Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 17, 2016 - 11:26 p.m.
"st. patrick's day" or "meals on wheels"

Hey Journal!

So, Dan is in Texas again for work! It's kinda crazy how much he's been in Texas this year alone. It's really just a coincidence that all the things he's needed to do for work have been there lately.

This time he's presenting to some FedEx executives in hopes that they will choose his copy machines for their stores.

Before I get going on today's details, let me fill you in on last night. It was about 3am and I was sound asleep. I was having some sort of weird dream and all of a sudden I was startled awake. I guess I had been sleeping soundly and I didn't know why I had woken up so I got myself back to sleep. Not long after, it happened again, and even though I can't remember the dream I feel like it happened at exactly the same point.

I don't know if this only happened once or if it repeated a few times but finally I realized what was going on. It was a chirp that sounded like a fire alarm with a low battery. Dan got up and tried to find the source and, much to my surprise, it was our upstairs Nest Protect!

Dan pressed the button and it said that there was a problem with the smoke sensor. The info on their website said that they recommended dusting it. It didn't look at all dusty but Dan wiped it off with a sock. It kept doing it. After about 20 minutes of playing with it it finally went back to normal and said everything was fine!

We went to sleep and then, at about 8:30am was I was getting up and getting ready for work it started saying, "EMERGENCY.... THERE IS SMOKE UPSTAIRS!" Thankfully that was not the case. I took it down and tried to reset it again but it wouldn't work.

I had an appointment at work at 9:15 and I wanted to make sure I got to work on time.so I took the protect, wrapped it in a towl, and took it to work with me. The whole way in the car it kept crying EMERGENCY and I kept tapping it to stop it. The towel kept it from being piercingly loud!

When I got to work I had only a short time before the guy arrived for our meeting. I did a couple of things in the office and then I headed upstairs when he arrived. He was the same guy I met yesterday afternoon and he was here today to drop off his check and join the club. Yaaaaaaaasssss. Another member!

Dan's dad was out again today with the flu but he called me early in the morning to ask me to bring him home some cornbeef and cabbage for St. Patrick's day! He said he's never missed one and he didn't want to start this year.

When I got back to the office, I called Nest to report the problem with the smoke alarm. I was speaking to someone named Taylor and he said he was going to replace the unit but then, all of a sudden, our phone connection went bad. He said he couldn't hear me anymore although I could hear him very well. In the end, he said he would call me back. I hung up and he called me back on my cell phone this time. That didn't help, though. He still couldn't hear me. He said he was having some trouble on his end and asked me to call back and speak to another representative.

I did and I got this guy who was nice but was a little strange. He was helpful but he also was talking to himself and making comments about his computer system that were unnecessary. It was like he was trying to fill all the gaps so there wasn't any silence and it was just awkward!

In the end we got it all resolved. They are sending a new Nest Protect version 2 and it should be arriving tomorrow! That's amazing. They have excellent customer service. I'm really happy about that but I am concerned that in less than two years we've had three issues that have required replacements. One thermostat and now two protects! It's very unusual and I feel like we can't be THAT unlucky to always get the duds!

Yesterday I had to call Lorex about a replacement camera they were supposed to be sending to us and today I called Nest and the difference in support couldn't have been any greater. The Nest support was so helpful and they have people answering the phone who really show that they UNDERSTAND not only the words you're saying but that they grasp the concept and fully understand your situation. Lorex, on the other hand, has people who understand English but don't really seem to grasp your situation. It's weird.... but you'd think they'd want to fix it!

A little later this guy came into the clubhouse and started asking people for money. Everyone said they didn't have anything for him but he was asking anyone walking into the building. I called the police right away but by the time they arrived, he was already gone. We did get his licence plate so we gave that to the police and hopefully they can keep an eye out.

Throughout the day I met three more prospective members and I think that ONE of them is promising. He took the application and I have a feeling he will be joining soon. Maybe even tomorrow!

My mom came by in the afternoon because she wanted to get corned beef and cabbage for lunch. What a weird meal. Anyway, she got two servings of it to go and brought it back to work with her!

For myself for lunch today I got my new favorite sandwich again. It's amazing and this is the second time this week I've gotten in. I don't know why I didn't realize how perfect it was before but I am so hooked now!

Before heading out, I did some daily closes so that we can make a bank deposit tomorrow. Dan's dad called around 3:45 and interrupted me with that because he couldn't get his credit card to work at the gas station.

I left work at 4:15 and headed home. Meals on wheel. I dropped off the food for Dan's parents and then I dropped off a package for work at a FedEx drop box.

I came home after that and my mom came by shortly after to do her taxes. She stopped at Boston Market on the way and she picked up dinner for us. We ate, watched an episode of Match Game and then got to work on her taxes.

It took only about 10 minutes to get it all done. Hers are so easy. Dan and I still haven't completed ours and this year we have that whole Price is Right situation to take care of, too!

My mom departed and I did some laundry and then showered up. Before bed I watched an episode of Judge Judy and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com