Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 10, 2009 - 9:21 p.m.
"no more braces" or "today was my time"

Hey Journal!

THE DAY IS FINALLY HERE!!!! I GOT MY BRACES OFF THIS MORNING!!

I got up at 7:05 and got dressed, got ready, and headed off to my orthodontist appointment! It was just a regular scheduled checkup. I got there a little before 8 and they called me in, and the nice woman who works there, Theresa, took a look at my teeth, and said everything looked really good, and that I might be ready to get them off! I was getting EXCITED!!

Then my Orthodontist came over and took a look for himself...he said that everything looked great and said I was ready to get them off!

I told him I was, and he asked if I wanted to come back later on in the day, or if I would rather make an appointment for another day. I said I would be ready whenever, so he looked at the schedule, and said... "Do you wanna just stay and do it now? We can probably fit you in."

I said, Sure! And So he went to work with the crazy little plier looking things, and took the brackets off one by one. It didn't hurt at all... He did the bottom metal ones first, and then started on the top. He said I might feel a little tugging on those since they don't come off as easily. Only one tooth was a little bit of a tug, everything else was smooth as could be! :)

After he got them off, Theresa worked her magic, using the little sandpaper-like thing to get all of the glue off. I went and brushed my teeth like three times during the process, and then came back and told her if I felt any more glue.. and she would go back and clear it off!

When I got up and looked in the mirror it was crazy... I'm so not used to looking at myself without braces... it was so odd to see teeth! They looked so big, and felt so big... like Chiclets! They also were really smooth and shiny.

She then took the mold for my retainer. She had to do the bottom one twice because the first time she "got a bubble." This is always my most dreaded orthodontic procedure. I had such BAD memories from it the first time around... it was horrible... but this time, both in the beginning, and today... it wasn't bad at all.

It was a great morning though! I was so happy! They gave me a "goodie bag" for finishing! It had candy and a keychain in it! hahah. They took lots of pictures and an X-ray. (Which are posted online for me to see, so I looked at them, and they are some crazy pictures!!)

After that my Orthodontist congratulated me, and shook my hand, and then I went out to the reception desk to make my appointment for my retainer, and they were all excited for me and congratulated me. :) Seriously.. I love my orthodontist's office. It was the best experience. SOO SOO Much better than those beastly people who I went to the first time.

I can't believe it was 1 year and 5 months since I got them on. 518 Days. It seems like just yesterday. I remember getting to work, and showing them off, and talking about how weird it felt to have them on!

Then today I got to work, showed them off, and talked about how weird it felt to have them gone! haha

So, I got them on June 10th of last year, and got them off November 10th, today. Exactly one year and 5 months! Wow!

So when all was said and done, I hopped in my car and off to work I went.

Diane was back from her bout with the Swine Flu.

The day went pretty fast, I had a ton of work to do, and just plugged away all day!

For lunch, I got the Tuscan Panini (minus the Tuscan) which I haven't had since I got my braces!! It was a special treat. I couldn't order it because I couldn't bite that panini bread with my braces! That was really like the one thing I didn't eat with braces. OHH... and Carrots! I couldn't bite them either. I have to have a peeled carrot soon!

So in the afternoon, I went out and dropped off some FedEx packages, and some regular mail.

I stayed late tonight to do some work on the computers. I had to reindex the databases and close out October. I had to do it at night when noone is in the system. I left at 6. There was less traffic, it was kinda nice.

I got home and Dan had bought me Balloons and got me a card to celebrate my braces coming off! :)

We watched some of World News and then went out to Friendly's with my mom for dinner. I got a grilled cheese.

All day, after eating, I have been running my tongue across my teeth to check to make sure nothing is stuck in my braces! I have to get used to not doing that anymore! haha

Anyway....we had Judy as our server, and she was in rare form tonight. Okay, not as rare as the night she spilled her guts to Kristen about her daughter... but she came over and offered us a Reebok coupon, and told us that her daughter worked there. It was classic Judy.

We got home and I took a shower and got ready for bed, then we watched last night's Gossip Girl.

Now I just have to make myself a pretzel for a snack, and then it's off to bed!

Until tomorrow... reporting without braces...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com