, I've driven by that place my whole life and I've never been in there. I remember that it used to be a steakhouse call Murphy's Law and I used to call it Murphy Browns. I had never been there. It's such a weird location and such a weird shaped building.

Anyway, we arrived and headed inside. It was definitely as weird on the inside as it is on the outside. Our waiter was a little weird but otherwise it was a cool place. I had a few complaints, however. One was that the bread had seeds all over it. I hate seeds on bread. Second was that the arroz con pollo was not as good as Meson Ole. :( The rice was different and there were pieces of pepper in it. It was okay, but most definitely not worth the $15.95 they charge for such a small portion of mostly rice and a few pieces of chicken.

When we were done eating, we dropped Kristen off at home and then my mom asked if we could meet her at Pep Boys. We did and she actually wanted to give us some floor mats for my car!

After that we headed home. We were both pretty exhausted and just wanted to relax and watched some shows. We watched HTGAWM and then The Middle. We had to watch on WatchABC and it was grueling with all the commercials again. They play SIX commercials each break which is just absurd and then the repeat the same commercials each time. It's too much.

Next we watched another episode of March Game and then it was time for the Oscars. I took a shower and Dan started watching. I wasn't really into them but I listened in as I did some stuff on the computer and got ready for bed.

I worked some more on our Carnival Magic highlights video! I finished it up just a little while ago and am posting it to YouTube! I think it really captures our trip in just 4 minutes!

Alas, it's time for bed now! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com