Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 23, 2016 - 10:33 p.m.
"andrew jackson is here"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was quite a whirlwind! Work was hectic because Andrew Jackson arrived today! Just in case that sounds weird to you, let me backtrack a little bit.

We decided to do this promotion where we send promotional gift cards to the people who live in a certain area nearby the golf course. The houses are nice and they are literally 5 minutes from us. Because I had to draw a shape around the area on a map in order to purchase a list of residents, I have affectionately named the area, "The Trapezoid."

We designed and ordered special gift cards that have a "rich" feel to them. They are modeled after the $20 bill and feature a portrait of none other than Andrew Jackson himself. The cards were ordered before we left for our cruise and we anticipated their arrival just before I got back.

I was going to get them all set up in the computer and out as fast as I could. Of course, when I got back there were no cards to be found and it turned out that the company we ordered from had a broken card printing machine and so they weren't shipped.

Fast forward to today - the cards arrived and we went wild getting them ready to go out.

But let me take a step back. This morning I got up and headed off to work. The auditors arrived around 9:30 and I got them set up again in the golf shop.

The day went by pretty quickly -- I had two payrolls to submit and then a bunch of random stuff to do. I can't even really remember everything.

When Andrew was delivered via UPS, I got right to work figuring out how to account for the gift cards and how to get them set up in the computer system. I had to open and close a day in the restaurant a bunch of times to do some tests and then I finally got them taken care of.

I had to fold all of the letters using the folding machine but also had to make sure they were in the same order since the cards and letters are all numbered so we can see who uses their cards and who doesn't!

That was pretty much the rest of my day. I left work at 4:40 and then headed home.

When I got home I laid a bunch of the letters out on the floor and got ready for the assembly line process to begin when Dan got home.

Dan went to the gym and I showered up. We watched World News while we ate... I had soup. Then we got right to work on the letters.

We set up a pretty good assembly line process and I put the glue dots on the letters, Dan added the cards and then cleared the table while I set more letters out and started over. It took a while but we managed to get all the cards affixed to the letters!

Dan also had to spot check to make sure that the numbers still matched and I think we were 100% accurate on that account.

When we were done, we had TV shows to watch! First we watched The Flash. While we were watching we continued working by stuffing the envelopes. We managed to get 392 completely ready to mail!

After that we watched the first half-hour of tonight's two-hour Agent Carter. It was a little bit of a hectic night but we fit in as much as we could.

I don't know.... I think back to years past and about how quiet and boring my winters have been at work and it's been NOTHING like that this year. Maybe I just like to tell myself it's quiet in the winter. It's really been a whirlwind. I am going to try to make sure that next week is peaceful since it will very likely be the last week of freedom I have for a while. That said, there are a lot of things I have to get done! Oh boy!

Anyway, until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com