Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 03, 2016 - 10:47 p.m.
"the dangers of reply-all"

Hey Journal!

What a weird day I had today! I started out with the plan of getting a lot of work done today. While I did pretty much accomplish my goal the day just dragged on and on! I kept looking at my watch and it seemed like the hours just didn't move!

Jackie said the same thing. I wonder why it was just that kind of day.

When I got in, Jackie reported that she had called to tell our former housekeeper that she wasn't going to bring her back this coming season. The reason is that she's really unreliable and, when you ask her to do a task, she doesn't just do it - she analyses all of the reasons why you might have asked her to do it and then internalizes it as an insult that you think what she's done is bad and then you're yelling at her when in reality you just asked one simple thing. No big deal. It would be the equivalent of Jackie asking a waitress to refill someone's water glass and the waitress flipping out, asking Jackie why she doesn't like the job she's doing, and then walking off the job for days. It's just like that.

Anyway, Jackie was nervous about how this woman would take the news because... see above. In a complete turn of events, she was unfazed and just said, "ok." Weird.

The rest of the day I did whatever I could to get things DONE. I had a bunch of e-mails to go through, had to e-mail some members, and of course... I got several phone calls about WHEN the course is opening for the season!

I went out to Target in the afternoon to get some Flex Seal. Yes, the rubber spray that they use to cover a screen door and turn it into a working boat. My Grandma had used it on the roof of her sunroom to stop it from leaking around the skylights and so I figured it would be a good tool to stop the leaking around the base of the sink in the housekeeper's closet. It's really amazing so I hope it does the trick. It takes about 24 hours to dry so tomorrow I will know fo sure!

If it's successful, maybe I can spray it around the toilets in the men's bathroom and we can stop that from leaking, too. It's not that the toilet actually leaks, it's that when water gets on the floor - say it's being mopped, for example, the water goes near the pipe under the toilet and finds a path downstairs. I'd like to stop it once and for all because Jackie doesn't really like when her desk gets rained on.

Anyway, the light fixture that Nicky the electrician ordered came in today and he's going to come by one day this weekend to make sure it's what we needed. He's going to install over by the locker room and see how it works out before we order more.

For lunch today I had some leftover luncheon food. There was penne a la vodka, bread, and potatoes. My stomach was feeling a little upset and I wasn't sure if it was because I was hungry or if I wasn't feeling well. After eating, I determined that it was a little bit of unsettled stomach and as I'm thinking about it now it's still feeling like that a bit.

Later on in the day I had a call with a company that we were going to use to lower our credit card processing fees. After speaking with the woman who was supposed to figure out how to integrate our system with theirs, it seemed like it wasn't going to work out. The woman who had originally come and met with us said that they WOULD be able to provide this little utility to process the cars on the back end, but the lady I spoke to today said they do NOT provide such a thing. It's really no big deal - I don't care either way and it wasn't going to save us much money anyway.

I talked to the woman for a while and she seemed perfectly pleasant. She said she was going to relay our conversation back to the original woman to see if there was something they could do. I thanked her and we said goodbye. It was all very standard. Nothing I was at all thinking about for another minute.

Then, about five minutes later, I get an email from the lady. Best part -- she didn't mean to send it to me!! She said she spoke to me and that I was a DICK! That I was refusing to use their service unless they gave us free software. It was totally amazing.

I wrote back expressing my disbelief at how our accounts of the conversation were quite different. How I thought we had had a pleasant conversation and how surprised I was to hear what she truly thought.

I got an email back a little while later from someone higher up in the company, and he didn't address that issue AT ALL. Totally ignored it. I was a little irritated about that so I sent a reply and copied the CEO!

I got one more reply that said the woman had been disciplined and that was about it. They never did apologize for being rude. It was really a wild afternoon.

This evening, however, I have been reflecting and I was really disgusted at how unprofessional and rude this woman was. Now -- I'm feeling like people have bad days. Sometimes they creep up on us and maybe she said something she didn't even really mean. It's unfortunate for her that she sent it to me! Woops! That can really make your bad day even worse! I guess sometimes people need their apology to be accepted. Of course, I never got an apology ... but I'd like to extend my understanding that sometimes shit happens. Even if it is online and she's not going to see it. I don't even know anything more about her. Maybe she has problems at home. Maybe she's a mess or stressed out. Well, hope she has a better day tomorrow and doesn't treat others the same way.

In any event, let this be a lesson to us all. If you wouldn't say something to a person's face, don't write about it in e-mail or text or anything. It's easy to make a mistake and send an e-mail to the wrong person. Just be sure that you wouldn't be embarrassed if the wrong person saw it. I know for certain that I will keep that in mind in the future. I can't say that I write nasty things about people anyway but I will be more careful as a rule.

So, I left work at 4:45 and I headed to the bank. I made our deposit and I'm officially all caught up on daily closes. Wahoo.

I got home at about 5:15 and talked to Dan on the phone while he drove home. He didn't go to the gym today because he wasn't feeling very well. We started by watching last night's American Crime.

I like the show. I feel bad for Leslie and I'm happy that she found a way to turn everything in her favor. She's right. She's the only one who didn't get caught saying stupid things! Eric. I don't even know. Kevin -- it's weird how he is involved in this. He DID incite the attack but maybe he really didn't mean it. That won't matter though. I can't believe next week is the last episode. I can't imagine how they are gonna wrap this all up so quickly. Also, is that girl telling the truth? Was she really assaulted or was that just something that they got her to say to turn the tables on the principal?

After that I took a shower and then we watched an episode of Walking Dead before watching tonight's Scandal! Unfortunately, Scandal wasn't on tonight so we watched the second episode of The Real O'Neills! It's a weird show but I am strangely intrigued. I think we'll continue giving it a try and we'll need to set a Season Pass.

We had time for one more Walking Dead and now we're getting ready for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com