Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 31, 2005 - 10:43 p.m.
"happy halloween" or "the decline of trick-or-treating"

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!

Yes, Happy Halloween, everyone! :)

Today started off quite early, when I got out of bed at 5:55! Ouch! I got ready for work, and Dan and I carpooled to work today. He picked me up at about 6:15, and we got there around 6:45. I went upstairs at 7:00, and worked up there for the two hours before Debbie arrived at 9!

Work was very good today, got a lot of random stuff done..Debbie and I had fun.. we had a little mini Halloween celebration..I brought candy, and we set up a little "Trick or Treat" station at our office door, and encouraged those who passed by to take candy! It was funny!

The day flew by, and it was a pretty busy day... tomorrow is pretty booked up as well, but I have school.

Anyway, I left at three, and Dan dropped me back off at home. I ate a leftover slice of pizza quickly, and then went over to watch the Trips go Trick or Treating!

Eric was Clifford, Ryan Darth Vader, and Alexandra was Pink Poodle! We went to several houses back near Heritage, and then Alexandra tripped while running in the street, and she cut her leg. It was bleeding a little, and started to come through the "leotard." She was crying, but my uncle put her on his shoulders the rest of the way.

There was a man with a big Pig mask on, and he was pretty scary looking.. but the Triplets LOVED it. He was sitting on his lawn in a lawn chair.. and then he came with his kid, and was with the group of us.. So Ryan kept asking him questions, like.. "Is that your costume?" "Can you come to my house?" "Do you sleep with that on?" "Can you take that hat off?" (He was also wearing a cast..) "What happened to your arm, Mr. Pig?"

And every time he would get candy, he'd run back and show it to the Pig man.. and then one time, He hugged the guy's leg, and said, "I love you, Mr. Pig!" So crazy!

They got lots of candy, and judging from what I saw when we got back.. most of it was pretty good! I lifted a few packs of Nerds from them, and some Runts, but that was it. I just couldn't resist taking SOME!

I must include this excerpt from last year's Halloween entry, I feel it expresses my feelings on the candy issue:
-----------------------------------------
Next, I would like to examine the candy that some people give out on Halloween. MY favorite type of candies to receive on Halloween are less chocolate and more sugar. I like the Sweetarts, Spree, Smarties, Skittles, Nerds, and stuff like that. That said, I do not see anything wrong with chocolate bars and other goodies. It is, however, not natural for people to give out RAISINS or PENNIES on Halloween! What little kid wants PENNIES! And what old person decided that that was an okay substitute for candy! Crazy, crazy crazy!
My other question is about people who give out "Peanut Chews" and "Mary Janes" and those gross Taffy things. WHERE DOES THAT STUFF COME FROM! I mean, you never go into Target, or Walmart, or Waldbaums, and see those crappy candies.. so where do people buy them, and why do they think it's normal to give them out to kids! Ick! And speaking from Liz's brother's loot today, he got one of those little Spearmint things, the little circular white mints with the green lines on the side.. How pathetic is that!! That's so.. "I ran out of candy so I took this out of the candy dish on the living room table."
-----------------------------------------

We didn't really get many Trick-or-Treaters today... I think even less than last year. Maybe about 20 or so. It's very sad, I think. I remember on Halloween, being out until semi-late at night, and kids STILL being out, and passing them on the street and all. Now, NOOONE comes around after like..seven, and even before that...its pretty desolate. It was, however, kinda busy where my cousins were today, but on my street we had next to nothing! It's so annoying.. I feel like I'M robbed of the fun of giving out any candy!

Anyway, I left my house at about 6:00, and went over to Dan's.. we hung out for a bit.. then Kristen came, and we went to Panera for dinner. I got my usual Chicken Soup.. It was good!

We went back to Dan's, and I ordered a light bulb online for his mom, and then we watched a little of Hocus Pocus on Starz! What a great movie! :)

Then at 9, it was time for Prison Break! What a great show.. Today lots of crazy things happened.. I don't know what they're going to do without access to that building, and I was in suspense right up until the end about the boy, and how he knew to go to the different place! I know.. this is so vague if you haven't seen it.. but if you have, you know what I mean! Ahh, all I know is I can't wait till next week!

But anyway, I came home after that, and now I have to get ready for bed.. I'm really tired, having been up for quite some time. I got some good pics of the Trips, so I will try to post them tomorrow.. and I think I have some other old pictures that are waiting to be posted as well.

Tomorrow...Tomorrow is KRISTEN'S BIRTHDAY!! Happy Birthday Kristen! :) :) On Wednesday we are venturing to Meson Ole to celebrate! Very exciting!

I have school tomorrow.. long day.. getting my midterm back in the Holocaust class, and maybe even my paper from the 400, but maybe not.. it's only been a week!

So, that's the story.. and I hope everyone had a fun and enjoyable and safe Halloween! :)

Goodnight. :) and Happy Halloween!


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com