Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 29, 2016 - 10:57 p.m.
"running wires" or "the missing nozzle"

Hey Journal!

Today I was conflicted because I was really looking forward to getting as much work as I could done today while I was all alone. Today was my last Monday all by myself for a long time. Strangely, this year, there weren't as many Mondays that I spent at work by myself. I had off for a few of them - holidays. I missed one while I was away on the cruise.... I don't know, it just flew by!

I left for work around 8:30 this morning and on the way I stopped at Home Depot to get some Flex Seal to seal up the cracks around the drain that was leaking last week at work. I picked up the bottle and then continued on my way to work. When I arrived, I taped off the area and opened the can but, much to my surprise, there was no nozzle inside! WHAT!? I was so perplexed... I never would have imagined that the nozzle would have been missing!

Anyway, I abandoned that project and then Nicky the electrician came by to help me run some wires so we could add additional security cameras!

I didn't know exactly how involved I was going to be in this project but it turned out to be quite a lot. We worked on it from about 9:30 when he arrived until 1:30! First, we started by figuring out how to best get the cables into the basement. I suggested following some of the wires that were already run in the past but Nicky wanted to get closer to the office. We tried to follow an electrical pipe that went from the storage room across the hall from the office up to the men's bathroom but the hole in the floor was way too tight.

In the end, he figured that the best way would be to come through this column that is right smack in the middle of the building. It runs from the middle of the restaurant to the basement JUST over the little vestibule of our office. He had to drill through the concrete and the corrugated metal floor. He said his drill ALMOST didn't make it.... but it did!

Then we had to stick these sticks into the wall, find them upstairs, and then start pulling wire. It really picked up after this -- the beginning part was slow.

So, we ran both wires down to the office and they worked perfectly. Finally, I showed him our plan of putting a camera out in the front of the building to catch licence plates as people enter and leave. We went outside and inspected the place where the conduits meet.

In the abandoned Verizon conduit there was a pull, so we attached to that and off we went. We got the wire out there and after a few trips in and out, we had the cable all the way out by the bag drop area. Wild.

I'll tell you...work is never dull for me. There's always something interesting to do...even it if is weird sometimes!

Finally, before he left, we went over some light fixtures we need to buy for the area by the locker room. I ordered one online so we can test it out and then, if all goes well, we'll need three more.

After that it was back to normal. I had some bills to pay and then I did some other office work. I checked my phone messages and I had one from a woman -- a friend of Andrew Jackson! She had received our Andrew Jackson mailing and was very excited. She said it was "so nice" and that she "lives right around the corner" but didn't know about our restaurant. Success! She made a reservation for Wednesday for "3 ladies!" This is good!

I did some daily closes in the afternoon -- keeping up to date with that is a big deal. None of them had checks because I purposely did those last week. When they don't have checks I can wait longer because as long as the cash is all correct there's no real rush to get it to the bank. The restaurant cash is so little anyway... some days it's like $10.

I bought a can of soup for lunch and ate at the bar while watching my new favorite channel.... Buzzr. Unfortunately, it was an old game show that was B&W and not that amazing. I wish Card Sharks or one of my other favs was on during lunch!

I left work at 4 and headed to Home Depot. I had to get some items for the outside camera setup. I needed some junction boxes and fittings. I also returned the spray bottle with no nozzle and got a new one.

I came home and as soon as Dan got home he went to the gym. I cleaned up a little around the house and watched Match Game. I did Dan's laundry and I have NEVER done such a big load of laundry before. It was insane. I could barely close the door and, for the first time (I think,) the washing machine sensor said it was a FOUR BAR load! World Record.

Anyway, I took a shower and then when Dan got home we got ready to watch our shows. For dinner, Dan got some greek food and I made myself a half a box of spaghetti. It came out very good and I enjoyed it. I used my Wegman's cheese for the first time and it was excellent.

We watched two episodes of Walking Dead and then tonight's Major Crimes! The three part episode has now turned into a FOUR part episode! This is getting crazy! I keep thinking this is going to be wrapped up but it just goes on and on. At what point is it NOT a "part 1, 2, 3..." thing and it's just the show!!?

Anyway, now it's late and time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com