Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 11, 2011 - 11:11 p.m.
"a day of random fun with scott"

Hey Journal!

This morning, Dan and I slept until about 11:30. I only got up because Dan got up to go to the bathroom, I think... and I probably could have slept even longer, but when I saw what time it was, I knew it had to push myself to get up and out of bed!

We watched TV for a bit, and then we decided to clean up a little. I feel like that's the never-ending job! It's so annoying how much things have a tendency to get out of order so quickly! I guess I have to be better at not leaving things where they don't belong, and try to put things in the place, and keep things neater.

The kitchen looks a lot better, mostly because we finally put away all the cereal and other food items that we left out on the counter!

At 2:00, Scott came over and we didn't really know what to do, so we took a random drive, and wound up on the way towards Huntington! I suggested going to Sagamore Hill to see Teddy Roosevelt's house, which I thought would be fun. We checked the hours, and they were open until 4, so we headed over. We got there around 3:15, and unfortunately they were sold out of the house tours for the rest of the day! Unfair! :( We walked around, though, and looked through the windows. We also walked down to the museum which looked abandoned and closed, but it turned out it was open!

We watched a movie about "TR's" life, and it was... kind of a boring movie. I think they need to update it. We checked out the museum, and then we walked back to the car!

I can't believe the last time I was there was about 5 years ago! I remember going with Dan, and we checked out all of the out-of-state license plates in the parking lot! There were sooooo many that day!! -- I just checked it out, and it it was on August 1, 2004! So a little more than 5 years ago.. it was 7 years ago! WOW! Time flies.

So, we were all really hungry and decided to go to Smokin' Al's for dinner! We were completely on the north shore, and had to drive clear accross Long Island to the south shore... but it was soooo worth it! The food was great, and I had been looking forward to it so much! mmmmmm!

After dinner, we stopped by Re's apartment on the way home! She was doing school work, so she couldn't come out, but we decided to stop by and say Hi for a bit! We hung out there for a while, I helped sort some rubber bands, and we watched a show on TV about the World Trade Center attacks!

Of course, today's the 10th anniversary, and so every news channel, and the History channel and all that have tons of shows about it. We watched one last night about people evacuating, and today's show was a bunch of amateur video. I actually think the amateur video is the best way to remember and look back... it's not the same pictures they show over and over again, and it shows people's real experiences from the ground.

We left at 7:30, and when we got home, we said goodnight to Scott, and then I took a shower. After that, I watched the Channel 7 Eyewitness News broadcast from 9/11/01. It was wild to watch, and see how the news unfolded. The thing that I think was most amazing was that they spoke to a man on one of the higher up floors of one of the buildings. They asked him his name, and where he was, and he said he was okay, and that the danger had passed. I wondered what happened to him, so I look up the list of those who had dies, and sure enough, his name was there. Insane that one of the last people he ever spoke to was the news reporters on WABC. Isn't that so crazy?

Now it's getting pretty late, and I have to get to sleep! Dan is on the phone with Cablevision because they messed up our bill this month. They were supposed to extend our promotion, but instead they charged us more. Blast!

--UPDATE-- He was on for over an hour, and then people at Customer Service wouldn't help him. In the end, it came down to a credit of $6.21 and they wouldn't give it to us, so he got their names and then got off the phone, telling them he would call tomorrow to talk to a supervisor. Then, I remembered the special top-secret phone number I had for the department that deals with extreme customer service issues, so Dan called it, and a really nice guy named Brian answered the phone. Dan explain the whole story to him, and he listened patiently, and really understood the problem. (I think Cablevision trains their regular reps to infuriate people and talk in circles until they give up and want to cry. However, this department is so nice, and the people are smart, and polite.... it's like night and day!)

Anyway, for our troubles, he gave us a $20 credit on our bill, which we greatly appreciate. The thing is, this highlights the exact problem with Cablevision. They could have been nice from the start, and listened to the problem, and given us the $6.21 we really deserved and were asking for. Instead, they wound up losing more money! Now, don't get me wrong, I am thrilled to get a $20 credit for the inconvenience, but really... I would have been perfectly happy if they had been nice and given us the $6.21 in the beginning. So.... it cost them money! Bad business! If this were twitter I would # them #BadBusiness!

Okay, I really have to get to bed now! I started writing this over an hour ago, and it's almost midnight now!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com